Facebook app on phone showing Android Authority website - How to delete a Facebook page.

Sometimes, businesses and projects don’t work out or need to be shut down. Whatever the reason may be, your best bet might be to simply close it down. We’ll take you through the process and show you how to delete a Facebook page.

Also: All Facebook apps, where to get them, and what they do!


Deleting vs. unpublishing a Facebook page

Deleting a Facebook page gets rid of it for good. That’s a drastic measure, so you might want to consider unpublishing it instead. This process would hide the Facebook page from the public, making it only visible to those who manage it. It could be a great temporary solution if you think the Facebook page could be used again in the future.


How to unpublish a Facebook page

If you have decided to unpublish a Facebook page, here are the steps to do so.

How to unpublish a Facebook page:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Go to your Facebook page.
  4. Click the Page Settings gear icon in the bottom-left corner.
  5. Go to the General section.
  6. Select Page Visibility.
  7. Click Page unpublished.
  8. Hit Save Changes.
  9. Share your reason for unpublishing the Facebook page.
  10. Hit Next.
  11. Select Unpublish.

To publish your Facebook page again, simply follow the same steps but select Page published in step 7 instead.

More: How to delete a Facebook group


How to delete a Facebook page

Facebook app on phone 3

If you are sure you want to delete the Facebook page for good, here are the instructions to do so.

How to delete a Facebook page:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Go to your Facebook page.
  4. Click the Page Settings gear icon in the bottom-left corner.
  5. Go to the General section.
  6. Select Remove Page.
  7. Click Delete [page name].
  8. Select Delete Page.
  9. Click OK.

Your Facebook page will be deleted in 14 days. To cancel the deletion process follow steps 1-4 and select Cancel Deletion > Confirm > OK. You could also delete your Facebook account if you want to get rid of all content in the social network.


Here’s some additional content to help you use Facebook more efficiently!