Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete a TikTok account

The clock is ticking.
By
April 18, 2022

Not only is TikTok one of the most popular apps in terms of users and downloads, but it’s also the app that people are spending the most time on. Thanks to an infinite scrolling feed of algorithmically determined content based on your likes and viewing time, TikTok users easily spend an average of 68 minutes per day watching videos on the app. That amounts to nearly 54 hours (more than two full days) per month. Is this really the wisest use of your time, and what could you have accomplished with it instead? Here’s how to delete a TikTok account.

Read more: 10 best TikTok alternatives and apps for Android

QUICK ANSWER

To delete your TikTok account, navigate to Settings--> Manage account and select Delete account.


JUMP TO YOUR DEVICE

How to delete your account on the TikTok app

Tap Profile in the bottom right of the screen. Then, tap the 3-line icon in the top right.

profile settings TikTok
Adam Birney / Android Authority

Select Settings and Privacy from the pop-up menu.

settings privacy TikTok
Adam Birney / Android Authority

Tap Manage account.

manage account TikTok
Adam Birney / Android Authority

Then tap Delete account.

delete TikTok account
Adam Birney / Android Authority

After that, Tik Tok will ask for the reason why you are leaving the platform, providing suggestions to get you to stay. You can tap Skip in the top right to finish deleting your account. You might also consider deleting the app from your Android device.

How to delete your account on the TikTok website

The pathway is pretty much the same as on the app. Click on your profile icon in the top right corner and select Settings. Choose Manage account from the left-hand side and then click Delete account.


Read more: 10 best social media apps and five other exciting options

FAQs

Can you recover a deleted TikTok account?

You will have 30 days to reactivate your account before it is permanently deleted.

What happens when you delete your TikTok account?

After terminating your platform use, TikTok states that they “store your information in an aggregated and anonymized format.”

Why can’t I delete my TikTok account?

Make sure you are signed in to your account. Otherwise, you won’t see the option to delete it.