Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to recover a deleted Facebook post

Go virtual dumpster diving to save your deleted posts.
By
December 14, 2022

Once a post is permanently deleted from Facebook, it cannot be retrieved. However, there is a grace period of 30 days where a post you wish to delete remains in your trash. Let’s go over how you can recover a deleted post on Facebook.

Read more: How to find your saved drafts on Facebook

QUICK ANSWER

To recover a deleted Facebook post, go to Settings & privacy > Activity log > Trash. On the post you wish to recover, select > Restore to profile > Restore.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to recover deleted Facebook posts

Before we get started, we must clarify that you cannot recover deleted posts. Deleted posts are permanently wiped from Facebook’s servers and backup systems. However, before a post is deleted, it is sent to trash, where it can be recovered for 30 days.

If the post you are looking to restore is still in trash, meaning it hasn’t been 30 days or you haven’t manually deleted it, then you can recover it.

On the Facebook app

  • 1.) Launch the Facebook app. From the home screen, tap the Menu (≡) button.
  • 2.) Tap the gear-shaped Settings & privacy button.
  • 3.) Tap Activity log.
  • 4.) Within Activity log, tap Trash.
  • 5.) Tap the button next to the post you want to recover.
  • 6.) Tap Restore to profile.
  • 7.) In the confirmation box, select RESTORE.

On the Facebook website

Items that are restorable on Facebook are those you have clicked Move to trash on.

move a post to trash facebook
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

On Facebook, click your profile icon in the top right. From there, select Settings & privacy > Activity log > Trash. Click the button next to the post you want to recover.

three dot button on trashed post facebook
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Click Restore to profile.

restore to profile facebook
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Select Restore in the Restore to Profile? pop-up.

click on restore facebook
Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Can you recover deleted Facebook posts after 30 days?

No. After those 30 days (or if you manually go into trash and and select Delete), that post is permanently wiped from Facebook’s servers and backup systems. There is no way to recover those posts.


Read more: How to unhide a Facebook post