Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to unmatch with someone on Tinder

What to do when it clearly isn't a match made in heaven.
By
November 15, 2022
Tinder 3
Harley Maranan / Android Authority

Tinder is one of the world’s most popular dating apps. It enables you to match with others in your vicinity quickly — or, if you are a premium subscriber, anywhere in the world. Now, if a conversation goes south or you want to go your separate ways, Tinder allows you to easily remove people from your match list. Let’s go over how to unmatch people on Tinder.

Read more: What does the blue star mean on Tinder?

QUICK ANSWER

To unmatch someone on Tinder, go to the Matches tab. Open your conversation with that person, then tap the blue shield > UNMATCH FROM [their name] > YES, UNMATCH.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to unmatch with someone on Tinder

Unmatching with another user allows you to clear them out from your messages.

After you unmatch someone, you can still pop up in their Tinder feed. As such, it is possible to “re-match” with someone you’ve already unmatched. That said, after unmatching with anyone, your history with them is deleted. If you re-match with them, your past messages won’t reappear.

  1. Launch Tinder and go to the Matches tab. This looks like two speech bubbles.
  2. Under Messages or in New Matches, tap the person you want to unmatch to open that conversation.
  3. Tap the blue shield icon in the top right.
  4. Tap UNMATCH FROM [their name].
  5. In the “Would you like to unmatch this user?" pop-out, tap YES, UNMATCH.

What happens when you unmatch on Tinder?

Unmatching with someone is akin to unliking them, and it will remove both parties from each other’s match list. It’s also the closest you can get to blocking them, as unmatching will delete all of your history.

Does Tinder tell you if someone unmatched?

Life goes on as normal for the person you unmatch. They are not notified that you’ve unmatched them, and they will not be able to retrieve any messages they sent you.

That said, if someone has disappeared from your match list, that doesn’t necessarily mean they blocked you. If someone deletes their Tinder account, all of their matches and stored information get deleted as well.

Does unmatching on Tinder delete messages?

Yes. When you unmatch with someone, all of your message history (including read receipts if you use them) is deleted as well.


Read more: Can you change your name on Tinder?