Snapchat
Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

If any messaging service represents the meaning of “carpe diem”, it must be Snapchat. The application is known for its temporary nature. Messages, pictures, and videos will disappear forever some seconds after the recipient takes a look at them. And just as your messages dissolve in a heartbeat, Snapchat has made it as fast and simple to deactivate Snapchat and make your whole account disappear forever too.

Are you ready to let your Snapchat account go? It’s time to face it, it isn’t quite the social media juggernaut it once was, and you might want to let it go. Whatever your reason for leaving may be, we are here to help you through the process.

Alternatives: These are the best messaging and chat apps available

How to delete your Snapchat account

  1. Go to the Snapchat Accounts Portal page from any browser (you can’t delete the account from the actual app).
  2. Enter your username and password.
  3. Select Log in.
  4. Enter your username and password once again.
  5. Select Continue, all the way at the bottom.
  6. Done!

They will keep all your data for 30 days, just in case you want to return. If that is the case, simply log back in to reactivate your account. The account will be deleted if you don’t activate it in said time frame. Snapchat warns us that they keep some important information for “legal, security, and business needs”. This may include purchase information, for example.

There you have it, guys! Now you are free from Snapchat and ready to start a new life. Or you can just reactivate it when you start feeling withdrawals! If you come back to Snapchat, don’t forget to follow the Android Authority account.

Up next: Is Snapchat not working for you? Here’s how you can try to fix it