Positives

Glass/metal build is great
Excellent camera quality
Wireless charging on the US model
Solid, smooth performance
Impressive battery life
18:9 screen is fantastic
Thin bezels
IP68 dust and water resistance
MicroSD card expansion as standard

Negatives

Speaker is weak
Only one storage option for most regions
Non-removable battery, unlike previous LG phones
Glass attracts fingerprints and dust

Rating
Battery
8.8
Display
9.1
Camera
9.2
Performance
9.0
Software
9.0
Design
9.0
Bottom Line
9
9
LG G6
by LG

LG’s return to form involves going back to basics. From the unique 18:9 display to the dual camera and excellent overall package, there’s a lot to like about the LG G6, which sets the standard for flagship phones in 2017.

Last year saw LG bring us the LG G5, a handset that dared to be different and failed spectacularly in doing so. This resulted in losses for the company’s mobile division in 2015, and lost market share as Samsung extended its lead and Huawei caught up and overtook the Korean manufacturer.

Now LG is back with another flagship. But unlike previous years, this one takes a rather different approach. Past years have seen LG attempt to stand out from the crowd (and compete against Samsung’s blossoming Galaxy S-series) by being different, yet in 2016 the company has arguably done the opposite. Rather than the leather back of the LG G4 or the ill-fated modularity of the LG G5, the G6 is understated with a design that conforms to the current market trends.

Yet, there is one way the LG G6 is different; its 5.7-inch screen with a unique 18:9 aspect ratio. With other phones expected to also offer the same aspect ratio display later this year, the G6 could prove to be a forward-thinking phone rather than yet another one-hit wonder from LG.

Is a unique display and solid –  if muted – package enough to make the LG G6 a must-buy? With a package that’s mostly identical to the LG V20, should you buy a G-series or a V-series? Does LG’s decision to ditch the gimmicks and focus on a solid experience pay off? Find out, in our full LG G6 review.

About this review:

In an effort to bring our readers, and viewers, the most comprehensive review experience possible, the LG G6 was reviewed by two different members of Android Authority. While Lanh Nguyen put together the video linked above, I put together the in-depth written review encompassing both of our opinions to provide the definitive Android Authority view on LG’s latest flagship.

We have both been using a US version of the LG G6 (with wireless charging built in) running the latest pre-final software with OS version 7.0, build number ending D90U and software version ending 709I. Traditionally, we don’t review non-final software but LG has confirmed to us that it is about 95% complete and is ready for review. We’ll be updating this written review with any changes once we get the final retail software update closer to launch.

Design

This year, LG has gone back to basics. There are no more tricks, no more experiments and most importantly, no more modularity.

The LG G6 design formula is rather simple and straightforward, with a sturdy metal frame paired with a couple different kinds of Gorilla Glass. The front features Gorilla Glass 3 protection (as does the camera lens cover on the rear), while the back cover is made from Gorilla Glass 5. The glass finishes are fingerprint and dust magnets, but this is something we’ve now come to expect from most glass phones out there. Fingerprints on the White model are very difficult to discern, while fingerprints on the Platinum color option are a tad more noticeable. On the Black version, fingerprints are most noticeable.

Further reading: The LG G6 uses a four year-old version of Gorilla Glass on its display

Unlike previous G-series flagships, the LG G6 features a unibody design, which unfortunately means the company had to forego the removable battery this time around. It’s a small tradeoff for what you get in return, though – an IP68 rating for dust and water resistance.

Personally, I’ll happily take the enhanced durability over a removable battery.

Although the design is new for LG, there are a few flourishes which are atypical of the Korean OEM, including the signature power button on the back that doubles as a fingerprint sensor. It works extremely well, is very fast and accurate to unlock and doesn’t require you to press the button to unlock your phone.

On the top of the device, you’ll find a standard 3.5mm headphone jack, which LG plans on keeping for the foreseeable future as the benefits outweigh removing it. The bottom of the device houses the USB Type-C port and a single speaker, and the right side features the SIM card slot. The volume keys can be found on the left of the device, and not on the back flanking the rear-mounted power button. LG toyed with placing the power button/volume keys on the back panel of its devices for a few years, but it looks like that experiment has come to a close.

LG G6 is different from previous LG flagships, and that's a good thing.

Overall, the LG G6 is different from previous LG flagships, and that’s a good thing. Rather than attempting to reinvent the wheel, LG has gone back to basics. Opting for a metal/glass construction is a safe choice that’s proven to work, and that’s why LG went with it. After last year, LG needed safe to appeal to the masses, and the G6 does just this.

Display

The standout feature on the LG G6 is the new 18:9 2:1-aspect ratio screen, which, coupled with some excellent design choices, means LG has managed to fit a 5.7-inch display in a body that’s not much larger than a regular 5.2-inch phone. Compared to the iPhone 7 Plus or Google Pixel XL, the LG G6 is significantly smaller. It’s truly a feat of engineering that is much easier to appreciate when you hold and use the phone.

The LG G6 offers a one-handed experience that’s arguably the best of any 5.7-inch phone

LG has made conscious design choices to enhance the one-handed use of the phone, specifically opting for very narrow bezels on the sides, top and bottom. You’ll also find rounded corners for both the display and the outer frame and the result is a one-handed experience that’s arguably the best of any 5.7-inch phone. LG says the decision to make the display and the frame rounded makes the screen more durable against corner impacts versus a traditional screen with regular corners. The rounded corners do provide a nice aesthetic touch, but as Lanh pointed out, they’re not perfectly rounded and you can still see a little sharpness on the corners. It doesn’t take away from the overall experience, but it’s hard to unsee after you notice it for the first time (sorry if we are the bearer of bad news).

See also:

The curved corners on the LG G6 are not just cosmetic

February 26, 2017

The display is an LCD instead of an OLED panel, but it’s a very good looking display to say the least, and by far the best screen we’ve ever seen on an LG phone. Lanh and I both agree that it has the perfect amount of color and contrast, so it doesn’t appear washed out or oversaturated. Rather curiously, the default out-of-the-box wallpaper, which was developed in partnership with Pantone, doesn’t do the display much justice, but switching it out to one of the others shows off the display in all its glory.

Since the G6’s Quad HD panel sports an unusual aspect ratio, that means LG packed in a few hundred more pixels than you’d see on a normal 5.7-inch display. If you split the screen in half, you essentially get two perfectly symmetrical squares stacked on top of each other. LG have made some tweaks to the software to take full advantage of this. In landscape mode, for instance, the display splits up into two squares side-by-side; this arrangement makes multitasking a bit easier as you’re able to see more of each app.

The LG G6 is also the first phone to support both HDR 10 and Dolby Vision, which promises to bring an enhanced viewing experience thanks to a much brighter and more vibrant image. Right now, there’s no content to support either of these standards, but Netflix is expected to update its mobile app to support HDR content in time for the launch of the LG G6, which is likely to be the first of many phones to support these standards.

Spending time with the LG G6’s display does raise a larger issue around the aspect ratio, especially if it’s to become the standard for phones going forward. When you’re consuming content that’s native to the 18:9 ratio, the experience is fantastic… but when you’re watching content that’s 16:9 by default (as almost all content is right now), or using an app that doesn’t scale to the new ratio, you have awkward black bars on either side.

LG has built in an app scaling feature that lets you force apps to rescale to 18:9, but you won’t use it as much as you might think as it can cause the content to be cut off, which LG does warn you about. Luckily, Netflix’s original series – such as House of Cards – have been shot in 2:1 natively. Plus, as more devices adopt the new standard, it’s likely other producers will follow suit.

Putting it through our testing, we found the display to have a max manual brightness of 556 nits, which is boosted to a very respectable 663 nits when auto brightness is engaged under direct light. In sunlight, this is likely to be even higher and we’ve had no issues with legibility in all conditions. Its color temperature of 8281 Kelvin is rather on the cool side resulting in a blue-ish tinge to the whites – which is common to all LCD panels – but this isn’t immediately noticeable and the display certainly looks fantastic.

Without doubt, the LG G6’s display is fantastic and hopefully a sign of things to come for future smartphone displays. For years, manufacturers have been trying to make screens larger, but this results in larger phones. With the G6’s rounded corners, slim bezels and 18:9 aspect ratio, we finally have a handset that has a large screen without the big footprint we’ve been accustomed to.

Like most flagships, there’s also an always-on display which does the job and shows you notifications without first making you turn the screen on. The company has also included a new brighter screen option for the always-on display, but Lanh and I both agree – we’re not entirely sure what this feature accomplishes. It doesn’t appear to make the always-on display any brighter. Now, this could be due to the fact that both devices are not running final software, so we’ll be sure to update this review if we notice any changes.

No, the G6 doesn’t have an OLED panel, but it’s still incredibly vibrant, colorful and a joy to use. Lanh and I both agree there’s a massive difference between the LG G5 and LG G6 displays and thankfully, there’s no light bleed either, which we’ve noticed on many other LCD panels.

Overall, there’s a lot to like about the LG G6 display. Thanks to HDR and Dolby Vision support, it’s at least future-proofed for a few years to come. It may not be the most accurate screen, nor an AMOLED panel, but LG has done more than enough to convince us that 18:9 is the future of smartphone screens and not just a gimmick.

Performance

Ahead of the launch of the LG G6, we heard rumors that LG would opt for last year’s Snapdragon 821 processor rather than the new Snapdragon 835, mainly as the latter would require the launch to be delayed several months. As a result, the LG G6 comes equipped with the Snapdragon 821 processor alongside 4GB of LPDDR4 RAM and an Adreno 530 GPU, which is the same package found in the OnePlus 3T and Google’s Pixel XL, the former being the handset we crowned the best smartphone of 2016!

