Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

Does Tinder have read receipts?

Stop wondering whether your crush has read your message.
By
November 16, 2022

Read receipts allow you to know when someone reads your message. After you send someone else a direct message, be it a text or on social media, it can be anxiety-inducing when someone doesn’t immediately respond. If you fear being “ghosted” or ignored, there’s always the chance that the other person hasn’t opened your message yet — or they see it on their notification screen and are waiting until later to open it because they’re busy. To know for sure, social media apps often implement read receipts to confirm message reception. Let’s talk about whether Tinder has read receipts.

Read more: How to verify your Tinder account

QUICK ANSWER

To know when someone reads your message on Tinder, you must activate read receipts. To purchase read receipts, go to a conversation and tap Get Read Receipts. You can buy 1, 5, or 20 read receipts at once.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

Does Tinder have read receipts?

As a message sender on Tinder, read receipts allow you to know when the recipient opens your message — as long as they have that option enabled. Users can disable read receipts on their end to disallow the other person from knowing when they’ve read the message.

Now, this seems like a feature that should be available all the time, right? Well, Tinder has decided to monetize its implementation, forcing users to pay whenever they care enough about another user’s app activity. That means if you want to know if someone else has read your message, you must pay Tinder a separate fee — even if you are a premium subscriber.

How to get read receipts on Tinder

The only way to access the read receipt purchase screen is from within a match conversation. Furthermore, none of the premium subscription options come with read receipts. Read receipts are separate individual purchases and function as single-use tokens. Once you’ve activated a read receipt on a conversation, all messages you send will appear as “read” once the other person reads them.

A side note is that they are not always available. Users can disable them in Tinder settings, which means that, even if someone has purchased read receipts, your messages will not appear as read.

  1. Launch Tinder and go to your Matches tab.
  2. Open a conversation.
  3. Tap the blue Get Read Receipts button in the chat.
  4. Purchase 1, 5, or 20 Read Receipts.

How to turn read receipts on or off on Tinder

Read receipts are a setting that can be turned on or off by anyone. If you turn them off, then regardless of whether the other person has purchased and used a read receipt on your conversation, your messages will not appear as read.

  1. Go to the Profile tab in Tinder.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Under Read Receipts, tap Manage Read Receipts.
  4. Tap the Send Read Receipts toggle to turn read receipts on or off.

Are Tinder read receipts worth it?

This is a subjective matter. For many, read receipts represent a way to relieve the stress associated with not knowing whether someone has read their message or not.

The essential flaw with read receipts is the fact that people can turn them on or off. If you don’t know that the other person has turned them off and buy a read receipt package, you have essentially wasted your money. As such, we don’t believe read receipts to be worth it.


Read more: How to unmatch with someone on Tinder