Nexus 6 review: Google goes all-in

by: Joshua VergaraNovember 12, 2014
480

At a glance

PROS
  • Moto's design makes for a nice look
  • Large screen is fun to use for media
  • 32/64GB options are welcome
  • Android 5.0 is simply gorgeous
  • Fast charging helps battery performance
  • Camera is a massive improvement over previous Nexus devices
CONS
  • Some Nexus fans may find it too big
  • If size is already tough, the materials don't help
  • Battery life is sadly aggressively average
  • Android may be oversimplifying itself, especially in the camera app
9.0
The Nexus 6 is the ‘all-in’ release we’ve been waiting for from Google, with only a few of our wishes left ungranted.
Buy now from Amazon

Amid the multitude of flagship smartphones available today, one line that Android purists fervently track is the Nexus. Speculation that the entire series was going to be abandoned in favor of the rumor Silver program turned out to be unfounded. Instead, we got a new, larger, more powerful Nexus smartphone, that’s understandably one of the most eagerly anticipated devices of the year.

You might like: Best Nexus 6 cases

While previous Nexus devices were a study in modesty, Google’s latest smartphone is anything but humble. Google has gone all in, but does the Nexus 6 live up to our high expectations, especially considering that high price tag? We find out this, and more, in our in-depth Nexus 6 review!

nexus 6 review aa (14 of 14)

The Nexus 6 is literally and figuratively a grown-up device, featuring a large form factor that goes beyond most competing devices released this year. The Nexus 6 is manufactured by Motorola, so it’s understandable that in terms of design, it basically looks like a blown up Moto X (2014). The metal frame, the distinct curve on the back, and the button layout on the right side make a return here, just on a much larger scale.

nexus 6 first impressions (17 of 21)

Two grilles up front house the earpiece and the dual speaker setup. You may find it surprising that there is no LED notification light anymore, but there is a specific reason for this choice that we will discuss in the “Software” section below.

Relatively thin bezels are found on the sides of the large 5.96-inch display, which is covered by 2.5D glass, which features a subtle rise and curve all around its edges. At the top and bottom, the headphone jack and the microUSB port are centered, and the lines of the metallic frame make for a really slim profile.

nexus 6 review aa (1 of 14)

Continuing to take inspiration from the design elements of the Moto X (2014), the camera is surrounded by a dual LED ring-shaped flash. One difference is the Motorola logo, reminiscent of the original Moto X, that isn’t as prominent as the logo on the Moto X (2014). Below the more subtle Motorola logo is the large landscape-oriented Nexus logo.

The hard plastic material on the back of the Nexus 6 doesn’t show smudges too easily, especially in this white edition of the device, and the signature Moto curve does help with the ergonomics.

nexus 6 first impressions (6 of 21)

When it comes to the handling experience, there’s no denying that the Nexus 6 is a very large phone. However, so are phones like the Galaxy Note 4, which people accepted happily, although their dimensions are quite similar.

One possible reason for this difference in perception (other than the massive jump in size from the Nexus 5, which isn’t the case with the Note series), is the choice of material. The slipperiness of the hard plastic, coupled with the very thin metallic sides, makes it difficult to grip the Nexus 6 securely. The overall large size only serves to exacerbate this. Very rarely have I felt safe enough to use the device with one hand, and I was worried about dropping it more often than not. If you have large hands, you may not face too many issues with handling the Nexus 6, but for everyone else, simply using this device in day to day situations may prove tricky.

nexus 6 first impressions (11 of 21)

Everything said and done, the Nexus 6 is still quite simply exquisite, with its iconic Motorola design and solid construction. However, because of the handling issue, it’s not by any mean a phone that everyone will appreciate.

Of course, the reason this phone is so large is its massive 5.96-inch display, but it’s not just the size that has been given a bump. Resolution also makes a jump to Quad HD, resulting in an impressive pixel density of 493 ppi.