Don’t miss: LG G6 vs Sony Xperia XZ Premium vs Huawei P10 Plus

Like Google’s flagship, the LG G6 is smooth and responsive, with almost no perceptible lag. As this is pre-final software, we’re putting the few minor glitches down to the software and we’d expect the final version to be faultless or close to it. We’ve both had a couple of small software bugs – myself with freezing and Lanh with connectivity – but these should be fixed in the final software – we’re merely mentioning them here for total transparency.

The Adreno 530 proves to be a very solid graphics chipset with the gaming experience on par with all major flagships to date. Running graphically intensive games, there are no noticeable dropped frames and the LG G6 is certainly capable of handling all the games you throw at it. With Vulkan support also built in, you’ll also be able to run most games that developers put out in the coming months and years.

It flies... like a G6

Some people may be disappointed that the LG G6 isn’t powered by the Snapdragon 835, but we’ve really had no issues with performance; the handset handles everything you can throw at it. While performance may be affected by carrier bloat, the unlocked version certainly delivers as far as performance goes. As Lanh put it: it flies… like a G6.

Hardware

The LG G6 comes equipped with 32GB of storage in most markets, which is expandable by up to 2TB using a microSD card slot. Additional connectivity features include Bluetooth 4.2, GPS, NFC and in some markets, an FM radio. The USB Type-C port is v3.1 compliant and supports USB On-The-Go, meaning you can connect a hard drive or USB stick using a compatible adapter (which isn’t included in the box).

On the hardware front, there’s likely to be some contention as LG has opted for different SKUs in different markets, each with different feature sets. The global version has the features listed above but in certain Asian markets, the base model has 64GB storage while other Asian models have the Quad DAC found in the LG V20.

Related:

PSA: Not all LG G6s are created equal

February 26, 2017

For users in the US, there’s no Quad DAC or model with more than 32GB of storage, but there is wireless charging; the G6 supports both WPC and PMA wireless charging standards. Finally, there’s also a dual SIM model for select markets, again with varying configurations depending on the market. It’s not the first time LG has done this – the LG G5 was also segregated with the B&O Play module not coming to the US at all – and LG tells us it is down to local markets to decide exactly which features the handset gets. For users in Europe and most countries, you’ll get the global model without the additional bells and whistles.

Next to the USB Type-C port on the bottom, you’ll find the single speaker. It seems loud for a single speaker, but like all bottom-mounted speakers, you can block it when using it in one-hand in landscape mode. Putting the audio setup through our testing, we find the speaker has loudness of 63.2dB, which is lower than most flagships and significantly lower than the LG G5 which scored 72.8dB.

The headphone jack outputs at 0.396 volts, which is low compared to many phones but better than the LG G5 (0.313 volts), while the noise level of -95.5dBA is on par with most flagships as well. Overall, the audio experience may not seem the best on paper, but it doesn’t disappoint in actual usage. While we would have liked dual stereo-speakers, it is certainly more than acceptable as it is.

Battery life

The switch to a metal/glass unibody design means the LG G6 has a non-removable 3,300mAh battery, which isn’t the largest we’ve seen on a smartphone but certainly delivers respectable battery life. During our time with the LG G6, we’ve both found that the handset is more than capable of surviving a full day of use on a consistent basis.

During Lanh’s testing, he found that even with a heavy usage day – such as using the camera lot with a few hours of gaming – the phone still has 20 to 25 percent battery life left at the end of the day. Personally, I’ve been very impressed by the battery life. On more than one occasion, the G6 has lasted me a full day and almost all of the second. Even on days with heavy usage, I’ve not had to top the battery up at all.

With the G6, we were able to consistently achieve at least a full day of use on a single charge

One of the perceived benefits of the Snapdragon 835 processor is an apparent boost in battery life of up to 20 percent, but this has yet to be proven. LG’s decision to go with the tried-and-tested Snapdragon 821 certainly seems to have paid off with the battery proving to be reliable and capable of lasting even the heaviest of usage.

For those wondering, we’re both capable of achieving 5 hours’ worth of screen on time off a single charge and that’s without really trying to hit those numbers. With some tweaks to usage, it would certainly be feasible to expect six or even seven hours of screen of time.

How does the G6 stack up to our Android Authority battery tests? How does it compare to the competition? In our quick battery test, which tests Wi-Fi browsing, video playback and gaming for 90 minutes and extrapolates the results to simulate a full day’s usage, the LG G6 scored a very respectable 7 hours and 51 minutes. By way of comparison, the Google Pixel XL scores 5 hours and 52 minutes, the LG G5 scored 6 hours and 31 minutes and the Galaxy S7 Edge scores 4 hours and 16 minutes.

Our next test looks at Wi-Fi browsing with each phone charged to full, the display set to 200 nits brightness and the handset placed a meter from the router with no app data syncing. A custom web script is then run inside our testing app and drains the handset right down to empty. In this test, the LG G6 lasted for 8 hours and 31 minutes, while the Pixel XL scored 10 hours and 38 minutes, the G5 lasted for 7 hours and 51 minutes and the Galaxy S7 Edge scored 8 hours and 11 minutes.

Another popular use case is video or media playback and for this test, the same testing conditions applied as above with a custom video file set to play on loop inside our testing app. For video playback, the LG G6 scores 8 hours and 56 minutes while the Pixel XL lasts for 7 hours and 1 minute, the LG G5 for 9 hours and 26 minutes and the Galaxy S7 Edge for 8 hours and 14 minutes.

Our final test is arguably the most taxing as it engages the entire processing package. Gaming is traditionally a sure-fire way to drain your battery rather quickly so in this test, we set a game to repeat its demo mode with the rest of the testing conditions the same. For pure gaming, the LG G6 lasts a very respectable 5 hours and 21 minutes, while the Pixel XL comes in at 4 hours and 43 minutes, the LG G5 at 3 hours and 58 minutes and the Galaxy S7 Edge at 3 hours and 46 minutes.

For the times when you do need to top it up or when you need a quick boost, the LG G6 supports Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0 and the included charger can charge the handset from empty to full in 104 minutes. This is on par with most handsets that support Quick charging, but does pale in comparison to Huawei’s Supercharge and OnePlus’ Dash Charge, which are both significantly faster.

The LG G6 delivers flagship-worthy battery life

Overall, battery enthusiasts might be disappointed at the lack of a removable battery in the LG G6 but the hefty boost in capacity, coupled with software enhancements and a reliable processing package certainly delivers flagship-worthy battery life. Whatever your usage, the LG G6 should see you through at least a full day’s use.

Camera

The LG G6 camera has also had a little upgrade this year but it’s not quite what you may have expected; rather than the customary boost in megapixels or pixel size, LG has opted to reduce the regular camera from 16MP to 13MP and boost the wide-angle camera to the same 13MP resolution. Doing so has meant they can also remove the camera bump, resulting in a camera that’s flush with the rest of the body.

Parity between the two cameras is arguably my favorite thing about the LG G6 camera; the LG G5 and the V20 both have a large disparity between the two sensors, with the regular sensor capturing 16MP images while the wide-angle shoots at 8MP. As a result, there’s a noticeable difference in the quality of images captured by both sensors and as LG correctly identified, it made the wide-angle camera the “secondary” camera. As they told us, providing parity between the two cameras means both cameras are now main cameras, and from our time with the LG G6, it certainly delivers on this claim.

They might share the same resolution count but the two cameras are behind two very different lenses; the standard angle is an f/1.8 aperture lens with optical image stabilization and 71-degree field of view while the wide-angle is an f/2.4 lens with 125-degree field of view, which is lacking in both OIS and autofocus. That’s not the only change from last year, with LG also opting to drop the color spectrum sensor as well as swapping out laser autofocus for phase detection autofocus, which works just as well, if not better.

See also:

LG G6: Exploring the new camera

February 28, 2017

The camera carousel is one of the best uses of the wider screen and shows just how useful 18:9 can be.

The camera app is mostly the same as previous years but thanks to the 18:9 screen, you have the addition of one of my favorite LG G6 features – the camera carousel. Essentially, this provides a preview on the side of the regular viewfinder that lets you see literally every photo you’ve taken, versus just the one you’d normally see hidden in the corner on other smartphones. The camera carousel is one of the best uses of the wider screen and shows just how useful 18:9 can be.

Elsewhere around the camera interface, you get the standard button controls at the top to switch between the two lenses that we’ve come to expect from LG’s dual cameras. With parity between the two cameras, you can also zoom and change lenses by pinching the display. But, given the fact that you must pinch until that point, you’ll likely find yourself swapping lenses by tapping the button as it’s the fastest and simplest way. The transition between the two lenses is much better than previous years and the middle ground between the two lenses is usable, but you’ll likely find yourself opting to use one of the two lenses rather than the middle ground.

The camera tweaks don’t stop there as LG has also added a new square camera that’s perfect for Instagram and comes with a few different modes built into it. One allows you to snap a photo and immediately see a preview of it on the bottom half of the screen while another lets you take multiple photos or short clips that the camera will stitch together automatically. For those who like putting four photos together in a collage, you can take four different photos in the grid shot mode and the camera will do all the heavy lifting.

Both Lanh and I agree that our favourite is the guide shot mode, which allows you to use a premade template or a previous photo as a guide for taking another photo with the same framing or composition. Once you dig into guide shot however, you see that you can also take multiple shots and turn them into a GIF at the press of a button; it’s a hidden feature that only shows up once you take multiple shots in guide shot mode, but it’s by far my favorite feature of the square camera.

For vloggers, video lovers or those who want a little more control over their video, the LG G6’s video recording capabilities definitely deliver

New to the LG G-series is full manual video controls which, until now, had been exclusive to LG’s flagship V-series. Now it looks like LG has finally given users exactly what they wanted. Compared to manual video controls on other smartphones, the LG G6 is miles ahead, with features like focus peaking, hi-fi audio recording and a wind noise filter all making it on-board. For vloggers, video lovers or those who want a little more control over their video, the LG G6’s video recording capabilities definitely deliver.

