Best daily deals
Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to reset your Apple Music library

Moved on from Duran Duran? No problem.
By
July 1, 2022

When you first sign up for Apple Music, it asks you to give it your favorite music genres. That way, it can customize music recommendations for you and ensure you get less of what you are not interested in. This works really well, but obviously, music tastes are fluid and will change over time. What you like one year may not be your cup of tea a few years later. In that scenario, you would need to reset Apple Music so you can input your new favorite genres. Here’s how to do it.

Read more: Apple Music — is it worth it?

QUICK ANSWER

To reset your Apple Music library, log into your iCloud account registered on Apple Music. Go into your profile and click Edit Profile. Scroll down and select Delete Profile, and then confirm.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to reset your Apple Music library on an iPhone or iPad

To reset your Apple Music library on an iPhone or iPad, tap your profile photo in the Listen Now tab. You may be asked to log in.

apple music ios profile pic

On the next screen, tap View Profile.

apple music ios view profile

Tap the three-dot menu at the top-right and select Edit Profile from the drop-down list.

apple music ios edit profile

Scroll all the way to the bottom and choose Delete Profile. Be sure you know what you are doing as this is irreversible.

apple music ios delete profile

How to reset your Apple Music library on a Mac

To reset your Apple Music preferences on a Mac, first, click on your profile picture in the right-hand corner. You may be asked to log in.

apple music listen now

On the far right of the page, you will see two menus — an Edit menu and a three-dot menu. Click the three-dot menu and select Edit Profile. The profile is where your current music preferences are stored.

apple music profile menu

On the left, you will see a red link to Delete Profile. Click that.

apple music delete profile

This is where you really need to be sure that you want to nuke everything. By clicking Delete Profile, you will lose all of your preferences, and your profile and playlists will no longer be seen by others. You would essentially be starting again from scratch. It would be a good idea to export and backup your playlists in case of remorse later (we’ve all been there and done that.)

apple menu delete profile confirm