Simply put, this screen is an absolute beast that offers a viewing experience bar none, and due credit should be given to its AMOLED construction. Colors remain vivid and bright throughout, without going too overboard. All the real estate makes it very fun to play games or watch videos, and this benefit alone could justify the unwieldy size.

nexus 6 review aa (10 of 14)

Viewing angles are also great, and the display manages to remain perfectly serviceable even in broad daylight.

nexus 6 review aa (9 of 14)

Quad HD doesn’t quite blow 1080p out of the water, and the latter would have probably provided a great experience as well. But while the upgrade to the higher resolution may not be easily noticeable, it’s still highly appreciated.

All the work and play that can be done on the Nexus 6’s huge screen is all courtesy of the best processing package available now in smartphones. With its quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 805 processor, clocked at 2.7 GHz, backed by the Adreno 420 GPU and 3 GB of RAM, it’s obvious that Google and Motorola have pulled all bars for this phone.

Coupled with the optimized and beautifully designed Android 5.0 Lollipop, describing the performance of the Nexus 6 as incredibly smooth feels like an understatement. Switching between applications using the new Recent Apps screen was a breeze, and with smooth transitions between each and every step, the multi-tasking experience was pretty stellar. Speaking of multi-tasking, it’s quite surprising to see how many items can be stacked in the Recent Apps screen, which now also lists any Google Chrome tabs you may have open, as well as multiple cards for different activities of the same app.

nexus 6 review aa (11 of 14)

Only when I really pushed the Nexus 6 at a really rapid pace and loaded certain functions like the camera did I encounter a little extra load times, but for everything, the Nexus 6 certainly excels.

When it comes to hardware, the Nexus 6 does stay true to the spirit of the series, providing all of the necessary tools for connectivity, while forgoing the inclusion of a microSD card slot. However, compared to the Nexus 5, internal storage options have been given a bump to 32GB and 64GB respectively.

Nexus 6 Specs

CPU/GPUSnapdragon 805, Quad-core 2.5 GHz Krait 450 / Adreno 420
Display5.96-inch, 2560 x 1440
RAM3GB
Memory32/64GB
Battery3220 mAh, Wireless charging, Turbo Charge: 15 minutes for 6 hours of power
Camerarear 13MP OIS, Dual LED flash, f 2.0, front 2MP
ConnectivityWiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, GPS / GLONASS, NFC, Bluetooth® v 4.0 (LE)
Network North AmericaGSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHznCDMA Band Class: 0/1/10nWCDMA Bands: 1/2/4/5/8nLTE Bands: 2/3/4/5/7/12/13/17/25/26/29/41nCA DL Bands: B2-B13, B2-B17, B2-29, B4-B5, B4-B13, B4-B17, B4-B29n
Network InternationalGSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHznWCDMA Bands: 1/2/4/5/6/8/9/19nLTE Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/9/19/20/28/41nCA DL: B3-B5, B3-B8n
SensorsAccelerometer, gyro, proximity, compass, barometer
OSAndroid 5.0 Lollipop
Dimensions and Weight82.98 mm x 159.26 mm x 10.06 mm, 184 grams

Nexus 6 versions will be available from all major network carriers in the US. This unlocked version, available directly from the Google Play Store, worked perfectly with SIM cards from both AT&T and T-Mobile. Call quality was as good as expected in my main testing on the T-Mobile network, with calls coming in nice and clear on both ends.

The dual front-facing speakers are hidden but not obstructed by Motorola’s specific grilles, making for a good stereo experience that is a very welcome addition on the Nexus 6. It’s not exactly as good as the sound from the BoomSound speakers of the latest HTC flagships or the Nexus 9, but the sound on the Nexus 6 is almost as high on the quality scale, and clearly better than any rear or side-mounted speakers from competitors. You’ll have a great time playing games, watching videos, and doing any media consumption on this device.

nexus 6 review aa (5 of 14)

A typical advantage of large phones is longevity. Unfortunately, the 3,220 mAh battery of the Nexus 6 is only able to provide an average performance. Screen-on time never got past the 5-hour mark in my experience, which allowed for a full day of use, but never any more than that. Heavy usage will drain the battery quite quickly, and while the phone does offer good standby times, it’s hard to get two days of battery life, even with less than average use. You can activate the built-in battery saving mode to turn off all major power draining features, but a larger battery would have been ideal on such a large devices.