Without doubt, the LG G6 camera is a lot of fun to use, especially thanks to the wide-angle lens which can really take some breathtaking shots. It’s amazing how much you can fit into the frame over the standard telephoto lens. The quality of the photos themselves are impressive, with excellent detail, vibrant colors, great contrast and overall good dynamic range. There’s a noticeable lack of issues with overexposure of highlights and crushing of shadows that were prevalent in previous LG cameras, so it’s clear the Korean OEM has certainly made a lot of progress with its algorithms and processing.

As fun as the wide-angle lens is, it’s not great in low light which is to be expected from the narrower aperture and lack of OIS compared to the main sensor. In low light conditions, we recommend using the regular angle which can take some equally fantastic shots and produces a much sharper, more colourful and much cleaner image over the wide-angle lens. I personally feel that there’s still a lot to be desired from the low-light performance on the G6, but given this is pre-final software, I’m basing my concerns on that, especially as Lanh’s handset performs much better in low-light conditions.

On the front, you’ve got a 5MP camera which has a wide 100-degree field of view and you can swap between narrow and wide angles, which makes it perfect for group shots. In daylight, this is more than capable, although highlights are often blown out and shots tend to fall apart and are mostly unusable in less-than-ideal lighting conditions. This isn’t overly surprising given it’s the front -facing camera, but something to keep in mind nonetheless.

Related: The best Android smartphone cameras

LG G6 camera samples

Overall, the LG G6 camera is a joy to use, and, given the right conditions, it can take truly breathtaking photos. It’s not perfect – no smartphone is, after all – but it delivers quality in abundance. Whether it’s the square camera fun, the two angles or the manual video controls, there’s a lot to like about the LG G6 camera.

The LG G6 camera is a joy to use, and, given the right conditions, it can take truly breathtaking photos

Software

At the core of the LG G6, you have Android 7.0 Nougat with LG’s UX 6.0 on top. And like every year, a new flagship means a new iteration of the company’s UI. As a point of note, our pre-release units are running Android 7.0 but we’re led to believe that the LG G6 will ship with the latest Android 7.1.1 Nougat out of the box.

The new LG UX 6.0 essentially brings a new coat of paint with more natural colors, but still retains the features that we’ve come to expect from LG’s phones. The app icons have been updated to square icons with rounded corners for a much more uniform look – and the additional benefit of having square icons on a perfectly square half of the display – while pop-up menus within applications also have rounded corners.

The new icons are designed to complement the rounded corners of the display. While Lanh likes them for the uniformity they provide, I personally don’t like them and prefer the natural design of icons. Thankfully, LG provides an option in the home screen settings to display the icons without the backgrounds. This is also where you can enable the app drawer, although it is not enabled by default.

Press and hold the on-screen home key and you’ll no longer get Google Now as in previous years; instead, the LG G6 is the first non-Pixel Android phone to run Google’s Assistant out of the box and provides some very-welcome competition for Google’s flagship Pixel XL. Sure, Assistant is available on other devices running Nougat and Marshmallow, which takes the shine off it being available on the LG G6, but it’s a nice feature to have nonetheless.

The LG G6 is the first non-Pixel Android phone to run Google’s Assistant out of the box

LG has also worked with Pantone to create some interesting wallpapers and this is arguably a point of contention for me personally. Without doubt, the display is fantastic but as mentioned, the default “6” wallpaper doesn’t really show it off. However, there are loads of wallpapers available that truly show off the 18:9 form factor with excellent colors and fantastic composition. If you get the Black, Platinum or the White version, you’ll also find there’s a variant of the default theme to match those colors; on the Black version I’m using, this results in a truly fantastic black-on-black experience.

As part of its push towards the 18:9 screen, LG has also updated its app to show off what’s possible with the new aspect ratio. Apps like the calendar and weather both really show off the two squares stacked on top of each other and the calendar especially, is fantastic in landscape mode. The apps also conform more to Google’s Material Design guidelines than previous years and fit the overall Android experience very well.

With Nougat on board, the 18:9 form factor shows just how good it is for multitasking with the split-view in Nougat proving to be a lot more useful on an 18:9 aspect ratio than the traditional 16:9 ratio, mainly due to the extra amount you can see in each app.

More info:

Android 7.0 Nougat review: an Android version for Android fans

April 14, 2017

Overall, LG’s software has come a long way over the past few years, and the UX 6.0 running on the G6 continues this trend. LG has worked hard to optimize the software for the smoothest experience, there’s very little bloat on our unlocked units and LG’s own apps and wallpapers are fantastic at showing off the new 18:9-aspect ratio on the screen.

Download: LG G6 stock wallpapers

Specifications

 LG G6 specifications
Display5.7-inch 18:9 QHD+ FullVision IPS LCD display
2880 x 1440 resolution
564ppi
ProcessorQuad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 821
GPUAdreno 530
RAM4GB LPDDR4
Storage32/64GB
MicroSDYes, up to 2TB
CamerasRear: Dual 13MP wide-angle sensor (f/2.4 aperture / 125°) / 13MP standard sensor (f/1.8 aperture / 71°), OIS 2.0

Front: 5MP wide-angle sensor (f/2.2 aperture / 100°), 1.12µm pixel size
Battery3,300mAh
Non-removable
Quick Charge 3.0
Qi and PMA wireless charging
Water resistantIP68
ConnectivityLTE-A 3 Band CA
Wi-Fi 802.11 a, b, g, n, ac
Bluetooth 4.2 BLE
USB Type-C, NFC
SoftwareAndroid 7.0 Nougat
LG UX 6.0
ColorsIce Platinum, Mystic White, Astro Black
Dimensions and weight148.9 x 71.9 x 7.9mm
163g

Gallery

Final thoughts

So, when can you actually buy this phone? We’re not quite sure yet. LG hasn’t revealed all the pricing and availability details as of yet, but we do know it’s coming to the U.S. sometime this Spring. March 10 is when the handset is coming to Korea, and the current U.S. availability rumors have been pointing to an April 7 release date. We’ll be sure to keep you updated as more information arises.

LG has certainly nailed it with the G6

After the failures of last year, and with the LG V20 still not available in Europe, LG desperately needed the G6 to restore some balance. To do this, they’ve gone back to basics and focused on the things that truly matter to create a solid all-round smartphone, and they’ve certainly nailed it with the G6.

It performs well, has an excellent camera, flagship-worthy battery life and features that people want, such as wireless charging and water resistance. The new 18:9 screen pushes the envelope of smartphone functionality and combined with the super slim bezels, LG has proven that a big display doesn’t have to mean a big phone.

If you’ve been wanting a phablet in a comfortable form factor, look no further than the LG G6.

2017 is shaping up to be a fantastic year for Android smartphones. With Samsung, Apple, Huawei and others all expected to bring the very best they have this year, the G6 needed to be a success. Luckily, it does just this, and by setting a new standard for flagships in 2017, LG has laid down a marker that other OEMs need to equal or surpass. Simply put, LG’s G6 represents the future of what we should expect from a flagship smartphone.

Next:

The best Android phones

3 weeks ago
Nirave Gondhia
Nirave is one of the Managing Editors and a fan of travel. He's worked in technology for over ten years (including stints at two carriers in the UK) and reported on it for nearly nine years. In my spare time, A big football (soccer to those over the pond) fan and avid supporter of Man United for over 20 years, he reads a lot, loves a cocktails and blogs about travel.
  • Lim Chee Hean

    Its not the largest battery that LG put in their smartphones. The original G Flex had a 3500 mAh battery and the X Power series had bigger batteries as well.

    • David Martrano

      I think 3300mamp is sufficient being that it has nouget and is suppose to be power efficient. But I still think this will turn LG fans off because it’s non-removeable! This was an option that everyone looked forward too! And with the 821 which in fact is a very good processer but it’s still not the 835! Will it be enough??

      • Ryan Gunn

        Yeah, don’t know if I could downgrade from the 6,000 mamp battery in my G4. Two day battery life is hard to give up. May just buy out my $1/month lease instead of upgrading if it means losing the ability to go all day without worrying about my phone dying if all the flagships are unibody.

        • Bryan Moore

          About a year ago I was jobless, with only 7 bucks in my pocket, and nowhere to go. I’ve had luck to learn about this website from my good buddy, and he recommended me to try, since he was making five-figures a month. After 4 months on this job, my latest pay was $5789 and keeps rising. Read more here
          http://GEE.SU/ELsev

      • V-Phuc

        Agree about the suggestion of a bigger size of battery.

        Though the complaint about 821 vs 835, I don’t know how accurate that is. “One of the perceived benefits of the Snapdragon 835 processor is an
        apparent boost in battery life of up to 20 percent, but this has yet to
        be proven.” Perceived is the keyword. 835 has not come out yet (until the S8) and then has to be truly tested in real-life situations. Besides, if 821 can give the 8AM to 6PM usage, which is typical of 90% of users, why ask for more? Once at home or even in your car, you can charge it already.

    • Awesome Bryner

      That is not even the largest. There is a 10,000 size phone on the Google search I saw. I don’t remember the phone name but yes, it did have 10,000 mAh.

    • David Martrano

      When you have a 2880×1440 display where are you going with a 3300mamp non-removeable battery! The decisions LG makes, I wonder. Plus, this regional baloney who gets what? Wireless, 32gb’s for the US. Asian markets 64gb’s, DAC. Europe gets screwed all the way around. So what kind of marketing strategy is this? Screwing the pooch seems to fit LG’S game plan for their latest offering. Oh boy!! And lastly 800.00 banana’s for the 821 processer! Personally I will wait for the 835! What a game plan!

  • Crumply Dump

    i hope they eventually release the DAC and wireless charging in other markets.

    • RiTCHiE

      No, you should boycot this. Even if they releasing it to other markets because we want a phone that has both not 1 of each.

