Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to remove a Google account from Chrome

How To
By
November 12, 2021
Acer Chromebook 515 privay shutter
Eric Zeman / Android Authority

A Google account has a lot of valuable information in it, especially as it relates to the Chrome browser. This includes things such as bookmarks, browser tab sync, browsing history, account logins, and much more. So if you’re using someone else’s Chrome browser, you may want to know how to add your account to access your browser data. Then how to remove a Google account from Chrome afterwards.

This article will give you the complete rundown on how to do both.

Read more: Google Chrome’s history and rise to market domination

QUICK ANSWER

To remove a Google account from Chrome, just click on your account profile picture in the top-right hand corner of your Chrome browser. When the profile box drops down, click the Settings cog at the bottom. When a larger box comes up showing your account, click the three vertical dots next to it and select Delete.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

Adding or switching to a new Google account first

If there’s only one Google account attached to the Chrome browser in the first place, it’s a good idea to add a second one first. Or if you already have a second one, switch to it in Chrome before you remove anything else.

First, you need to make a new Google account (if you don’t already have another one), which is very easy to do, and only takes a few minutes.

Once you have your shiny new account, go to your Chrome browser and click on your profile photo in the top right-hand corner. This will make a box appear which shows your signed-in browser profile. Click on Add at the bottom.

chrome profile

Selecting Add brings up a new box where you can now sign into your other Google account.

add chrome profile

Once you’ve signed in, you’ll be asked if you’d like to set up browser sync. Make your selection.

turn on chrome sync

Chrome will now switch to a new browser window under your new Google account. Obviously, this means that all of your browsing data from your other account is no longer there. Customize your new browser account with a name and a color (if you want to) then click Done.

customize chrome profile

If you now go back to your profile picker window by clicking on your profile picture, you’ll see that both accounts are now there. The one you just signed into, as well as the original account.

switch chrome profiles

Now that you’ve signed into the new account, let’s now remove the old one.

How to remove a Google account from Chrome on iOS and Android

Tap on your profile picture in the top right-hand corner.

ios chrome profile pic
Mark O'Neill / Android Authority

At the top is the account you are currently signed into, with regards to browser bookmarks, browser sync, browsing history and passwords. Tap on that.

ios chrome account
Mark O'Neill / Android Authority

If you want to sign out of all the accounts registered on your phone, tap Sign Out at the bottom. If you only want to sign out of one, tap the one you want to sign out of.

ios chrome account list
Mark O'Neill / Android Authority

Tap Remove account from this device and the account will be removed. Now go back and choose the account you want to browse under. Or tap Add Account to add a new account.

ios chrome logout
Mark O'Neill / Android Authority

How to remove a Google account from Chrome on the desktop

Click on your Chrome profile picture in the top right-hand corner and your profile box will jump down. At the bottom, click on the Settings cog on the right.

remove chrome profile

In the next box, you’ll now see both your signed-in accounts. Go to the one you want to remove and click the three vertical dots on the right and choose Delete.

remove chrome profile 2

Read more: 20 Chrome tips and tricks you should know about

FAQs

What happens to my browsing history and bookmarks when I remove my Google account from Chrome?

When you remove a Google account from Chrome, all of the browsing history, bookmarks, and tab sync history will remain inside the account. You can access that data by signing into the account on Chrome again.