oneplus 3 launch event

Update: OnePlus confirmed that the OnePlus 3 will launch globally on June 14 at 12:30PM EDT (9:30AM PDT). Invites are gone for good, VR users will be able to buy the device exclusively in the first two hours, and open sales will start at 3PM EDT.

Original post: The OnePlus 3 is coming in just two weeks.

OnePlus put up a teaser page on its Chinese website that states that the OnePlus 3 will be introduced at a “conference” on June 15 at 10AM. That’s Chinese time; in the United States, the time will be 10PM (June 14) EDT or 7PM (June 14) PDT.

In a blog post on its Chinese website, the company confirmed that it will introduce the OnePlus 3 at the event.

The teaser celebrates the International Children’s Day. OnePlus asked kids from several countries to let their imagination loose and draw the OnePlus 3. The results are quite adorable.

OnePlus launched the OnePlus 2 on July 27, 2015 at 11PM EDT (July 28, 11AM Beijing time). It looks like the OnePlus 3 launch event will start a bit earlier this time.

OnePlus is not hosting a classic press event for the OnePlus 3. Instead, we’re all invited to don our VR headsets (preferably a Loop VR) and watch the unveiling of the new phone in the virtual settings of the Loop space station. The first OnePlus 3 units to go on sale will be available through VR as well.

The announcement confirms the leak from last week, when a OnePlus representative let the June 14 release date slip in a conversation with a customer.

The OnePlus 3 will feature a Snapdragon 820 processor, 4GB or 6GB of RAM, 64GB of storage space, a 5.5-inch Full HD OLED screen, a 3,000 mAh battery, and a 16MP camera. The 7.3-mm thick device will be available in black, gray, or gold. And NFC is reportedly making a comeback! More details about the OnePlus 3 features are available here.

oneplus 3

OnePlus will probably release an official announcement for the international event very soon, so stay tuned for an update.

Thanks for the tip, Andre!