  • TechGuy

    Will be sticking with OnePlus 3T for the time being. 64GB & dual-sim being really attractive for me..

    • Tony Davis-Coyle

      How good is the OnePlus? I hear good things, but then I see that the 4 is due out soon

      • RiTCHiE

        OnePlus 3 is oke but the battery life is pretty horrible but lets hope the 4 will be nice.

        • Anon

          horrible? i easily get 5h SOT on the 3T. 7h SOT if im on wifi more

          • RiTCHiE

            well, i got a couple of friends who own 1 just not the T version and they tell me its hard to get a full day out of it.

      • TechGuy

        I gave up with Samsung Notes after the 3 and moved to OnePlus. 3T is a good phone but everyone has different needs. 64GB and dual-sim are great and fast charge is very useful allthe battery usually lasts me a full day anyway. Will almost certainly upgrade from 3T to 4 as they are such good value for money and always a good second hand market.

    • My name is….

      Who the fuck asked you?

      • balcobomber25

        Why so angry?

        • Awesome Bryner

          Why not?

          • balcobomber25

            Too many good phones coming out to be angry

  • MrcheGuev

    This G6 got me hyped , the 18:9 ratio is freaking interesting , same goes for the dual wide length cameras on front and back , also the fact that they made fit a 5.7″ screen in a 5.2″ body ! the only things that really bother me is the fact that they did diiferents versions for every markets : the wireless charging is a need to me so why only make it available for the US ?! same goes for the DAC only for some asians markets :/

    • Tony Davis-Coyle

      This is where, in my opinion, phone manufacturers let themselves down. Why make multiple variations of the same phone for different markets? Surely it’s more cost effective to make a single, global unit. This would also give the consumer options for their route to purchase. I’m seriously disappointed that the Snapdragon 835 isn’t available to non-Samsung vendors just yet, and I think that this could have an impact, hopefully good, on manufacturers using other chips in the future to avoid the delays we’ll now experience as a result.

      I’m in the market to replace my phone right now, but other than the unobtainable Pixel XL 128, nothing is really enticing me to make a purchase

  • Mikhail_Sergeevich

    Not step back, but not forward. Year ago it might be interesting, not now.

  • Andrew White

    DAC is a must have, wireless charging is less than fast so not important to me.
    The black and white editions look like they will definitely compete with Samsung and Apple in the looks department.
    Can’t wait for the hands on video.

    • Dusty

      considering it has a metal unibody, I doubt heat pipes are necessary.

  • Sami Viitasalo

    Downgrading camera, other model with wireless charging and other with DAC. And let me guess, it costs over 800 euro? Other flagships later come with Snapdragon 835 and when you have flagship price and older SoC, then you can’t come in market with phone full of compromises.

  • RiTCHiE

    WoW, Why is LG so retarded? I mean the phone looks nice but to release features to regions kinda makes me mad. Why cant they just release 1 model and sell it world wide.

    • David Martrano

      Yikes, retarded yes why! What is this region BS! Just release it worldwide with all options. If you used all resources & maybe market the damn thing you would have a much better chance at sales! Again & again LG continues to suffer from poor business decisions! Oh boy!

    • Seems like discrimination in modern version.

  • arcwindz

    It’s not mentioned in the article, but LG is using Gorilla Glass 5 on the back, 4 on the camera, and 3 on the front. Like why do that?
    I totally have a mixed feeling about G6, I’ve been wanting that wide angle feature and it sure is pretty, but it only has 4GB, SD821, 32GB, and 3300 mah. If it’s price competitively I might buy it, otherwise will just see what S8 has to offer.

    • calling all toasters

      Actually, this makes sense to me. The constant breaking of the glass over the cameras has lost them a lot of customers. They badly needed to assure people that it won’t happen anymore. OTOH, every brand gets cracked screens, so no one hates LG when that happens.

  • Techn9cian46

    No DAC for US = Me waiting for V30

    • David

      I wonder if the unlocked version will have a dac

    • V-Phuc

      The moves that LG made with G6 made me worry about the V30. Are they going to release those region-specific phones? Silly idea at best. Take away the removable battery? Very disappointing to many users who like LG for that special feature.

  • Freak_ Aniket_

    G6 is going to be a flop device (not as big as G5).
    LG isn’t going to stand against S8 or iPhone 8.
    Poor LG.

    • balcobomber25

      They aren’t looking to compete against either of those, but this will sell better than the G5.

      • Freak_ Aniket_

        Agree with you. G6 will definitely sell better than G5.
        But, their is nothing new/unique in G6, so why I buy this over S8/Pixel2/iPhone 8 (untill you’re a die-hard fan of LG, which I suppose are very few)

        • balcobomber25

          LG does have some diehard fans, and that has been one of their biggest problems over the past few years. They have catered solely to those fans and ignored everyone else, which is why the G5 was a massive flop. This is a step in the right direction.

          • Leigh Conner

            Not sure how this is a step in the right direction. As someone who owned a G4 and a G5 this offers me nothing I need. There really is no reason for me not to go back to the S series if I want to stay with an Android flagship phone and not sure how the G6 is suppose to add to the customer base for LG.

          • balcobomber25

            It is not for someone like you, it’s for the people who didn’t buy the G4 or G5. LG alienated a lot of people with those phones, the G5 was a monumental failure for them. LG can’t survive by only appealing to the diehard LG fans, like yourself. They need to appeal to the mainstream consumers, and to do that they needed to offer a phone that was a little less unique and a little more Samsung esque.

          • Leigh Conner

            I think you’re missing the point. The G6 is essentially a clone of last fall’s flagships. There is nothing about it that sets it apart from the crowd. They aren’t appealing to anyone. No one is going to say “Hey LG is now like everyone else was last year, let me buy this now”.

            The problem with the G5 wasn’t that it wasn’t a solid phone, it was. The issue was people thought it wasn’t a complete phone without buying extra modules, only one of which ever showed up in the US. But the customers who left Samsung when they got rid of the removable battery (and they did as the S6 never sold nearly as many units as was predicted) now have no reason to stick with LG.

            In fact by putting a SoC in the G6 which will be out of date just 2 to 4 weeks after the phone is released really makes the G6 at least a big a misstep as the G5 ever was. The 835 is a very large leap forward because of the new process it’s made on. It will have about 40% better battery efficiency, and battery efficiency is about the most important thing these days. People will wait the extra couple of weeks for the S8.

          • balcobomber25

            You are missing the point. Looks and appearances matter to consumers, the G5 was a hideous device that didn’t appeal to mainstream consumers. All of your comments are spoken from a fan of LG, which is why you will never understand my point. To you there is only one way for LG to operate (removable battery being one of them), to mainstream consumers that isn’t important.

          • Leigh Conner

            Phones are not jewelry. While people want a good looking phone, they aren’t willing for one to look good over it being able to perform.

            And no, I am no “fan” of LG. You are clearly someone who thinks that if someone doesn’t agree with you they must be a “fan” of some electronics company. Businesses aren’t sports, it’s stupid to be a “fan” of one. A person goes for what is the best product for them regardless of who makes it. The amusing part is I was once called a “fan” of Samung not long ago.

            No, I am an average consumer. I am merely stating my opinion as to why I will not be getting the G6. But you seem to be a fan of all devices acting and looking exactly the same.

          • balcobomber25

            “Businesses aren’t sports, it’s stupid to be a “fan” of one. A person goes for what is the best product for them regardless of who makes it.”

            This couldn’t be further from the truth. Every company has fans, some are even more diehard than sports fans.

          • Leigh Conner

            What couldn’t be further from the truth? See, you’re reading comprehension needs work. I didn’t say people weren’t, I said I wasn’t and that it was stupid for people to be.

            But even fans of a business will walk away from them if their products stay messed up for too long. If I were truly a fan of LG I wouldn’t be walking away from them with the G6 since my experiences with the G4 and G5 have been very positive. But the G6 offers nothing I need and is essentially a clone of other phones. If it’s no different than any other flagship phone, and will be worse in many ways, there is no reason for people to go elsewhere, which is why the G6 will be a flop.

          • bro-reac

            I dig your point.
            It is so stupid to die for a company. It is best to get the best out there as long as the device scores 50-90% of your requirements then you should be good to go.
            To me camera is a big concern to others it is amoled to others screen real estate e.t.c
            Just like I think the S8 is going to be a force and once it is out others will be hard sells.

          • none

            LG is commiting suicide by putting out a 2017 flagship with what amounts to mid-2016 parts.
            I get that Shamsung is hoarding the SD835 however there are other things that LG could do to make there product not suck so badly.
            Give it 6GB of RAM, just like some chinese brands.
            Give it 128GB of internal storage, again just like some of these chinese brands.
            It should have the quad DAC in ALL of its variants.
            The FM radio should be present in ALL of it’s variants.
            All variants should have wireless charging, not just the US versions.
            A removable battery is a plus, and YES you CAN have a water resistant(no such thing as water proof) phone with a removable battery.
            Use a reasonable camera(why are they using a 2013 camera in a 2017 flagship?), the Sony IMX318 sensor is 22.56MP, put one of those in, and have a 16MP wide-angle sensor as well.
            Also do what OnePlus is doing, stop sending different variants to each carrier with different LTE bands, have 1 or 2 variants, that has all of the bands used in each region, OR better yet, do like the Xiaomi Mi Note 2, and have 1 device that works anywhere, GSM, CDMA, UMTS, EV-DO, LTE, in all regions.

            If they did all of these things, even with last-years CPU, they would likely take over in 2017, with 6GB RAM, 128GB internal storage, quad DAC, FM radio, QI charging, removable battery, IMX318 22.56MP camera + 16MP wide-angle, and truly global networks, it would beat out anything else on the market.

