Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to leave a Discord server

Shut the door on your way out.
By
December 19, 2023

Discord servers are communities where all kinds of different users can congregate. But there may come a time when you want to leave a particular server that you’d joined previously. Perhaps you’re getting tired of all the notifications that don’t apply to you, or you simply want to cut down on all those servers that appear in your list. Whatever the case, here’s how you can leave any Discord server.

THE SHORT ANSWER 

To leave a Discord server, right-click its icon from the list on the left-hand side of the Discord desktop app. After that, click the red Leave Server button.


KEY SECTIONS 

How to leave a Discord server on desktop

Whenever you join someone else’s Discord server, you’re only a few clicks away from being able to leave. You’re never locked to stay in any server unless you are the owner.

  • Open Discord on your computer.
  • Locate the server you want to leave in the left sidebar.
  • Right-click that server. A list of options will appear.
  • From that list, select Leave Server. A pop-up warning box will appear.
  • Click the red Leave Server button once more to leave that Discord server.

How to leave a Discord server on mobile app

  • Open the Discord app on your device.
  • Go to the server that you want to leave.
  • Tap the three horizontal dots button to open the server options menu.
  • Select Leave Server. A pop-up warning box will appear.
  • Tap the red Yes button to confirm your decision.

Can you leave your own Discord server?

If you own a Discord server, you cannot leave it. As such, you’ll need to be a bit crafty in how you go about leaving your own server. Of course, you could delete your server, but that would probably ruffle some feathers, and you don’t want to be the one that shuts down a community just because you’re leaving.

Transferring Discord server ownership

Say you have a lot of people in a Discord server, and you want to leave without deleting the entire thing. This can be a bit troublesome because you can’t leave if you’re the owner. Someone must own the server. However, you can transfer ownership of the server to another Discord user. When you are no longer the owner of the server, then you can leave it just like any other server.

  • Go to your server from the list on the leftmost sidebar.
  • Click the server menu button next to your server name. This looks like a downward arrow.
  • From the dropdown menu, select Server Settings.
  • In the USER MANAGEMENT, click the Members tab from the menu on the left.
  • Under Server Members, you will see a list of everyone occupying your server.
  • Find the user you want to transfer ownership of the server to, then click the three vertical dots ( ) button at the right of their name.
  • Choose Transfer Ownership.
  • On the final warning pop-up, toggle on the acknowledgment slider.
  • When it turns green, then click Transfer Ownership.

Once you’ve chosen a new owner for the server, follow the instructions from the first section to leave the Discord server like any other.

Deleting your Discord server

If you don’t care about what happens to your server and all of the users who have joined it, you can delete your Discord server altogether.

  • Go to your server from the list on the leftmost sidebar.
  • Click the server menu button next to your server name. This looks like a downward arrow.
  • From the dropdown menu, click Server Settings.
  • Scroll down the menu on the left-hand side until you see Delete Server; click it.
  • You’ll get one last final warning before your server is deleted. Type the server’s name in the prompted box and click Delete Server.

FAQs

You will need to get a new Discord invite to rejoin that server. Think of it like joining a new server: the process is the same. Unless, you’ve been blocked or banned from a particular server—which is entirely possible—you can always rejoin that Discord server through an invite.

The question here is whether a Discord server would notify other server members when you leave. The answer to this would be no. However, if the server owner or moderators have set up a bot like Carl Bot, your leaving the server may appear as a log.

A server owner cannot leave unless they transfer ownership to another user. When the original server owner leaves, a new one will replace them.

When everyone, including the server owner, vacates a Discord server, that server will close and be deleted.

Deleting the Discord app from your device will not automatically remove you from any servers. If you log back into Discord on any device, you’ll still be part of those servers.

Discord does not currently provide a feature to leave a server silently. When you leave, a system message is shown in the server’s audit log, accessible by admins, but a public notification isn’t made.