Google I/O 2019 Logo Sign

It’s that time of the year again, when developers gather in Mountain View for the Google I/O conference. Google is holding a keynote address on the first day (May 7), where it’s expected to reveal new hardware and discuss its plans for the rest of the year.

Here’s what you need to know about the Google I/O 2019 keynote address.

When does the keynote start?

Here are the Google I/O 2019 keynote address start times in some major cities across the globe:

  • San Francisco: 10AM
  • Chicago: 12PM
  • New York: 1PM
  • London: 6PM
  • Berlin: 7PM
  • Moscow: 8PM
  • Mumbai: 10:30PM
  • Beijing: 1AM (May 8)
  • Sydney: 3AM (May 8)

Where can I watch a live-stream?

Google is streaming the keynote via its Google Developers YouTube channel, and you can view it via the embedded player below.

The company is also streaming an AI-related experience ahead of the keynote, dubbed The AI DJ Project. Google describes it as “a unique listening experience in which an AI DJ using TensorFlow plays back-to-back with its human creator, DJ Nao Tokui, in a one of a kind set.” It starts 40 minutes before the keynote.

What will Google show off?

An apparent Google Pixel 3a render.

An apparent Google Pixel 3a render. Twitter.com/evleaks

The Mountain View company is widely tipped to unveil its oft-leaked Google Pixel 3a smartphones here. Other expected announcements relate to Android Q, Google Assistant, and Wear OS. As with previous years, we’re also expecting a healthy helping of machine learning talk.

At last year’s event, the firm revealed Gmail smart compose,  ticket/boarding pass support in Google Pay, some innovative Google Lens features, and Duplex. Can Google top the latter with this year’s event? Well, you’ll just have to wait and see.

We’ve previewed Google I/O 2019 announcements at the link, if you’re looking for a more comprehensive read.

What to expect from Android Authority?

Our own David Imel, Justin Duino, and Eric Zeman are attending Google I/O 2019, who’ll be delivering coverage from the ground. Android Authority at large will also be live-blogging the keynote address in case you can’t tune in to the stream. Finally, you can also expect breaking news articles as the event unfolds, in addition to opinion pieces, videos, and more in the wake of the keynote.

NEXT: 2019 Google Play Awards — Here are all the big winners

Comments
Read comments