          • Leigh Conner

            I personally do not believe Samsung is hoarding the 835. I believe that is an excuse that has taken shape to explain why the G6 doesn’t have it. Samsung has a contract with Qualcomm that the S8 be the first phone to market with the 835. Since Samsung is making the 835 for Qualcomm, if they were to hoard it to keep others from making phones with the CPU it would open them up to some pretty major lawsuits.

            I agree with you that they should be offering all of the things in every model of the G6 rather than splitting them up. What LG is doing just makes no sense.

          • none

            Even the diehard LG fans, like myself do not like the G5. And this is not much better than the G5.
            The G4 is not what alienated their customers, it was the G5, when the G4 was first released, a lot of people liked it, it was not until the bootloops started in, and the G5 was released a few months later, that sales dropped and we got the LG we have now.

  • balcobomber25

    LG has finally made a decent looking phone, it took them a few years of making fugly handsets but they finally realize that different isn’t always better.

  • Tao Ronaldo

    This phone is already a flop. I won’t pay more than $500 for this and I’m sure this it’s gonna cost much more than that

  • Marco Lorenzo

    Whilst I like the look of the phone, the bezels doesn’t look that remarkable to me. The side bezels, like the Mi Mix, is no thinner than most flagships and the top and bottom bezels are only slightly thinner than the G4. The illusion of being a lot thinner is only because the 2:1 ratio is longer than 16:9, nothing more. These journalists need to stop buying into the catchphrases and hype put out by the OEMs and open their own eyes.

    • Dakoziol

      Maybe it’s more ‘remarkable’ in the flesh? Idk.

      • Marco Lorenzo

        Well as I said, I do like the design of the phone and I’m sure it looks great in the flesh. My criticism was regarding the reporting of the bezels. You don’t need to see the phone in the flesh to notice that the side bezels aren’t anything special, unlike what was written about it here. I just think people should think for themselves rather than simply accept what OEMs tell them, especially when it’s so blatantly obvious.

  • handy

    I’ll keep my LG G5, which is the best phone I have ever used.

  • Leigh Conner

    The only risk LG has taken is by taking out anything from the G6 that would have made the crowd stand out from other flagship devices. There is nothing unique about the G6.

  • Awesome Bryner

    Go above or out of boundaries is offering their lower ended devices OS updates at least the one above the one that comes with phone. They expect people to buy a newer phone to get it, and that to me means that the OS is not a free OS if you have to pay more for it. Stupid logic that mediocre or higher gets updates only. Not just manufacturers and carriers suck with it. Google sucks too for just them alone for not offering the manufacturers and carriers to do it. I do not care if Microsoft is a totally different company. At least you can have a low end device running Windows 10.

  • It looks great, Better than the g5 to be the best phone of 2017.

  • T_Durden

    other than the small bezel, I don’t find anything interesting in this phone. It seems like LG is trying to cut cost… regional based spec… gorilla glass 3 on the screen… Snapdragon 821… lower resolution camera with the same pixel size… I meant they did come up with some excuses for the design choices, but I think ultimately, they are just trying to cut cost…

    And they took away removable battery, something that I liked about my G4…
    If they price this at $500 to $600, I think I might consider it, otherwise I will probably go with Samsung this time… or wait for the Note 8/ V30. I am not sure if I can wait that long since my G4 just bootlooped a few days ago.

  • Fredrik Wessel

    Can someone seriously tell me why I as a European, should choose LG G6? No wireless charging nor Quad DAC?! This comes on top of the 821 chip. I have loved my LG G3 but have lately been thinking it’s time to upgrade. I don’t want a second rate phone when I upgrade.

    • none

      If you have the G3, why upgrade?
      Root + custom ROM, and your good to go.
      You can get a ported stock G4 ROM.
      Or a ported UX 5 ROM, the G3 can still hold up against all of LG’s mid-range devices today, so with a UX 5 ROM you are still largely up to date.

  • NeoPhoenixTE

    Now what I’d like to know is if they’re sticking to the default Google emoji, or at least offering a means of getting the default Google emoji font installed without root. :P

    This may seem a strange thing to be concerned about, but the emoji on a device that I can’t root and fix myself is really irritating when I don’t like it. :

  • 3300mAh is Big? What’s wrong with AndroidAuthority?

  • KCarsten

    Audiophile DAC Asia only…bye-bye G6…

  • faze

    bezel and screen is what I srsly like in G6 I don’t care about whatever it’s 821 or 835 we still don’t know what kind of performance improvement 835 have brought in real device (actual use) all web benchmark showed that core 835 was much greater its performance was only increased by 3% but it can be further increased as that was only testing run + it also depends on how OEM fits processor in their flagship but over all I totally likes LG G6 lil more than pixel cause G6 design beats it and Hi Fi dack is so good XD I really likes it and I see what they did there cause I also saw that Asians likes to heard loud music a lot and they more or less don’t care about wireless charging while on other hand US might not accept loud music certification at some point

  • JakeLee

    two, not to..

    ” sandwiched between to Corning Gorilla glass panels”

    lol

  • YMTRUkkeR

    im only here for battery performance, lol

  • Harisankar Sony

    Great device……….. if they rollout timely updates.

    • Grant Ding

      You forgot the lack of storage, the relatively small battery, and the fact that they removed the Quad DAC and removable battery. They weren’t necessary but they were nice. Plus, SD 821, at this price?

      • Harisankar Sony

        That too

  • kher jay

    but does it bootloop?

    • patricia_miller_94@mail.ru

      I have profited 104,000 thousand dollars previous year by doing an on-line job at my house and I was able to do it by working part time for 3 or sometimes more h /day. I followed work opportunity I came across from this website i found online and I am excited that i made so much extra income. It’s very newbie friendly a­n­d I’m just so blessed that i learned about it. Here is what i did… http://1b­.­yt/eZYeL

    • lukas77

      After G4 bootloop I wouldn’t buy LG flagship, not before 1 year on market. My G4 died exactly 1 month after warranty ended. LG didn’t do anything about it.

      • kher jay

        that sucks

    • Roman

      troll die

      • kher jay

        troll for not buying a phone that bootloops bitch stfu

  • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

    Props for wireless charging. But 32GB, 821, LCD for $749? — That’s a whole lot of nope.

    Not to mention the rounded corners aren’t perfectly round, a deal breaker for OCD AA writers.

    • S6EdgePlus IsBoss

      22gb of usable storage DEFINITELY NOT IN 2017. 750 coming with carrier bloatware old Snapdragon 821 it’s DEAD ON ARRIVAL IN THE UNITED STATES

      • squiddy20

        It’s hilarious that you make it a mission to post the same comment, more or less verbatim, in just about every single article about the LG G6. You clearly have no life.

        • Prits

          I know right!

        • Jay

          Don’t blame him. His boss is a 2 year old smart phone.

      • Samsung has just as much bloat as LG, if not more. The phone is also $650-$700 not $750. And this is coming from the guy using an S6 Edge saying it’s boss.

      • Lazaro331

        This Yarl guy is still alive? WTF!

    • It’s not $749, it’s $650 on T-Mobile.

      • Stocklone

        $500 now. Is it still a whole lot of nope now? Nope.

    • David Martrano

      No sir or mrs., no dac & 32gb’s standard sucks. It’s offered elsewhere but not in the US! So I will definitely spend my money somewhere else. To think LG actually did a study on this. Personally when you limit your resources consumer’s will go in another direction I know I will!

  • Ridiculous specs for a ridiculously high price.
    Ridiculous phone.

    • Faisan_Trufado

      Ridiculous note.

  • D in B

    this beats anything samsung will put out. asmsung theory on phones? copy everyone and throw innovation wayside like our CEO’s do when it comes to covering their tracks on corruption

  • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

    I forgot to mention — 3,000 mAh battery for an LCD always-on display? That’s another big nope.

    The headline should be LG G6 attracts flies, if you catch my meaning.

    • Grant Ding

      DOA. Yup. Seriously, when your phone camera can capture wide-angle, 4k video, and the screen can play 2k media, 32 GB of storage is unacceptable.

      • zimmyfishku

        I think that people literally forget that Resolution is relevant only to the extent of the size screen you are viewing because of pixel density. If you have a 60″ screen, then 2k video is the minimum resolution and 4k video would look Spectacular!!! Now, what business would 4k video have inside a phone that’s less than 10% the size??? NONE!!! It would be a waste of money!!! Even if it happened in the future, your eye cannot see that many pixels at such density!!! Not even a 12″ tablet could take advantage of such resolution. 1080P is good for phones as high as 5″s, then 2k helps with bigger phones, phablets and tablets. Having 4k display would tie up too many resources that could otherwise help the phone run smoother! I.e. Processor, RAM and battery life!!! You JUST CAN’T TELL THE DIFFERENCE in such a small screen!!! Anything over 450 PPI pixel density looks phenomenal!!! Finally, don’t forget that software can also help with display quality. All things being equal, if you need a 4k display phone, I’m assuming you must complain about TVs not having 12k displays!!!

    • zimmyfishku

      Although I agree that the price tag is a little high and the SD 821 is from last year, as a whole, this phone will be mine once it drops to under $600 as it always does at T-Mobile after 6-9 months. I’m currently using the G5 as my daily driver and it is more than adequate. I didn’t buy it for the gimmicky Mods. I bought it bc it’s a solid phone! Even with the 2,800mah battery, I get a full day’s worth of juice. The G6 is better than the G5, not by much, but enough to think about as a Christmas present to self. I don’t believe in complaining about the price, knowing that prices always drop. Those who MUST HAVE the latest and greatest will help kick things off for smartphone manufacturers so that the patient buyers get a great phone at A GREAT PRICE!!! The 3,300mah battery definitely shouldn’t deter, as the screen on the G6 is 10% bigger over the G5, yet the battery capacity is 18% greater! And at times I wonder if people actually read the reviews bc both Lanh and Nirave both got over a days use from a single charge with unfinished software! Unless the V30 looks phenomenal rocking the SD 835 or the G7 looks like it will knocks the socks off my expectations next year, the G6 will be mine in Christmas!!!