Thankfully, Qualcomm’s fast charging technology has made it to the Nexus 6 and the even better news is you can use the Motorola Turbo Charger that comes in the box, instead of having to pick it up separately for $35.

nexus 6 first impressions (21 of 21)

Motorola claims that a charge time of 15 minutes allows for up to 6 hours of battery life, which does happen, if you charge the device while it’s off. With the phone one, getting to the same level of battery takes around 25 minutes.

Fast charging is definitely a handy feature — in this case, unfortunately, I would say it’s also very necessary, which means you may find yourself carrying around the large plug adapter in order to use it.

One point of contention with Nexus smartphones has always been their cameras. The Nexus 4 camera wasn’t a very good performer, and the Nexus 5 is only somewhat better. There are some fantastic smartphone cameras out there right now, and the Nexus 6, with its 13 MP rear shooter with f/2.0 aperture and optical image stabilization, it certainly poised to compete.

The camera app is the Google Camera that launched earlier this year, with its simple interface, and just a few modes: panorama, Photo Sphere, Lens Blur, along with an enhanced version of HDR. The app is not hard to use by any means, but a few better design choices would have helped, in my opinion. The ability to start recording video by tapping an extra button rather than by swiping the menu over and selecting the mode would have been nice, while the settings are relatively difficult to access. On the bright side, despite these hoops that the user has to jump through, the minimalism of the app makes for a very clean experience.

nexus 6 review aa (7 of 14)

4k video recording is available and results in some nice looking video, though I did notice that video loses some of the saturation found in the pictures. Nevertheless, videos are definitely not dull by any mean. Taking panoramas is mostly a good experience, but on occasion photos weren’t stitched together that well; Photo Sphere is a novel, but ultimately rarely used mode.

Image quality is definitely a huge improvement over the Nexus 6’s predecessors. From the very first picture I took, I was pleasantly surprised by how detailed and sharp the photo was, without doing a whole lot of processing. The area around your focal point will have a very good amount of detail to it, and as far as colors go, there is still a bit of extra saturation, but the picture doesn’t stray too far from being accurate.

nexus 6 camera samples (12 of 49)

Click to enlarge

nexus 6 camera samples (11 of 49)

Full crop. Click to enlarge

HDR+ actually does what it’s supposed to do, by capturing all of the dynamic ranges and putting them together for a compelling shot. Tapping on a dark point in the photo to increase the exposure can blow out the lighter parts of the scene, and HDR+ solves that problem. This is not a mode you would just have on all the time, as plenty of scenes don’t call for its usage. You’ll have the best results using it outside, where daylight creates deep shadows and intense highlights.

In the gallery below, images taken with HDR+ have visibly better contrast and exposure:

Low light shots are actually quite decent, with the low aperture of the lens and the OIS making it possible to capture some nice shots. Unfortunately, the flash isn’t much help, as it harshly illuminates the subject, and HDR+ actually helps more in these situations.

nexus 6 camera samples (35 of 49)

All in all, the camera is a refreshingly pleasant surprise in the Nexus 6, and I continue to be impressed after pretty much any photo that I take.

Finally, we come to the software, the crux of the Nexus experience. On top of being among to receive updates in the Android cycle, the Nexus line has always been the stage where Google showcases the latest features of its mobile operating system. Android 5.0 Lollipop is the flavor you get with the Nexus 6, bringing with it a slew of optimizations underneath a new look called Material Design.

