Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to block someone on LinkedIn

If someone doesn't leave you alone, banish them forever.
By
January 16, 2023

One of the downsides of being on a social network is that you will eventually attract some trolls. While the benefits of being on LinkedIn are numerous, such as increased work opportunities and professional networking, the site also brings out the worst in people. This can include really pushy salespeople, sexual harassment of women, annoying advertising, and spam posts. Maybe it’s none of that and you’re just tired of people viewing your profile. Here’s how to block someone on LinkedIn if you’ve had enough.

Read more: How to schedule a post on LinkedIn

QUICK ANSWER

To block someone on LinkedIn, go to their profile and click the More button. Select Report/Block from the list, then Block. Confirm your choice. The process is the same on the LinkedIn app.

How to block someone on LinkedIn (desktop and app)

To block someone on LinkedIn, first, go to their profile page. Then click the More button at the top. Select Report/Block.

linkedin profile report block

You will then see a small menu of options to choose from. The blocking option is the last one.

linkedin profile block options

On the next screen, you are asked if you’re sure you want to block the person. If you do, your endorsements and recommendations from that person will permanently disappear. If you’re absolutely certain you want them gone, click the Block button at the bottom of that box.

linkedin profile block confirm

FAQs

Go to Me > Settings & Privacy > Visibility > Visibility of your LinkedIn activity > Blocking > Change. Find the person you wish to unblock and click Unblock.

Yes. It works the same way as a connected person.

The only way to do this is to first make your account anonymous. You can do this by clicking Me at the top of the screen. Select Settings & Privacy > Visibility. Under Profile viewing options, switch your account to private mode.

No, this is currently not possible. All you can do is unfollow them, then report them to LinkedIn. This will remove their posts from your news feed. You can also report the company’s ads to LinkedIn to stop them from appearing on your page.

The only time LinkedIn will say something is if you share a LinkedIn Recruiter account with that person. If not, LinkedIn will never notify them.

There is a limit of 1,400.

If you block the person, those recommendations and endorsements will permanently disappear from your account — even if you later unblock the person.

Either they are already blocked, or you only unblocked them less than 48 hours ago. You must wait a minimum of 48 hours before blocking them again.