Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete photos from Google Photos

Banish those blurry photos to the bin.
By

Published onAugust 5, 2022

After uploading a photo or video to Google Photos, you can access that content on your account from different platforms. Google Photos is a cloud storage service, meaning that, as long as your device can open a browser and log into your Google account, you can access those photos. You also have the option to delete any photo or video from Google Photos, and there is an option to download all photos before deletion. This is how to delete photos from Google Photos.

READ MORE: How to create and share an album on Google Photos

THE SHORT ANSWER

To delete a photo from Google Photos on Android and iOS, long-press the photo to select it. After this, press the Delete button in the top right.

To delete photos from Google Photos on your computer, hover your cursor over the photo you wish to delete, then click the checkmark that appears above that photo. After this, press the Delete button in the top right.


KEY SECTIONS

How to delete photos from Google Photos (Android & iOS)

Start by opening the Google Photos mobile app. In the gallery, you will see all of your recently saved photos, videos, and screenshots.

opening the google photos application on a smartphone
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Long-press the photo you want to delete; this will select it. Anything selected chosen will have a checkmark appear in a circle on top of it.

location of the trash can icon in the mobile app
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Once you’ve selected what you want to delete, press the Delete button and finish moving the selected items to the bin.

move x amount of photos to the bin
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Items in the bin do not count towards your storage limit and are deleted after 60 days, during which you can reclaim any photos or videos you may have accidentally deleted. If you want those images permanently deleted right away, you can go directly to the bin and delete them there.

How to delete photos from Google Photos (desktop)

You can access all the photos and videos you take on your phone from your computer. If you go to the Google Photos website, you can also manage those uploaded and synced images.

To delete a photo or video from Google Photos from your computer, open a browser and go to the Google Photos website.

desktop google photos client
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Move your mouse over any photo or video on the webpage to make a grey checkmark appear over that photo or video. Click on that checkmark to turn it blue and select it.

Select any photos or videos you intend to delete. Alternatively, if you want to delete a group of photos from a specific day, you can click the checkmark to the left of the date to select all photos or videos from that day.

desktop photos client
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

After you’ve selected the photos and videos you want to delete, click the Delete button in the top right corner. This looks like a trash can.

You will be prompted with a message that says Remove from your Google Account, synced devices and places shared within Google Photos? Click Move to bin to move the selected items to the bin.

move to bin button appears
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Items in the bin do not count towards your storage limit and are deleted after 60 days, during which you can reclaim any photos or videos you may have accidentally deleted. If you want those images permanently deleted right away, you can go directly to the bin and delete them there.

How to delete your Google Photos account

Unless you want to close down your entire Google account, you cannot delete your Google Photos account. If you wish, you could erase all of your cloud data and remove all of your connected Google accounts. Alternatively, you could uninstall Google Photos from your device, or try one of the following options.

Turning off Back up and sync

If you want to stop having your photos and videos show up on the cloud, you can turn off Back up and sync from within Google Photos settings.

Use Google Photos as a traditional Gallery app

use without an account
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Doing this will essentially turn Google Photos into your everyday Gallery-style app. Nothing will be associated with your primary Google account, thereby negating any automatic data sharing. Nothing will be sent to the cloud, and you can continue taking photos and videos unimpeded.

To do so:

  • Open the Google Photos app on your Android or iOS device.
  • Tap your profile picture or initials in the top right corner to open up more options.
  • Tap on the downwards-facing arrow next to your account above Manage your Google Account.
  • Select Use without an account.

READ MORE: How to access Google Photos on any device

FAQs

Yes, however, it can be a tedious process. As mentioned earlier, you can delete photos and videos one by one or select many of them at once. On a computer, you hover over each photo to make the checkmarks appear, and then click those checkmarks to select the photos you want to delete. Alternatively, you can select all photos within a period of time by check-marking the date. If you long-press multiple photos or videos on the Google Photos app, you can select more than one to delete in that way too.

If you have them backed up, meaning you turned on Back up and sync on the Google Photos app, they will be available from the Google Photos platform. They will be saved and stay on Google Photos until deleted.

It won’t delete photos that have been backed up to its platform automatically. You will have to do this manually. However, there is a function called Free Up Space. This will delete all of the photos on your device that have already been backed up to Google Photos.

Yes. You can do this from the Google Photos app or the desktop browser.