Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
How to delete a PlayStation Network account
Deleting a PlayStation Network (PSN) account differs from deleting a user on a PS4 or PS5. The latter will delete saved data, settings, and themes tied to that user, while deleting a PSN account will completely erase all content tied to the account. This includes personal information and any purchased software.
There are a few reasons you may want to delete a PSN account. Some may want to delete an old account you used for a different console, or you may want a different username. Either way, Sony doesn’t make it super straightforward, but that’s probably a good thing for security reasons. The process to delete a PSN account involves contacting Sony directly, so without further ado, let’s dive into how to delete a PlayStation Network account.
How to permanently delete a PSN account
- First, go here to find out the details about closing your account. Here, Sony outlines that the following will happen:
- The closed account’s online ID cannot be used to create another account.
- You will lose access to any content purchased using the account. This content cannot be transferred to another account, and refunds can only be given in line with the PlayStation Store cancellation policy.
- You will lose access to any subscriptions and their associated entitlements.
- You will lose access to your PSN wallet. Funds in your wallet cannot be returned, as stated in the Terms of Service.
2. After you’ve read all of that, go back to the top and find the “contact us” link, which will take you to Sony’s main support page.
3. From there, click “Change Online ID & other account questions” and in the section that collapses from that, initiate a live chat.
4. After you’ve given the required information (Sony and its support agents will not ask for a password), you’ll be talking to a real person with whom you’ll be able to complete the process. That agent will likely outline the above things to you again before proceeding with the account closure.
Did you delete your account in order to make the switch over to one of Microsoft’s newest consoles? If you did, check out some of our coverage of the next-gen gaming machines.