The lockscreen has been revamped into a version of the new notification dropdown, allowing you to interact with your notifications by swiping them away or double-tapping to activate them. You can still use gestures like swipe up to unlock, and left or right to access the phone’s dialer or camera respectively.

nexus 6 review aa (2 of 14)

Google Now returns as a permanent second screen accessible with a swipe from the left. The card-based interface takes on an even flatter look, in line with Material Design guidelines. Opening the app drawer or folders comes with a ripple effect that reveals and conceals everything in a fluid motion, which works without any hiccups thanks to the power of the Nexus 6.

nexus 6 review aa (13 of 14)

Smooth animations permeate the entire user interface now, allowing for what feels like a seamless transition in and out of applications. Notifications in the dropdown are arranged as a stacked set of cards, and you need to tap or swipe down from the top again to access the Quick Settings menu.

nexus 6 first impressions (9 of 21)

The Recent Apps screen has also been reworked to a cascading series of cards, and now includes any tabs that you may have open in Google Chrome. This is certainly a convenient way to jump between apps and pages, but it can get overwhelming to look for the right activity, if there are too many open.

nexus 6 review aa (12 of 14)

Ambient Display is a new way to check your notifications via a minimized version of the lockscreen, that comes on when you pick the phone up. Unfortunately, the feature just isn’t as reliable as Moto Display, and I was hitting the power button more often than I feel I should have had to. This is also Google’s way of eliminating the need for a LED notification light. Even though I haven’t paid attention to notification lights in a long time, Ambient Display is still in need of some improvements to make this change more compelling. The only thing that makes me miss the notification light is the way Lollipop handles low battery states: when the power saving mode switches on because the battery is at a critically low level, the notification and navigation bars turn red, which is very jarring and can get quite annoying.

nexus 6 review aa (3 of 14)

As Google continues to strip away unnecessary extras and get back to a really minimalist interface, the small details are what really made me happy. In the Quick Settings menu, tapping the words Wi-Fi or Bluetooth take you to their respective settings pages, the battery icon was moved up top to save space, and hitting the mobile network icon shows you your data usage. Even if the quick heads-up notifications will cover a part of the video or game, they aren’t big hindrances, and don’t stay on for too long.

nexus 6 review aa (8 of 14)

As this design permeates throughout the different Google apps, it looks like Material Design will help make overall user experience better. With that said, while I like Material Design, I can understand if some users out there view it as an oversimplification of Android. Functionality remains intact, but its presentation is continuing to get more spartan. But, as I like to say, when the operating system keeps it simple, the device keeps fast.

While we are used to rave about the fantastic price points of Nexus devices, that’s unfortunately not the case this time around. The Nexus 6’s price is, in fact, proving to be a point of contention for some. The base 32GB model is available for $649, while doubling the internal storage requires a $50 premium. While steep, especially compared to previous iterations, we have to keep in mind that the Nexus 6 is still cheaper than some of its direct competitors, like the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 and iPhone 6 Plus.

And so, there you have it – a closer look at the Nexus 6! It’s clear that the Nexus 6 is a major step forward in the Nexus line in many ways. From the larger screen and its Quad HD resolution, to its smooth performance, to its greatly improved camera performance, and finally, to the wonderful evolution of Android in Lollipop, the upgrades are numerous.

Editor's-Choice-4.5-starsI can’t help thinking of a car analogy when describing the Nexus 6, however. That’s the comparison between a road car and a super car. The super car is the blazing performer, the one that you jump into when you want the best driving experience. But its drawback is often exactly what keeps you from using it literally all the time, mainly, the gas mileage. Sure, you might be able to fill it back up on the fly but that isn’t always ideal. And for all its flashiness, the super car isn’t the most practically designed vehicle to drive, especially when size is more of a hindrance than an advantage. Of course, there is also the price. For plenty of people, the super car is more of a dream than a reality within reach.

The Nexus 5 was like a high-end road car, affordable, but not quite there in being absolutely super. The Nexus 6 is much closer to that and is Google’s way of going all-in with Motorola and establishing its place in the Android kingdom. Like many people who look past the impractical aspects of owning a super car, if you look past the few flaws of the Nexus 6, you’ll have a phone that is sleek, requires few compromises, and can go from 0 to 100 really quick.