    • zimmyfishku

      Although I agree that the price tag is a little high and the SD 821 is from last year, as a whole, this phone IS SOLID and will be mine once it drops to under $600 as it always does at T-Mobile after 6-9 months. I mostly love the manual controls!!! I’m currently using the G5 as my daily driver and it is more than adequate. I didn’t buy it for the gimmicky Mods. I bought it bc it’s a solid phone! Even with the 2,800mah battery, I get a full day’s worth of juice. The G6 is better than the G5, not by much, but enough to think about as a Christmas present to self. I don’t believe in complaining about the price, knowing that prices always drop. Those who MUST HAVE the latest and greatest will help kick things off for smartphone manufacturers so that the patient buyers get a great phone at A GREAT PRICE!!! The 3,300mah battery definitely shouldn’t deter, as the screen on the G6 is 10% bigger over the G5, yet the battery capacity is 18% greater! And at times I wonder if people actually read the reviews bc both Lanh and Nirave both got over a days use from a single charge with unfinished software! Unless the V30 looks phenomenal rocking the SD 835 or the G7 looks like it will knocks the socks off my expectations next year, the G6 will be mine in Christmas!!!

  • Ivan Budiutama

    I know this isn’t supposed to be a fair judgement but slapping $749 on last year Processor is pure greed. They supposed to keep it at lower price considering the SoC.

    I know fanboys will condemn me for saying this, but, really, unless you have an excellent marketing (which clearly LG don’t), good luck on explaining the price vs spec vs value to your customers. On the other hand, if you put a much humble price, let’s say a 600? you might “steal” some market. Also you need to consider the competition flagships with most possibly all start at $700 price tag WITH 835

    • JL

      No worries. They will start discounting it very soon. I think the decision to do so are two fold. G series is not longer the flagship, so they wanted to differentiate between this and the V series. Cost cutting is the other, since they for some unexplained (at least functionally) reason decided the back of the phone needed more protection than the front with the crappier gorilla glass up front. It’s sad because they don’t realize that they had a very solid design on their hands, and they themselves have crippled it and set it up for mediocre sales.

    • Bojan Radovanović

      i agree with you Ivan…great device, but overpiced.
      i understand LG’s point of view, it’s new device so it should cost more …but since it’s competitors cost way less…this is wrong pricing.
      but same goes to new prices of S8….i just don’t wan’t to give 900$ for a phone that i will use year or less than that. s7 is more than good, and it cost half of it price now.

  • noh1bvisas

    they lost me at “no quad DAC”. i love that feature on my V20. i wouldn’t have upgraded at this point anyway, though.

  • Grant Ding

    For a phone that boasts very small bezels, the side bezels and the bulging frame are VERY prominent. The slim top and bottom bezels are very nice, but it just means that people with small hands will have even more areas of the screen that they can’t reach. But I agree, for LG’s IPS LCD screen’s, it’s phenomenal looking. But 32 GB is unacceptable: if your camera can shoot 4k video, the screen can play 2k content there needs to be way more that 32 GB. And at least 5 GB are taken up by the OS and system apps.

  • AndroidUser

    “Like a G6” 😂

  • Shankar Selvam

    why you guys are praising the 18:9, i do not think it is good. 5.5 screen with 16:9 is good for video and apps as well. g6 and s8 looks like a remote not a phone. AA always praises LG.

    • Jay

      Funny, I didn’t even know 18:9 (2:1) was a thing. And I work with video. SD to HD to UHD all been 16:9 obviously. So not sure how quickly this will take off.

      Still an awesome phone. Keen to see the S8 comparisons over the next couple months.

      • anonym005e

        The intent of 18:9 is *supposed to be* 16:9+statusbar. So you get full-screen usage PLUS a tray/status/menu.

        • Martin Lane

          Stupid idea, who wants the on screen buttons visible when watching video? nobody, that’s who.

          • Josh

            Content creators. That’s who. That’s why iMacs are 5k, not 4K. Need room for editing tools and such.

          • Aris Routis

            Content creators on a smartphone? Joke of the day…

  • Apa lagi eek

    Editor choice?
    Battery too small, screen too small. Should learn from samsung/apple to release multiple size screen because each market have their own preference

  • Diego Kaku

    Unilateral review, hardware problems: old Gorilla Glass! Old SoC! Small battery! Not real world use for 18:9! And u guys just don’t wanna see.

  • Neflictus

    Ohh, I love the reviews for the battery life. LG G5 was a beast when it came out. After the review, not so great.

    LG G4 – a beast when it came out. After the review, not so great.

    LG G3 – …………..

    LG G6 ? Man, we’re not even trying and it kills the Galaxy S7 Edge.

    Real life ? Oh god no.

    3300 mAH LCD VS 3600 mAH Amoled. I’m sure the G6 kills it.

    In fact, I’m sure the G6 will have bad BAD BAD battery life.
    Early reviewers already said they got 3h – 3h.30 min Screen on time. Go figure.

    • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

      The always on LCD display is going to suck the battery life like a vampire.

      • Bojan Radovanović

        that’s still better than burn in on-screen navigation buttons on AMOLED, isn’t it!?

        • Neflictus

          I still have a s2 plus and a s3. No issues there man.

        • Andromeda

          while i have seen many store demo devices with burn in, amoled phones with onscreen navigation buttons that i have personally owned (Lumia950) never experienced this issue.

          • Bojan Radovanović

            i had few galaxyes, without problems…but same as you, i sow it a lot…at stores and on friends devices.
            only burn in that i had is Amoled on Redmi Pro, which is some generic chinese, not for a big brand name producer.
            i don’t trust amoled.

        • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

          2010 called. They want their complaints about AMOLED burn-in back.

          Unless you’re talking about a sh*t phone like the Nexus 6, AMOLED hasn’t had burn-in problems since forever.

          • Bojan Radovanović

            well, Amoled has burn in problems…it’s just most likely that you are not using same screen so long that it shows…but if you want it i can send you picture of my Redmi Pro, which my brother bought for kids to watch cartoons on YT….and just after 2 months it got burn in screen.

            i’m not saying that S8 will have it, but on screen buttons will be on same place all the time and will be using same pixels…Ask your self why doesn’t Sammy produces AMOLED TV’s, but just LCD (SUHD Quantum dot TV)!?

          • Antoine Devon Swans

            Did Samsung get all of those explosive devices back to repackage the batteries in the Galaxy S8? If so i will buy you one!

      • Andromeda

        The G6 uses a smaller secondary panel for the always on display, so it might not really have much of a negative impact on battery life.

        • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

          That’s not what it looks like in the pictures. It looks like the always-on display is the main display.

          • Andromeda

            it looks the same as the G5 always on display, which used a secondary display panel.

      • Antoine Devon Swans

        Like you and your comments! Please go somewhere and buy that dam phone you want so bad and…shut the fuck up! You and that other guy are on every article about LG with your regurgitated mess!
        Please get a life!

    • We represent the data as our test reveals it and leave you to make your own conclusions. Lanh and I have both used the G6 as our daily drivers and our experiences with the battery life are based on this software version and actual real world usage.

      • Neflictus

        Classic government response. Hard cold facts. I’m sure battery life sucks. It just isn’t there.

        • Bojan Radovanović

          you wanna say S7edge has a great battery life!? ok..i know you are payed by Sammy (or else, you are just a fool).
          i have read a lot of reviews staking that it is one of the best…and i can’t get more than 4h of SoT, and a not a full day of usage….so, don’t belive ANY synthetic benchmarks….real life is only right thing to watch for….and there it all depends for what you use your device.

          by the way…S8 will have 3000 mAh battery on 5.8 inches screen, not 3600mAh.

          • Neflictus

            I get 6 hours of SOT on my S7. So, nope, you’re doing something wrong. Disable scan for nearby devices. It will be better man.

            Take advice from an old fool!

            PS: also had LG G2, LG G3, LG G4 and played with the G5 for a while.

            LG G2 had great battery life. After that, LG just sucked in terms of battery life with every flagship.

            Haha. Yes Samsung pays a fool on a forum to say nice things. You made my day.

          • Bojan Radovanović

            dude, i can stand on my head, but just can’t get more than that. s7’s baterry is just bad for internet browsing and social media, and there is no help for that.

          • Neflictus

            If you have the Snapdragon version, than yes, it sucks. The exynos variant is great.

            Also, for the S8 – advice – get the exynos. 4k at 120fps vs snapdragon – 4k at 30fps.

          • Bojan Radovanović

            Snapdragon, the only version avalible in EU….. :(
            so when i’m comparing this or any other device with S7, you can understand why i don’t think this will be any worse…LG is giving you in USA wireless charging, but Samsung is way kind to you guys than to rest of the world…..

            only problem that LG could have is that, even though it does look better (subjective), it competitors now cost way less…so even though i wouldn’t even consider to buy S8 for a price it will come, there are some great devices (last year’s flagships) that G6 could make less attractive.
            f.e. LG’s own G5 now cost only 300€ in Norway, s7 cca 400-450€ but can be bought cheaper…than there is Huawei p9 (p10 is now available for 600€ or even for 400€ on 1 year subsription) Xperia Z5, HTC 10 OP3t…all of them are not worse than G6 and with price around 450-500€ cost less than LG G6.

            so, i guess soon after S8 comes out, LG will fix it’s only objective con…it’s price.

          • Bojan Radovanović

            but tnx for suggestion.

