google stadia logo at gdc 2019

Gamescom 2019 is about to get into full swing. To help kick off the conference, there will be a Google Stadia Connect event held today, August 19, in which Google will reveal some more juicy details about its upcoming game streaming platform.

Google hasn’t been forthright with any information regarding what the company will reveal at today’s event. However, we have some hunches based on rumors.

You can scroll down a bit to find out when the event starts and how you can watch it. Scroll down even further to read about what we think Google will reveal during the stream.

Google Stadia Connect August 2019: How to watch

Google Stadia Controller in white

The Google Stadia Connect event today starts at 7:00 PM CEST, which is the local time in Cologne, Germany, where Gamescom 2019 happens. That means it will start at these times around the world:

  • New York, NY — 1:00 PM ET
  • Dallas, TX — 12:00 PM ET
  • Denver, CO — 11:00 AM ET
  • Los Angeles, CA — 10:00 AM ET
  • London, England — 6:00 PM ET
  • New Delhi, India — 10:30 PM ET
  • Hong Kong, China — 1:00 AM ET on Tuesday, August 20
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 AM ET on Tuesday, August 20
  • Melbourne, Australia — 3:00 AM ET on Tuesday, August 20

When the event starts, you can watch it unfold live in the video player below:

What do we expect to see?

Google Stadia store on Pixel 3a smartphone

The very notion of Google Stadia Connect events — and even Stadia itself — is so new that it’s not quite clear what Google will announce during today’s live stream.

However, Google did strongly hint that this particular Stadia Connect event will be all about games. As such, we expect the company to reveal some strategic game publisher partnerships as well as some specific titles that will work with Stadia on or around the service’s launch month of November.

So far, we know of only about two dozen titles that are surely coming to Stadia, which include Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Doom (2016), Doom Eternal, Destiny 2, Metro Exodus, Mortal Kombat 11, Rage 2, and more. You can see the full list here.

The biggest rumor we’ve heard is that Red Dead Redemption 2 is coming to Stadia and Google will announce this at the Gamescom event. This is a pretty big deal considering the original Red Dead Redemption never made it to PC and other Rockstar titles usually take years to transition from console to computers. If RDR2 does hit Stadia, that will be one of the fastest Rockstar game ports ever.

There’s only about an hour left until the event starts, so we’ll know all there is to know soon!

More posts about Google Stadia

Comments
Read comments