Buy now from Amazon
  • Cowen K. Gittens

    I really love this phone. The price is the only deterrent. But considering it’s performance and quality, I believe that it’s by far better than other competing high-end premium devices, especially the fact that it’s stock android.
    I want…I need this phone. Just need to get the money

    • Guest 123

      If it were $100 less it would be a no-brainer for me. As it is I’ll wait and see if price drops, but a 6″ Moto Nexus with the long term support via the community will be hard to pass up.

      • Guest 123

        Well, after seeing some brightness measurements. . . not so impressed. Apparently Samsung is keeping the good AMOLED panels for themselves. Nexus 6 comes in at ~270 nits Vs. ~460 Nits for the Note 4, and the Note 4 gets about a full hour more on screen time. . . .

        Why can’t google get battery optimized better? Too busy checking our location and sending data home?!?!?!?

        Frack. . .

        And the speaker DB is equal to the Moto X, far less than the Note 4. WTF google, stereo speakers equal mono??!?!

        So much for a “no compromise Nexus.” Google can’t get battery life and speaker quality, at least they improved the camera. Maybe by 2016 we’ll get battery life equal to Samsung’s heavily skinned devices and decent volume, ridiculous!

  • Anonymousfella

    “Android may be oversimplifying itself, especially in the camera app”

    This is done to accomodate the long term iOS users who manage to complain that Android is too “complex” and “cluttered” when they have been trained to jump through many hoops to get a simple task done on iOS. Ask any sane person, it is extremely easy to navigate around Android.

    • SemahjLam

      Honestly they are right android can be extremely cluttered at times

      • Anonymousfella

        Maybe it is for some. I have spent some time customising my device to make it what I want and I get my job done way quicker than on ios or wp. Your mileage may vary.

        • SemahjLam

          I mean don’t get wrong I’ve been a android fan since forever first android phone was the evo every phone I ever had has been rooted with gigs of custom Rom downloads even then android is still very cluttered just look at Samsungs settings menu…it’s terrible toys year in actually gonna get a iPhone 6 plus to see what the other side looks like because the new iPhone is actually impressive

          • Anonymousfella

            I get what you say. Its good to try out new devices. Although you can’t expect Samsung to offer uncluttered design…you’re just looking in the wrong place! :P

  • Rick_Deckard

    Oh man… I am disappointed with the battery life… Seriously… Only 4H 27M….

    Maybe I should get the Note 4 International LTE version instead… :-(

    • Anonymousfella

      Get the Snapdragon one. As of now, it has the slightly better battery life(atleast from what I have seen). It’ll be patched up soon I guess

      • Rick_Deckard

        Oh yeah!! The SM-910F :-D Which is LTE compatible here in US

    • Andrew T Roach

      Get neither. Wait for the next batch of 64bit processors. For gods sake, don’t buy Snapdragon right now. Krait is already 3 years old, and simply isn’t up to the same standard as Tegra K1 or A series.

      • Rick_Deckard

        I have no phone right now…. I have my backup Lumia 520, which I hate… I just can’t wait anymore…

  • Skye Simoncelli

    Well Note 4 it is then!

  • Gabriel Belmonte

    Wish I had $650 !!!

  • Manuel Gordillo

    Does it have Slimport or MHL connectivity?

    • Guest 123

      AFAIK, it does not. Motorola didn’t support either of them on the 2013 Moto X nor this last generation and it isn’t listed on either Google’s or Moto’s site for the Nexus 6. Seems Moto wants to go wireless only.

  • Bdd

    Test the built in storage please! I’ve seen really bad numbers on another review. And with it loading times of Apps are worse than Nexus 5!

    • ThatGuyzx

      Yes please. I also read on Ars the storage speed is slow causing slow app loading times worse than N5 and much worse than Note 4. They performed several tests and even did a side by side video of loading apps.

