upload your saved photos and videos to Snapchat

Way back in June of 2016, the Snapchat app got a major update, adding the Memories feature to the social networking service. Before the update, Snapchat was supposed to allow users to upload things like photos and videos, which then disappeared fairly quickly, with no way to check them out after they left, unlike other services like Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

The Memories feature allowed users to save any of their smartphone videos or pictures to a special section of the Snapchat app, along with any of their previous Snaps made with the app. They can use that content to help create new Snapchat Stories. Users could also send anything saved in Memories to their friends, or they can reserve anything they don’t want to be seen by anyone else to a My Eyes Only section.

You may be wondering just how you can upload your personal photo and videos to Snapchat Memories. In this article, we will tell you exactly how to do just that.

How to open Memories

If you are unfamiliar with the Snapchat app, here’s how to get started saving those photos or videos by opening up the Memories feature:

  • Launch the Snapchat app and then swipe through the tabs, if needed, to get to the camera tab.
  • After that, just tap on the small circle that’s located below the camera button.
  • You should see a new tab called Memories appear from the bottom of the screen. If you are new to Memories, this tab should be completely blank, as shown in the screenshot below. If you have already saved any of your Snaps from the app, it should show you a grid showing off that content.

snapchat memories open screen

How to upload your smartphone camera photos and videos into Snapchat Memories

It’s pretty darn easy to save any photos or videos stored on your smartphone to Snapchat Memories:

  • In the Memories section, tap on the Camera Roll selection on top. The app will then ask for your permission to access your phone’s Camera Roll, and of course you should agree to this if you want to save your content.
  • After that, you just pick one of your photos or videos that can be saved to Snapchat Stories or sent to a friend.
  • In the app, just tap the Edit and Send button. You then have the option to make any edits to your selected photo or video by tapping on the pencil icon in the bottom left of the preview. Any of your photos or videos can be edited just like a regular Snap. That means you can put in texts or emojis, change out the image filter and more.
  • Once you are done with any editing you want to make to your photo or video, you have two choices. The first is to tap on the Send button to share that content with a friend.
  • The other option is to create a new Snapchat Story with your saved image or video. To do that, first you have to tap on the main menu in the top right corner while still in editing mode. You should see the Create Story from this Photo/Video option.  Tap on that, select any more photos or videos you want to use in the Store (if any) and they will be saved and added to your Story.

One more thing

Keep in mind that Snapchat does limit the length of any videos you save to Memories to just 10 seconds. If you select any videos to be saved that are longer than that limit, you will definitely need to use the app’s edit feature to cut them down to 10 seconds or less. However, an upcoming update to the Snapchat app will allow you to press and hold the record button, so you can record and save up to six 10-second videos in a row.

Conclusion

Snapchat users should find its both easy and fun to save and share images and video content on their phone to their Snapchat friends with the Memories feature. Let us know what kinds of content you have shared on Snapchat with this feature in the comments!

How to use Snapchat – detailed guide

Comments
Read comments