Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to reset or restart your Google Nest Thermostat

There are actually several options when you're attempting a reset.
By
November 8, 2022
google nest thermostat review display temperature on wall 2
Jimmy Westenberg / Android Authority

We tend not to think about this when buying one, but there’s almost inevitably a need to reset a Nest Thermostat at some point — even if you’re not troubleshooting, you’re probably going to move and either take the thermostat with you or leave it for the new homeowners. Here’s how to reset a Nest Thermostat — as well as just restart it when less drastic actions are called for.

Read more: The best Google Nest products

QUICK ANSWER

To reset or restart a Nest Thermostat, press its dial to open the Quick View menu. Rotate the dial, select Settings, then Reset. Choose All Settings for a complete wipe, or Restart for a simple reboot.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to reset or restart your Nest Thermostat

 

google nest thermostat review settings
Jimmy Westenberg / Android Authority

If you’re only troubleshooting, you should always attempt a restart first, since that preserves settings and other data — especially important if you have a Nest Learning Thermostat. Here’s what to do:

  • Press the dial to open the Quick View menu.
  • Rotate the dial and select Settings.
  • Choose Reset.
  • From the next menu, pick Restart.

If a restart doesn’t solve your problems, or you’re relocating your thermostat or giving it away, a reset may be in order. From Settings > Reset, choose All Settings for a total reset. Alternately, you can pick Schedule, Away, or Network for partial data wipes.

What happens when you reset your Nest Thermostat

Here’s what each of the four reset options do:

  • All Settings: This resets everything to factory defaults. Always use this if you’re switching owners.
  • Schedule: This just clears out your existing temperature schedule, learned or otherwise. Nest Thermostat E owners with Auto-Schedule disabled will get the option to reset to a blank timetable (as normal) or pick an average schedule based on their region.
  • Away: This deletes occupancy detection data used to switch connected devices based on how often you walk by. There’s usually no reason to choose this, but you may need to if you’ve relocated your thermostat without changing homes.
  • Network: This clears out Wi-Fi settings, which can be handy if you’ve changed networks or altered your network ID. You’ll have to use Settings > Network to reconnect.

What to do if your Nest Thermostat is frozen or not responding

If you can’t make use of the Quick View menu, you’ll have to restart your thermostat manually:

  • Press and hold the dial until the display turns off. When it does, let go.
  • Press and release the dial (no need to hold) to start the boot process.

Assuming everything is working properly, you should see a logo appear, then normal display functions.


Read more: The best smart home devices