    • John-Phillip Saayman

      Yes we need info on this? The Nexus 6 seems so slow vs the Nexus 5. Should we hold off on the phone. I was really shocked to hear it could be a permanent problem.

      • fliptrik

        It’s due to the built-in encryption of Lollipop. The write speeds shot way up after it was disabled. People wanted more encryption so Google was happy to comply. The weird thing is that there’s no check box or anything to turn it off so hopefully a future update will fix it.

        Regardless, you would still be getting 24 mbps based on a test I saw. At worst, you wait a couple more seconds for stronger encryption?

        • John-Phillip Saayman

          That’s bad. I think people want speed over encryption. I don’t keep secrets of state on my phone. Because it would really put me off of buying a Nexus 6

  • AquaDawg

    I truly can’t believe it, this is the 3rd review to come out since the 10Am morotorium, and not one review has actually tested it as A PHONE!
    Some people actually use phones for making calls, and we’d like to know what the call quality is like and if the RF reception compares to the moto X or not.

    • John-Phillip Saayman

      They did mention call quality. But I guess you need more info.

  • John-Phillip Saayman

    Glad to hear the camera is good.. Do you think it’s on par with the Note 3 camera, Josh?

    • Rick_Deckard

      It’s better! Although, Nexus 6 camera is not better than the Note 4, which it comes with a newer sensor, IMX240 Sony, the Nexus 6 comes with the IMX214…. Which is good as well!

  • sinnerz2000

    The droid maxx could have been a much better nexus

  • Kaylee Smerbeck

    Way I see it
    you are asking 150 dollars less then the note 4 for a shorter battery and no pen but I dunno I own a droid 4 and its so awful I feel scared to try any other motorola devices

  • thartist

    People are saying, and i quote sinnerz2000 here “The droid maxx could have been a much better nexus”.

    Isn’t it sort of suspicious Moto releases it at the same time, like it had an underlying explanation? It suddenly feels like too good to be true, as in “much more reasonable than a 6 inch device” but “Oh!, released at the same time! How lucky of us!” I feel like carriers stopped Google from making a killer, maybe even cheaper all-purpose device from smashing other OEMs, just to keep Google’s advance at bay in their trend to take control away from carriers and OEMs alike. So, they extortioned Google to go somewhere more niche. And we can tell that it was carriers that pushed Google to price it at $649 for all of them to carry it as Google wanted.

    Call me a conspiracist like every other, yeah, but it fits too well to explain the Nexus 6 oddity. It’s something i just can’t shake off.

    • Guest 123

      Motorola has had a “Maxx” Droid version for some time now, and they were working on a 6″ device not long after the first Moto X came out. The Droid Turbo would NEVER have been a Nexus. The Droid line is exclusive to Verizon and the maxx/turbo model even more so. . . wasn’t going to happen, no way, no how — it’s Motorola’s exclusive contract with Verizon for the droid line.

      Google picked the Moto 6″ device due to the silver program falling to peaces. Most likely they were going to have LG make the Nexus 6 based off the “LG G Pro 2″ which is also 5.9” — there’s a reason LG hasn’t gotten that device to the US.

      Price is most likely due to Google either no longer wanting to piss-off hardware partners by undercutting their prices, or having to take the “Moto 6” as is and not being able to cut corners due to the whole Android silver fiasco.

      • thartist

        Well, then this makes me think: either your theory applies and Moto “just” refreshed the maxx line at the same time than launching the 6, or Google/Moto knew it would be a niche device and were smart by timing it simultaneously on purpose.

        On the other hand, i still don’t get why G would pick a 6 incher BECAUSE of the Silver program going down… A 5.5 or 5.7 would have been MUCH easier to introduce to the market anyway instead of being a thing in everyone’s mind…

        • Guest 123

          Motorola did refresh the entire Droid line all together last year, pretty much as they did this year.

