Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete your eBay account

Have you run out of things to sell? Here's how to exit eBay for good.
By
April 4, 2022

Closing your eBay account is final, as you’ll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My eBay. While you can always create a new account, you’ll lose any feedback and your purchase and sales history used to build your reputation. So be sure that you want to delete your eBay account before going through with the decision.

Read more: How to cancel an order on eBay

QUICK ANSWER

Tod delete your eBay account, navigate to Contact us from the homepage, and select Account. Under Settings, choose Closing your account and deleting your data.

How to delete your eBay account

Before you can close your eBay account, there are a few things to ensure first. Here is a short checklist to prepare:

  • Pay any outstanding fees or other selling costs to be processed to your chequing account.
  • Make sure your available funds are zero.
  • Do not have any open bids on an item.
  • Cancel all your subscriptions.

If you meet all of the above requirements, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Contact us under Help & contact.

eBay contact us
Adam Birney / Android Authority

From the customer service page, select Account under Browse Help Articles.

help articles ebay
Adam Birney / Android Authority

Scroll down to select the article on Closing your account and deleting your data under the Settings section. You may have to click See more articles to see it since it’s not necessarily something eBay likes to advertise.

closing your account
Adam Birney / Android Authority

You can then read eBay’s policies on deleting your account. To summarize, it generally takes 30 days to close an account after submitting a request, but it will take longer if you recently bought or sold an item. If you change your mind, you have seven days to reopen your account. Otherwise, eBay will delete all your personal data. Click Close account and delete my data to finalize the process.

Select a reason for leaving eBay. You may have to choose additional reasons, which eBay will use as feedback to help improve their site.

delete ebay accoutn reasons
Adam Birney / Android Authority

After that, check the box to confirm that you understand the consequences of closing your account. Then, click Submit Request to delete your eBay account.

delete ebay account request
Adam Birney / Android Authority

Once you’ve submitted an account closure request, you won’t be able to access your account or use it to buy or sell on eBay.


Read more: Ten best money making apps for Android

FAQs

If you delete your eBay account, you’ll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My eBay and will lose all personal data.

Yes, eBay deletes inactive accounts. If an account is inactive for over six months, eBay will notify the user to sign in to their account within 30 days to keep the account active.

Learn how to contact eBay support in our guide.