• Samsung announced its Unpacked 2018 event that takes place shortly before MWC.
  • The company is expected to unveil the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9 Plus.
  • According to the invite, Samsung will make further enhancements to the phones’ cameras.


Samsung is sending out invites for its Unpacked 2018 event, which will take place on February 25 in Barcelona, Spain. The event will take place a day before the Mobile World Congress conference goes in full swing.

As the invite strongly suggests, expect Samsung to officially announce the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9 Plus. The “Camera. Reimagined” text is vague enough to make us wonder what it means while being specific enough to insinuate camera enhancements for the phones.

Based on recent leaks, Samsung looks to use its new ISOCELL sensors for the Galaxy S9 and Galaxy S9 Plus. These sensors are reportedly capable of recording video in 1080p with a whopping 480 frames per second, which opens the door for super slow-motion footage.

The new sensors also reportedly make improvements with low-light photography, along with improvements for smartphones with dual sensors and extremely thin modules.

Editor's Pick

As for the phones themselves, the Galaxy S9 is rumored to sport a 5.8-inch display with rounded corners, an 8 MP selfie sensor, a 12 MP rear sensor, 4 GB of RAM, and 64 GB of storage. The Galaxy S9 Plus, meanwhile, will reportedly be similar to its smaller cousin, save for the larger 6.2-inch display, dual rear cameras, and 6 GB of RAM.

Both phones are slated to include dual stereo speakers, IP68 water and dust resistance, earphones tuned by AKG, an iris scanner, and wireless charging. The hope is that Samsung improved on the Galaxy S8’s iris scanning capabilities, seeing how Apple upped the ante with Face ID.

We will find out on February 25 if Samsung did just that. The Unpacked event will kick off at 6:00pm CET (12:00pm EST/9:00am PST), and make sure to check Android Authority for the latest announcements out of MWC.