          • DaHitman

            I’m guessing you have the Exynos then because that gives better battery life than the Snapdragon, I get about a 5hrs with that

          • The bigger picture here is that your mileage will vary. Everyone’s usage is different and your own usage is different every day so it’s entirely possible you won’t get the battery life and results we have. That’s the sad fact about today’s technology – what’s good for others may not necessarilyWork for you :|

        • I stand by what I wrote; based on actual usage over two weeks and our testing, this is what we found :)

        • I stand by what I wrote; based on actual usage over two weeks and our testing, This is what we found and our honest opinion on the G6 :)

      • Andromeda

        @Nirave:disqus if that is true, why does Android Authority give the Galaxy S7 Edge a 9.5/10 for battery in its review, but the G6, which in every test here scored higher than the Edge, in some cases 3 hours better, only gets an 8.8/10 for Battery?

        • So when we reviewed the S7 Edge last year we weren’t doing the testing we are doing now, this began with all phones towards the end of last year.

          We haven’t made an announcement about it yet as we’re still ironing out some kinks in how we assign scores and want to ensure it’s right before we use it on any reviews.

          The G6 review like the P10, and the Huawei Mate 9 last year, contains the data from our new testing and reviews procedure but the score is based on our old methods rather than using our algorithm which is nearing completion.

          We plan to reveal all in the coming months as part of a major revamp of our reviews, including how we display the data. Once it’s all finalised we plan to be transparent in how we calculate scores and test phones :)

          • Andromeda

            Thanks, thats a really great answer. Much better than I get out of the folks at Verge :)

        • DaHitman

          I’ve heard 5hrs screen time for the Edge here and on Pocketnow and its about what I get

  • Kevin Davis

    Well, I know where not come to get accurate information on battery life for mobile phones. What a load of BS.

    You people need to seriously find some outside body to establish an accurate and credible battery life testing procedure. What you’re doing now is pathetic and essentially useless. I feel sorry for anyone who actually believes your battery life “test” and then makes a purchase (at least in large part) based upon it. SMH.

    And one of the funniest things is that 6-8 months from now, you very same people will be calling the battery life of this very phone nothing but trash. READER BEWARE. LMAO.

    Oh, and 32Gb, crackhead stupid.

    • Sorry to hear you think that, why? Our testing procedure involves the same testing conditions for three factors that we’ve identified are important. Sure, we can’t test everything a user does but we’ve opted for the ones we feel impact battery life.

      • Kevin Davis

        Well, thank you for your response, but I don’t find you guys battery life results to even remotely reflect what I’ve experienced in real world day to day use with a wide variety of devices. That can certainly be open to personal interpretation, but the consistency with which it is so far off the mark speaks volumes to me.

        However, the absolute worst thing about your battery life ratings are the rampant flip flops over and over with the very same phones.

        The typical pattern is that every phone is great when it first comes out, and then within a span of only months, it’s suddenly terrible or at least, greatly reduced.

        You can’t have it both ways, and maintain any legitimacy, obviously.

        I do enjoy you guys reviews and videos, but in all honesty, I simply discount the battery life portions, almost entirely.

        Another commenter, “Neflictus”, shed some pretty good light on it as well.

        • Neflictus

          Haha. Exactly what I’ve commented above. They praised the LG G4 when it came out for its great battery life. Couple of months later ….. OMAGA… the battery life is awful on this phone.

          And they do that with every phone at launch.

  • David

    No Wireless Charging in Europe, Old soon to be outdated SoC, LCD Display, small Battery for its Size. Strange Screen you will mostly just use with black bars left and right for Media. But every Review hypes this Phone to hell?! Why would I spend so much Money for a Phone, when I can wait some months getting more for my Money? I do not unterstand LG’s intention in the early release, why did they not just wait for SD 835 and why are they still using LCD when they are the biggest OLED TV Maker and why are they not putting in a bigger battery in a phone bigger then a S7 Edge (10% More)?

  • Mohan Sai

    wow great stuff. thanks to AA for in-depth specifications :-)

  • domsch1988

    Reading the comments one gets the impression, that LG is trying to sell used Volkswagens at Audi Prices. That’s definitely not the case.
    One can clearly see a market shift. There are those that buy phones for specs. Those phones really took of this year. OnePlus, Axon, LeEco all put out great specs for the price. All us Android geeks and flashaholics can get those.
    Most “normal” people buy a phone for the experience. Samsung, Apple, Google and LG understand this. For those people it’s irrelevant the SoC is a year old. It’s still plenty fast. Also, most people won’t realize battery size. They only see if it lasts them a day, because that’s the expectation. The Pixel is way overpriced for it’s internals. Yet reviewers and 3 people i know praise the experience they have with it. Go figure.
    The G6 is a attractive phone with a unique feature (aspect ratio). Since Samsung and Apple (rumored) are heading the same direction, LG might profit from being early to the market. When you imagine a retail store with 50 phones in a row to look at, the G6 might really stand out.
    I feel 32GB is a bit low and no phone in 2017 should have this low storage, but most people are using more cloud/streaming than ever before. GDrive, netflix, Youtube, Spotify… With increasing data limits on plans the need for local storage for the average person gets less and less.

    Is this phone for me? Hell no. Do i think it’s a great device that people will buy? Sure.

    • Tacitus

      32GB isn’t too low unless you’re making lots of videos, or taking a ton of photos, or absolutely must have all your 3D games on your phone at all times. Outside those marginal use cases, as you say, cloud/streaming services is rapidly reducing the need to have a lot of storage on your phone.

      I’ve had a 32GB phone for two years, I use it every day, installed several large games (including Hearthstone), downloaded various podcasts and other files, and never cleaned up old unused apps, or deleted old photos or audio files, and I still have over 4GB of space left.

      Sure, 64GB looks nice in a set of bullet points in the advertising blurb, but really, there isn’t much point in adding the extra memory if the vast majority of customers don’t need it.

      • yep I pulled victory to take home 98 Thousand Five Hundred and Sixty Seven dollars.I noticed about this work half a year before and a couple of months before I surely tested and I have obtained such a wonderful money. It is distinctly good for me personally and also my family.My siblings wondered to see exactly how I settled my Life in few days. Thank you so much GOD for it….You can as well receive that good amount of money, if you have a PC and internet access at home. Extra technical information are not necessary to undertake this project. I am Liking it and all of you will surely like it and you will definitely not forgive yourself if you not at all explore the information >>>>>> GOCHIURL.COM/15cf1

  • musique

    Negatives
    non-removable battery, epic fail!

  • anonym005e

    >>the LG G6 comes equipped with 32GB of storage in most markets, which is expandable by up to 2TB using a microSD card slot.

    I know this is nit-picking but EVERY. FUCKING. ARTICLE. About smartphones.

    Can we PLEASE stop this industry-standard ISO-9000 bullshit about microSD storage? When was the last time you saw an SDXC card, even a full-size one HALF this large?? SDXC standards may support 2Tb *IN THEORY* but the largest product available to a consumer in microSD is 200Gb; in a full-size SDXC card which no phone has supported for a decade, you might get 512Gb.

    YOU CANNOT AND WILL NOT EVER MOUNT 2TB OF STORAGE ON YOUR SMARTPHONE. This is true for an LG, Samsung, Motorola or any manufacturer.

    • cjrecord

      On the other hand, exactly what are you storing on your phone that you’d even need 200Gb, assuming you have a sensible backup routine?

  • anonym005e

    Man, I sure love to hear you basement-dwelling fanboys screeching ‘year-old SOC!’. Because the only quantitative value of a smartphone is of course how fast it runs benchmarks.

    Will this phone be a sales disappointment? Maybe, but not for the reasons you claim. Noone else except those who waste their time circlejerking over flashing Android distros cares that the CPU and GPU aren’t a bleeding-edge product. Real people care about either or both of:

    the style/fashion of the phone (positive vs others)
    the practical features (removable battery, memory card access, waterproofing, etc – negative vs others)

    The G5 was a disappointment because the build quality and reliability were poor, not inherently because modularity was a bad idea – it was just poorly executed. The G4 wasn’t a huge sales success because it failed to improve upon the very successful and very popular G3, it was simply more of the same the next year.

    So now the G6 has arrived, and LG has decided to play it safe. They’ve copied the styling and features of the Galaxy S6: no removable battery, form over function. They’ve even removed their trademark rear buttons that have been a distinguishing feature for 4 years. But what they forget is the Galaxy S6 was panned too: precisely because it was too generic, too much a copy of an iPhone. The S7 was much better received, and I think that’s the trap LG has fallen for – playing it safe guarantees neither a total failure or success.

    • JL

      Why is a removable battery such a big deal? It has great battery life, and for those that really need it like they watch movies all day, most hook up an external battery pack for no interruption.

      It’s a nice phone, but the processor is as much a marketing tool as anything at this level. It’s like for computers people don’t really upgrade all the time because their processors work just as fast. But it’s a marketing tool just like cars always need more horsepower. It has memory card and waterproofing so I don’t know why others are better than the G6. Most phones don’t have removable batteries now.

  • T_Durden

    I would say the only reason to get this is if you want to root your phone a few months from now. For the US version of the Samsung phone, you can only get root access with engineering kernel, and it has its short coming. But for LG phones, you can get root a few months after launch usually. So if you really want LG, wait a few month until people figure out how to root. This also means you can minimize any potential bootloop issues that LG’s known for if you avoid the first batch of the phones.

  • Edgar Chavez

    Which weather widget is that?? Where can I get it?!

  • Basket of Winning ✓ᵀʳᵘᵐᵖ

    Nope

  • Peter

    Im disappointed to see another flagship with eMMC memory capable of less than 15MB/s read and an average of 3-4MB/s writes…

    Apple uses SSD in their phones with over 600MB/s speed both ways.

    Sony is packing UFS which is at least three times faster.

    Why do we let oems continue using such slow storage ? And why no reviewer ever mentiones it ? You sweat over GPU or CPU and keep forgetting that a system is only as fast as its internal storage…

  • Arch Angelos

    Man the S7E SD820 variant is so bad in battery life.

  • ovi

    Guys, how about full resolution pictures?

