Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat

Were you looking respectfully enough?
By
December 13, 2022

When someone blocks you on Snapchat, you don’t get any notification about it. This is a decision on Snapchat’s part to respect the privacy and safety of the person blocking. At the same time, overthinking a situation where someone no longer appears for you can lead to groundless tension. For example, they may have deleted their account without notifying you of their decision. Whatever the case, it can be hard to tell if someone blocked you or not on Snapchat. Let’s go over how to know if you’ve been blocked on Snapchat.

Read more: How to block or unblock someone on Snapchat

QUICK ANSWER

If you want to know whether someone blocked you on Snapchat, you can check My Friendssearch for them, ask a friend to search for them, or check your Chat tab.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat

Getting blocked by someone can sting. However, there isn’t much you can do about it aside from respecting their decision. Control what you can control and move on.

Snapchat will not notify you if you’ve been blocked. As such, if you’re curious as to whether you were actually blocked, you must check My Friendssearch for them, ask a friend to search for them, or check your Chat tab.

Check your My Friends list

my friends in snapchat
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

If someone blocks you, they won’t appear in your My Friends list (or as one of your Best Friends). In our testing, the person who blocked us continued to appear in our friends list until we logged out and logged back in.

After logging out and logging back in, the person who blocked us disappeared from our My Friends list.

Do they appear in your search results?

From the Snapchat homepage (or the “Snapchat camera” tab), tap the magnifying glass-shaped Search button at the top.

search function snapchat location
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

If the person you think blocked you appears in your Recents or when you search for them, there’s a chance they didn’t block you.

search before being snapchat blocked
Curtis Joe / Android Authority
Before being blocked on Snapchat.

If the person decides to block you, they will no longer show up when you search for them.

search after being snapchat blocked
Curtis Joe / Android Authority
After being blocked on Snapchat.

Do they appear in others’ search results?

Going off of our last point, the person you think blocked you may have deleted their account. If they did block you, they would continue to appear on the platform for other peoples’ accounts. Ask someone else to look for them and see if they still show up.

Check the Chat tab

chat tab snapchat
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

When someone else blocks you, your chat goes with them. That means, after being blocked, your past chat history — in fact, the entire conversation — will disappear from the Chat tab.


Read more: How to mute someone on Snapchat