          Google likes being funny with numbers, thus a Nexus 6 was most likely decided to be a 6″ device once they seen the popularity of phablets. It just fits, a 6″ screen on the Nexus 6, just like the Nexus 5, Nexus 7, Nexus 9, Nexus 10, etc. .

          So, there isn’t any real mystery at all as to why the Nexus 6 has the screen size it does. There is some mystery around why it was Moto and not LG, and why the Nexus 6 kept the Moto X design language instead of keeping with the current Nexus line design language that started with the first Nexus 7, and why we see hints of the Nexus 6 as being GPE/silver device. Those are all curious things, screen size not so much IMHO.

          You “believing” that a certain size device would have been “much easier to introduce” only shows you have a belief. 6″ devices are VERY popular around the world, many countries have 7″ phablets. And if we are comparing the size, the Moto X isn’t significantly bigger than the Note 4 or iPh6+ which both have smaller screens.

    • Karly Johnston

      Verizon pays Moto to design it. It has nothing to do with Giggles.

    • brendan soliwoda

      I’ve actually heard mediocre things when it cames to the Droid Turbo whereas i’ve heard mixed to great thing with the Nexus 6. Plus, the Droid Turbo is just plain ugly.

      • Guest 123

        The screens are nearly identical on objective tests, thus the “great” things you are hearing are subjective. Best to get hands on and compare it for yourself.

    • Greyhame

      How could a phone restricted to one carrier be a Nexus device? Especially when that one carrier is Verizon. It makes zero sense. Also, it’s the time of year for VZW/Motorola to refresh the DROID line. Your conspiracy is amiss on several key points, so you’ll never get your article.

      Instead, try this. The Nexus 6 was intended to be an Android Silver device. Then the Silver project was scrapped, forcing Google to double-down on their almost abandoned Nexus program (rumors back that Nexus almost died). This phone, never meant to be a Nexus device, suddenly found a new purpose in Google’s master plan. It all fits. Consider the price (high like Android Silver’s premium ambitions), the design (vastly different than previous Nexus devices, and even the Nexus 9 – it looks exactly like a moto x and nothing like the squished footprint of the Nexus 5, 7, & 9 when viewed from the bottom/side), and even more curious, its availability on all carriers for sale at a subsidized cost like no Nexus before it.

      No, the DROID Turbo was NEVER meant to be a Nexus device. Rather, the Nexus 6 was originally planned to be the Moto S, the first Android Silver device.

  • MasterMuffin

    It’s the best, most premium Nexus ever. It may be too big for many and actually have a price of a flagship this time, but it’s a true flagship. If they took $200 off the price, I don’t think anyone would have any complaints and I would personally say that this is clearly the best smartphone there currently is!

    • Jerry Rich

      and if they took $400.00 off the price it would be even better.

      • MasterMuffin

        And if it was free… ;)

        • Jerry Rich

          I see where you’re going with this…..

    • Andrew T Roach

      Google is banking on its brand value to sell devices at full price now.

      Good luck. Isn’t working for Samsung either.

      • MasterMuffin

        Well Google’s biggest source of profit isn’t devices, so it doesn’t matter

  • BoyNamedStacy

    What game was that you were playing in the video?

    • Ray

      Leo’s Fortune I believe. :)

  • Darron Crowe

    Nice thorough review of the Nexus 6. Best one I have seen compared to all the other articles pushing this phone’s review. Make sure you stop by http://www.farewellcell.com to trade in your old cell phone for cash offering the most cash online.

  • No Name

    Get 1+1, problem solved: half the price, smaller size, better battery, CM = more features :)

  • Larry Bair

    Hey Joshua…. Great review! What was that game you showed during the review?

  • Gjergji Selenica

    The verge writes that the white version has an eggshell feel and has resisted scratches so far.the same old question for everybody.White or blue , and which do you think shows dirt more??

  • brendan soliwoda

    Quick tip Josh, the words aggressive and average should not be used in the same sentence. When i think of aggressive in terms of battery life I think of great and when I think of average, well that one’s self explanatory. I had to look at multiple other reviews just to get a sense of where the battery life is truly at. Not to be this person, but it’s this kind of thing that makes reviews from CNET and Engadget just a little better and more on point.

