Best daily deals
Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete your Discord account

A closer look at Discord's account deletion process.
By
April 8, 2022

Discord is a great platform for connecting with other like-minded people, but there are always cases where it’s more of a negative experience. Perhaps you feel strongly about a subject and someone else attempts to belittle you, or you get into a heated feud with another online group. Maybe you’re confused with all of the controls and simply don’t want to use the platform anymore. Whatever the case is for you, deleting your Discord account is only a few clicks away. Here’s how.

Read more: How to change your username or nickname on Discord

QUICK ANSWER 

To delete your Discord account, open Discord and go to User Settings > My Account. Scroll down to the bottom and select Delete Account. If you'd rather disable your account—meaning you can recover it at a later date—you can do so from this page as well.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS 

How to delete a Discord account (desktop)

Click the gear-shaped User Settings button at the bottom of the interface.

click user settings gear
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

On the My Account tab, scroll all the way down to the section labeled ACCOUNT REMOVAL. Click the Delete Account button.

delete account button location
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In the Delete Account pop-up confirmation box, type your password in the PASSWORD field. Then, when ready, click the purple Delete Account button to delete your Discord account.

enter password and delete account
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

How to delete a Discord account (Android and iOS)

Open Discord on your mobile device, then tap your profile picture in the bottommost toolbar. This will take you to User Settings.

deleting an account on mobile
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Within User Settings, tap My Account. Scroll all the way down on the subsequent page, then press Delete Account.

If you own any servers, you must transfer ownership of all of your servers before you can delete your account.

How long does it take to delete a Discord account?

Discord stock photo 11
Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

After pressing Delete Account, the process typically takes two weeks—or 14 days—to complete. That said, it can take longer than that if your Discord activity has been extensive, with some people reporting it took them 30 or more days to finish deleting their account.

What does “disabling” your Discord account do?

If you need to take a break from Discord but don’t want to delete your account entirely, you can disable it. If you disable your account, you will not receive any notifications or messages on the platform. However, when searched for, you can still be found. People can still send you friend requests, and you will see those when you reactivate (or “recover”) your account.

How to disable your Discord account (desktop)

Click the gear-shaped User Settings button at the bottom of the interface.

click user settings gear
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

On the My Account tab, scroll all the way down to the section labeled ACCOUNT REMOVAL. Click the Disable Account button.

disable your discord account on desktop
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In the following confirmation pop-up, enter your password in the PASSWORD field, then click the purple Disable Account button.

enter password to disable account
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

How to disable your Discord account (Android and iOS)

Open Discord on your mobile device and tap your profile picture in the bottommost toolbar. This will take you to User Settings.

disabling a discord account on mobile
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Within User Settings, tap My Account. Scroll all the way down on the subsequent page, then press Delete Account.


Read more: How to cancel Discord Nitro

FAQs

Can you recover a disabled Discord account?

Yes. To recover your disabled Discord account, simply go to the Discord login page and enter your account credentials—that is your email address and password. Click Restore Account. Follow the subsequent steps outlined by Discord, and you will regain access to your account.

Can I delete a disabled Discord account?

Not outside of it. You will need to recover your disabled account, then delete it properly.