Google IO 2015 Sundar Pichai 6

It’s that time of the year again. The opening keynote of Google I/O 2016 will begin in less than six hours and you can practically feel the buzz in the air.

Like every year, Google will wow us and woo us with news and updates on its sprawling roster of products and services. We’re looking forward to an update on Android N preview and the announcement of major new features for Google’s top apps, including Gmail, YouTube, Maps, and Play Store.

Expect to hear a lot about artificial intelligence, as well as an initiative meant to establish a bot development platform. On a related note, one rumor pointed towards a Google-powered competitor to Amazon’s Alexa.

VR is another big trend that will be center stage at the Google I/O keynote. Keep an eye out for Android VR, a version of the operating system design specifically for virtual reality headsets.

Google likes to show its wild side at I/O, and hopefully this year will be no exception. Last year we saw amazing demos for projects Soli, Jacquard, Tango, and Ara. They are all due for an update and, who knows, perhaps Google has something brand new in store.

Who will take the stage at the keynote? We hope to see Google CEO Sundar Pichai, the head of Android and Chrome OS Hiroshi Lockheimer, and the top people leading Google’s major divisions. And perhaps guests like Hugo Barra, who could show off an Android VR device developed by Xiaomi.

In short, the Google I/O 2016 keynote is definitely worth your time. If you have the time, watch it right here or follow the live blog below.

Starting time: 10AM PDT/1PM EDT/5PM BST/7PM CEST/10:30PM IST/2AM JST)

Google I/O 2016 keynote live blog

Live chat is now closed.

Google I/O 2016 keynote live stream

If you miss the show, keep it tuned to Android Authority for round the clock updates. Our crew is on the ground in Mountain View – Josh, Lanh, and Kris will bring you their impressions from the biggest Google event of the year!

Who’s excited?

Comments
Read comments