Update (1/22): The time is almost here, folks! Samsung will officially reveal what caused the Galaxy Note 7’s overheating issues tonight (Sunday, January 22) at 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST/5 p.m. PST.

While the news isn’t official yet,¬†The Wall Street Journal reported on Samsung’s findings a few days ago. The report claims that irregular battery sizing and manufacturing defects were the main causes behind the fires and explosions that plagued the Galaxy Note 7. Tonight we will find out if this report is accurate.

Interested in following along with the press conference as it happens? Head to the link attached below.

Original post (1/19): Samsung has confirmed it will be holding a press conference soon to reveal the results of its internal Galaxy Note 7 investigation. The press event will begin at 10 a.m. on Monday, January 23 in the time zone of its native country of South Korea. That means it will take place on Sunday, January 22 at 8 p.m. Eastern time and 5 p.m. Pacific time in the US.

Samsung’s statement about the press event says that the company will be joined by representatives of “independent expert organizations” that have also looked into the Note 7 issues. Shortly after the phone began shipping in the fall of 2016, a number of them exploded, causing damages to cars, houses and other property. Samsung stopped selling the phone a few weeks after it went on sale, and also issued a complete recall of the units that were shipped beforehand. The company has also sent out software updates to any remaining Note 7 phones designed to cut down its battery life or shut it down altogether.

In addition to revealing the results of their investigation, Samsung says the press conference will also see the company “unveil new measures Samsung has implemented in response to the incidents.” The event will be livestreamed on Samsung’s website.

Unconfirmed reports claim that Samsung will put the final blame on the Note 7 issues firmly on the battery, rather than any hardware or software problems with the phone itself.

Comments
Read comments