Facebook app on phone 3

Facebook groups are great for creating small communities of similar-minded individuals or getting together for a common cause. It’s not always smart to keep them forever, though. Regardless of your reasoning behind it, sometimes it’s better to just delete a Facebook group. Let’s teach you how it’s done!

Also: How to permanently delete a Facebook account


How to delete a Facebook group?

First things first: the process is different depending on the Facebook user interface you are using. The social network is pushing out its new Facebook design, but not everyone has it, or has chosen to activate it. We will explain how to delete a Facebook group in both UIs just to make sure you are all covered.

Delete a group in new Facebook:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Look at the left menu and click on Groups.
  4. Find the section Groups You Manage and select the group you want to delete.
  5. Go into the Members section, right below the group’s name.
  6. Click on the three-dot button next to a member and select Remove member.
  7. Repeat the process for every member in the group.
  8. After you have kicked everyone out of the group, click the three-dot button next to your name and select Leave Group.
  9. Confirm by selecting Leave Group.

Delete a group in classic Facebook:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Look at the left menu and click on Groups.
  4. Find the section Groups You Manage and select the group you want to delete.
  5. Click on the Members section on the left of the screen.
  6. Select the three-dot button next to a member and select Remove from Group.
  7. Hit Confirm.
  8. Repeat the process for every other member in the group.
  9. Once you have removed all other members, click the three-dot button next to your name and select Leave Group.
  10. To confirm select Leave and Delete.

How to archive a group?

Facebook app on phone 2

Credit: Edgar Cervantes/ Android Authority

Deleting a Facebook group altogether may be an overkill. Maybe you just want to take it offline temporarily or want to make sure the group can be brought back to life eventually. Archiving a Facebook group can accomplish this.

More: How to delete a Facebook business page

After being archived, a group can’t accept new members, no activity may be added, and the group will be taken off public search results. It will be as if the group didn’t exist, unless you continue to be a member. With the difference that the group can be activated again by the creator or an admin.

Archive a group in new Facebook:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Look at the left menu and click on Groups.
  4. Find the section Groups You Manage and select the group you want to archive.
  5. Click the three-dot button above the About section.
  6. Select Archive group.
  7. Hit Confirm.

Archive a group in classic Facebook:

  1. Go to Facebook.
  2. If you haven’t, log into your account.
  3. Look at the left menu and click on Groups.
  4. Find the section Groups You Manage and select the group you want to archive.
  5. Click the More button below the cover photo.
  6. Select Archive group.
  7. Hit Confirm.

Here’s some additional content to help you use Facebook more efficiently!