Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to see blocked numbers and contacts on an iPhone

Apple uses the same block list across all of its major communications apps.
By
August 24, 2022

It can be vital to your sanity to block some phone numbers and other contacts on your iPhone. It’s hard to get things done if you’re being harassed, or spam is drowning out the messages that really matter. But what if you’ve blocked someone by accident? Check out how to see blocked numbers on iPhone, as well as contacts in Mail, Messages, and FaceTime.

Read more: How to set up, use, and remove iPhone Restrictions

QUICK ANSWER

To see the phone numbers and other contacts you've blocked on an iPhone, open the Settings app, then tap on Phone, Messages, FaceTime, or Mail. You'll see a Blocked Contacts option, or in the case of Mail, simply Blocked.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to see blocked phone numbers on your iPhone

It’s extremely easy to check blocked phone numbers, though you shouldn’t use the Phone app. Instead:

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap on Phone, then Blocked Contacts.
  • You’ll see a list of phone numbers. Tap Edit in the upper-right corner if you want to unblock someone, or scroll to the bottom and choose Add New if you want to block a person saved in your Contacts app.

Confusingly, you can only block unidentified phone numbers using the Phone app. To find the option, select the app’s Recents tab, then hit the Info (i) button next to the number.

How to see blocked contacts in the Messages app

The process for checking blocked contacts is similar across all of Apple’s apps, including Messages:

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap Messages.
  • Under the SMS/MMS section, select Blocked Contacts.
  • You’ll see a list identical to the one for phone numbers, complete with Edit and Add New buttons. That’s because it’s shared across apps — the only thing that changes is the back button in the upper-left (we’ve reused the Phone screenshot).

How to see blocked contacts on FaceTime

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap on FaceTime.
  • Under Calls, pick Blocked Contacts.

How to see blocked contacts in the Mail app

  • Launch Settings.
  • Tap on Mail.
  • In the Threading section, choose Blocked.

Read more: How to block a phone number on your Android phone

FAQs

Anyone you block won’t be able to call or message you except to leave a voicemail, and even then, you won’t get a notification when that voicemail is received.

If you block an email address in Mail, it goes to the Trash folder automatically.

Yes. They’ll receive the message, but they won’t be able to reply unless you unblock them.

No. This is potentially for your own safety, since stalkers, abusive ex-partners or others might take dangerous actions in response.