Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
WhatsApp details what'll happen to users who don't accept its new privacy terms
- WhatsApp has detailed what’ll happen to your account if you don’t accept its new privacy term by May 15.
- The platform won’t delete your account but will limit its functionality if you don’t comply.
Last week, WhatsApp published a blog post explaining that users will eventually have to accept its controversial privacy terms to continue using its service. The platform has now detailed the consequences of not accepting the changes by the May 15 deadline.
“For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app,” writes WhatsApp. Speaking to TechCrunch, WhatsApp confirmed that the “short time” will last a few weeks.
The service also notes that its policy regarding inactive users will apply after May 15.
That said, the Facebook-owned messaging service will not delete your account if you don’t accept the new policy. You’ll also be able to export your chat history on Android or iPhone and download a report of your account before the deadline.
However, if you choose to quit WhatsApp, you won’t be able to reverse the account deletion as “it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups.”