Xiaomi mi.com beta

Update #2, May 19: Xiaomi quickly sold out its stock of accessories in its first sale (7PM PDT). The second sale starts at 12PM GMT (8AM New York, 1PM London, 2PM Paris/Berlin). If you’re interested, head over to the Mi Store at the sale time.

Update (12:15PM, 5/15): As it turns out, Xiaomi isn’t just testing out its storefront in the UK, and is extending this new store ‘beta’ to France, Germany, and the United States! Just like with the UK, no phones will be sold just yet, with the company instead focusing on its accessories.

Although the flash sale will begin on May 19th in the UK, France, Germany, and US with limited quantities — you’ll need to register before hand by heading here.

xiaomi-us

Original post (5/15):

As for pricing? US pricing is as follows: the Mi Band for just $14.99, a 5000 mAh power bank for $9.99, a 10500 mAh power bank for $13.99, and Mi’s high-end headphones for $79.99.

Xiaomi may be busy expanding its smartphone business around Asia, Brazil and India, but the company also has time for us over here in the UK too. Xiaomi will be beta testing the launch of its UK online accessories store with a limited quantity sale next week.

Starting from May 19th at 12pm GMT, customers will be able to purchase a small selection of Mi branded accessories from Mi.com. To start with, limited quantities for the very reasonably priced 5000mAh and 10400mAh Mi power banks, the Mi Band fitness tracker, and Mi Headphones will be available to purchase.

However, one important point to note is that the products will be shipped directly from Xiaomi’s warehouses in China, meaning that UK customers will still have to pay import duties on any goods purchased. Small, cheap purchases, such as the power banks and Mi band might just slip under the £15 VAT free limit for imports from outside of the EU, depending on the GBP retail price and shipping costs.

Fortunately, Xiaomi will display the costs at checkout and handle the payment of taxes and duties on your behalf, to avoid any nasty surprises. You can read more about tax and duty here, to better understand the extra costs.

If you want to grab yourself something from the store  next week, you can already sign up for a Mi Account to save yourself some time and login before the sale starts.