    • Andrew T Roach

      Anandtech for real numbers. Or Notebookcheck.com.

      Both use actual standardized tests and real instruments to check power draw and performance.

  • Jose Alberto

    SONY have the most balanced phone of the year, the Z3 understod something the other brands dont, you can have a great phone but without battery is just useless, 5 inch 1080p display and boom batery life would be above average!

  • Andrew T Roach

    Does touch response still lag way behind your finger like it has in every other version of Android?

    • Endaeias

      Dare I ask, which Android-based mobile phones have you used? This used to be the case when T-Mobile/HTC’s “myTouch” came out with Android on it – but I haven’t seen this issue for the past 4 versions of Android (unless you’re using a dodgy device like the OnePlus One or something like that.

  • Rick_Deckard

    Better battery life, Better Display, Better Camera, plus Micro SD expansion…. Not to mention the Spen, the Heart beat scanner and the finger print…
    Lollipop is coming soon to the Note 4…

    I waited until now… I was on the fence between the Note 4 and Nexus 6…. Not anymore…

    Getting the Note 4 SM-910F international :-D

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afOEn-zm_y0

  • Andrew T Roach

    For $650 this thing is pretty disappointing.

    The Moto G surfs the web almost as fast, has equal UI smoothness, has a camera that’s equally mediocre, and BETTER battery life than the Nexus 6. For $200.

  • Steven Morris

    i think the battery comment is a bit harsh. the biggest problem i have with my current nexus 5 is battery anxiety. i love the fact that this will last an entire day without me having to worry about it. i get about 2 hours screen on time now with about 4 hours standby when i am at work not using it. so it ends up lasting about 12 to 13 hours from the time i plug out in the morning to when its down to 14 percent. if this thing provides 5 hours of screen on time and lasts an entire day that’s amazing! you must be really hammering on this thing and then complaining. i am pretty sure i will be able to get 24 hours of battery life out of the nexus 6 when i get my hands on it. and to me that is epic battery life.

  • Luiz Lopes

    Hi, just want to show you guys the game that i made for android, it’s called ‘Dotz’, you can download in this link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dotz.dotz

  • Mauro

    Please google, add Mirrorlink to stock android!

  • Aca

    With these cons listed, getting a 9 is almost a contradictory either one way or another: so, either it should not be a 9, or cons list is not justified.
    grade 9: I think if this phone got less than that, it would need to result in decrease in grades on other models of top tier android phones, like Note 4, etc… If the list of Cons was not justified, it should have been listed with the more careful chosen words to reflect a real experience. Agressively average is pretty much saying – not gonna hold a day… :)

  • Hector R

    Nexus 6 is a huge phone with huge specs… but a HUGE disappointment for me, for three reasons: Price, Battery life and Size (is just too big, Nexus 5 was perfect size)

  • Paul M

    do you think there will be a Moto 6 phone, identical except for putting in a microSDHC slot, and possibly tweaking other specs. Like the LG G3 was better than the Nexus5 in some ways?

  • jamesinkorea

    The camera looks awful.

  • Witcher_GeraltOfRivia

    Note 4 the best..Best in the market for now..we need to wait and see for S6

  • roberthenderson

    So so close. 4000mAh battery, 16mp/4or5mp rear/front cameras (w/improved light grabbing pixels) and 128mb of storage would have made it a no brainer even at that outlandish (for a nexus) price.

  • Battery doesn’t kill my day! I let my phone on sleep most of the time! You are right that this is a little too big for everyone but i have big hands so i guess ill update from my Nexus 4 to this one when i get the first chance!

  • Rick_Deckard

    I played with Nexus 6 at Att Store… Honestly, I was waiting for more…. Getting the Note 4 SM-910C LTE international instead :-D

  • Andrew Tan

    I am waiting it to replace my Note 4. :) Probably come next week.