- Google Duo is now allowing users users to leave video messages.
- The feature started to roll out on March 7.
- Videos will have end-to-end encryption and will be deleted a day after they are first watched.
Duo now allows users to leave each other video messages, a feature Google thinks will be perfect for when you want to share a moment but the other person doesn’t pick up. A post on the Google blog says the new feature started rolling out on March 7 and should be live worldwide over the next few days.
Users will be able to send each other messages of up to 30-seconds by simply tapping on the “leave video message” button that appears while a video call is ringing. There will also be an option to leave a voice call if you prefer, and callers can preview and rerecord the video before sending.
The video will show up for the person receiving the call next to the name of the contact who sent it. They can then just tap play to see the video. You can see how it all works in the video below.
According to Google, video messages sent using this service have end-to-end encryption and are deleted a day after they are first watched. Although, users will have the option to save any videos that they want to keep.
Google Duo has been constantly rolling out new features since it launched in 2016. Just last month, Google finally added multi-device support to the app, while tweets from one of the app’s lead engineers suggested that group calls and better audio could also soon be coming soon.
If you want to test out these new features, then head over to Google Play to download Duo and see what it is all about.