  • Don Rambarran

    “non-removable battery” shouldn’t be a con, since it was a Pro that only LG offered. I’m not an LG fanboy by any means….the G4 was the best phone ever to me until it bootlooped and became a nightmare. Apparently similar problems happened with the G5, V10 and Nexus 5X. That’s unacceptable and they can’t expect sales to immediately pick up with the next edition.

  • Vibhu

    Why is no one talking about the lacking Depth of field or so called Bokeh or SLR Style (iphone 7 style) Portrait mode ? .. Two lenses and not capable of shallow depth of field is unacceptable..

    • illregal

      its a different secondary lens then what the iphone is doing. Why isn’t anyone talking about what this does over the iphone.. And to call it “iphone 7 style” bitch please, HTC did it 2 years prior with the m8.

      • Vibhu

        You Bitch I am HTC fan so shut the fuck up Loser and trying to teach me shit.. Also You should know this Bitch that HTC had a depth sensor not really two same lens camera..

        • illregal

          lol. you sure me told.

    • Daggett Beaver |dBz| ✓ᵛᵉʳᶦᶠᶦᵉᵈ

      That’s why if I want to do real photography, I’ll get a real camera, like a Nikon 7100 or 7200. You can control depth of field and preview it with those cameras.

      • Antoine Devon Swans

        Because I have made more money off of my LG phone then I have with my dslr camera. No joke!
        I do interior decorating and Landscaping and the wide lens is perfect for that! I’ve been able to buy a new phone every year and have it pay for itself within a three month period. I don’t want a good-looking phone I want a phone that makes me good looking money! I’m published and you can go to my Facebook and check everything out that I do with my phone.
        I’m sorry you’re still caught up on trying to find a beautiful phone that to sit on your hand and you can brag about it, but i definitely a phone that makes me money! And that’s LG for me. Let me know if you would like for me to purchase you a thick gold chain to wear that S8 around your neck!

  • Roman

    LG G6 is the best ever made…not like shameshung overpriced and buggy UI

  • DaHitman

    The G5 has a better rating than the V20 on dxomark & now the G6 has reduced megapixels so they can get two 13mb cameras, no I don’t think so

  • Güray Sun

    Hear me out LG! First of all, you just built what you should have built last year. So, be aware of that you are late and people realize this.
    What will real buyers do?
    PLS do not underestimate what I say.
    Real buyers will compare LG G6 and S7 Edge, that’s all.
    If you don’t want to believe that, just give your son or girl enough money and to ask to choose.

    What will be the percentage of the choice of these buyers?
    LG, this is the real deal.

    If you don’t put a challenging price tag on G6, you will fail this year and G6 will be reasenable and common almost next year.

    Make sure that G6 has a price tag AT LEAST same price as S7 Edge in EVERY MARKET around the world.
    You should say that “you came to fight” and show people a lower price tag.

    This is all I can say for you as a guy who uses LG for years.
    Just make it price cheaper, do not miss this year.
    o/

    • Antoine Devon Swans

      Finally, someone with common sense!

  • Casey Robertson

    I nominate this for best AA headline ever

  • ReaPer

    Awesome,LG REALLY Bring FIRE THIS YEAR!!!( red carpet)

  • Stickdoge1414

    that’s song is so old

  • Mario

    Make it 450 and it will sell ….

  • Great looking phone but I am doubtful of your battery life tests. I rely on GSMArena’s battery life list to compare phones and, OK, it comes out better than the last few G series phones, the G5 and G4 but still pretty average, but then my benchmark is a phone like the Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 which should be about 2.5 days according to GSMArena. I might be tempted by the G6 if I could get 2 days with moderate usage. If I could opt for regular HD (1080 X 1920) that would make a big difference. It shouldn’t be a deal breaker but for me, it’s the principle that counts. In 2017, we shouldn’t have to charge a phone up more often than every second day.

  • I find it hilarious that you would even spend time reviewing a LOW GRADE phone, every one knows the S8 will easily pimp slap this silly outdated phone, at the end of the day Samsung is technology. Nothing else matters.

    #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

    • V-Phuc

      When “nothing” beats samsung, I’m scared to even look at it! Got it? I’d be glad to enlighten you if you don’t.
      Ohh, my friend, once you got it, stop trolling.

      • I have already been unlighted beyond your wildest dreams, you my friend will see the light one day..

        #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

        • squiddy20

          “I have already been unlighted beyond your wildest dreams”
          Is that why you can’t spell simple words like “enlightened”, even when it’s been spelled before? Is that why you say “unlighted”, which isn’t even a word? You make this too easy, moron.

          • Ahhh squiddy , day after day you make me laugh , day after day , you prove you are a budget phone user. One day you may get a life , and be able to afford a real phone , rather than cry yourself to sleep every night with your budget phone , dreaming of Samsung.

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            Says the guy who can’t even spell the word “enlightened” correctly, after it’s been used by someone else in the same comment thread. Keep talking you ignorant fanboy. That’s all it will ever be.

          • Nothing is what you will always be , so i would much rather be a fanboy , over being nothing.

            Like i said , go back to licking dead batteries, playing on your budget phone & dreaming of Samsung.

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            Bwahahaha! More childish insults and double speak. Classic.

          • Maybe you need to learn how to read, the only one i see making up words here is you, just another #SQUIDDY20FAIL

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            By all means, show me what word you claim I’ve made up. I’ll be waiting.

          • Where is this “unlightend” word you speak of?

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            Oh wow. You edited your original post. That’s something Richard Yarrell couldn’t figure out after 6 years of using Disqus. Good for you. It’s still there in my first comment in quote marks though, something you can’t change.
            And it doesn’t change the fact that you’re still a moron who can’t spell words properly the first time.

          • The only mOrOn here is you!

            Still can’t get over the facts can you? All your comments are comical and make me laugh.

            At the end of the day Samsung is technology & will dominate everything.

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            Bwahahahaha! Facts? What facts? Do you know what facts are? You haven’t said anything remotely factual since your first comment on this article.

    • squiddy20

      I find it hilarious that you go around saying the exact same “LG means LOW GRADE” crap on every single article about an LG device. Get a life.

      • The only one who needs to get a life , would be you , as i have told you multiple times, your comments are irrelevant & no one cares about them , everyone knows LG = LOW GRADE, you just don’t want to accept it. Go back to licking your dead batteries , playing with your budget phone, and dreaming.

        #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

        • squiddy20

          Just because you’ve told me something, doesn’t make it true. In fact, most of what you say is absolutely untrue BS. You’re one of the few people I know who go around screaming their head off about how LG supposedly means “low grade”, when that’s also not true at all. What a joke.

          • Keep licking those dead batteries..

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            What does that even mean? Licking a dead battery will do nothing. Provided it’s still sealed, I wouldn’t get a chemical burn, and because it’s completely discharged, I wouldn’t get any kind of a zap if I touched both contacts simultaneously with my tongue. How stupid are you?

          • You will understand one day, just keep thinking about it..

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

          • squiddy20

            Or you’re just a moron saying absolutely absurd, nonsensical crap.

          • #SQUIDDY20FAIL

            Don’t lick so many dead batteries in one day , it’s messing with your brain , which already desperately needs help.

            #NOTHING BEATS SAMSUNG

    • SoHot!

      Nothing beats explosive samdung batteries!

    • Lazaro331

      Its this Yarl guy again.. How many accounts do you have man!?

  • This makes me excited for the LG V30. There are some main grips on the G6 (Lack of a Hi-Fi DAC, but that will be in the V line, the V30 that should be releasing later this year), and the only other grip is it seems like the front-facing camera sucks. Other than that, everything else checks off. I hope the V30 pulls through on the front-facing camera, and no bootloop. I actually really like LG, even though I’ve had issues with more than one of their flagships. I hope this time around, their quality control is top-notch, as they have touted in their efforts to not make mistakes Samsung made last year.

  • balcobomber25

    This is the phone LG has needed for a long time, after the failures of the G4 and the G5. LG is back to making great phones again.

    • Alibaba

      I wouldn’t call the G4 a failure other than the bootlooping

  • KRB

    The headline is funny… I mean you know anything having to do with a G6 is going to have that tag line. I’m not an LG fan admittedly, I’m a Moto guy who knows it’s coming when Moto gears up to introduce the Moto G6.

    But all in all it looks like the LG G6 is a return to a really great phone. I’m sad to see modularity go as I thought it was interesting and liked the idea of being able to replace parts of your phone and not the whole chassis. But you’ve also got to go where the customers are and it just wasn’t embraced…

    • Alibaba

      LG tried modularity and they failed pathetically. Some day, somewhere, some company will bring back the modular feature and make it 10 times better. Perhaps, modularity just isn’t for this time and age. Maybe in a 5 or 6 years, we are going to get that modularity back

  • Rick_Deckard

    I have to say I am quite disappointed on the LG G6 for not having the IR Blaster… Well, I am keeping my G5 for now…

  • The Design For the display I guess is pretty late because Samsung (Galaxy 7 and 8) introduced it first..

  • The G6 is great for poolfies. But the battery hits 5%, the phone will not let use the camera anymore.

  • Stocklone

    Originally the battery life on my G6 was terrible. I did a reset. I installed only the apps I actually needed, disabled all the bloat apps (including Google office apps) I didn’t need except ones like calendar where I thought other apps might rely on it and I tried to use as many LG apps as possible instead of replacing them with my usual third party apps. Didn’t install Facebook or Twitter so I am relying on the mobile websites. Finally, I switched on turn off Wi-Fi with display unless charging. I don’t even charge my phone overnight because I lose 2% at most which I can recover when I drive to work and I am usually over 90% battery life by the time lunch hits. I’m really not sure which of these things I did are really helping this phone but phenomenal doesn’t even begin to describe the battery life now. Just thought I would share for anybody else who is struggling with G6 battery life.

  • Ashish Singh

    one of the best smartphone released this 2017