Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
Does Instagram notify when you take a screenshot?
Taking a screenshot allows you to save an image of something, but on Instagram, this can sometimes be seen as a breach of privacy, especially if the user wants to delete the content later. So, are there any measures that allow you to see when someone has taken a screenshot of your content? Does Instagram notify the image owner when you screenshot a story?
No, Instagram does not notify when you take a screenshot of a story. However, if you take a screenshot of a disappearing image on an Instagram chat, the other user will be notified.
JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS
Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story?
Instagram is chock full of visual content, and it can be a bit unsettling to think that other users could be saving screenshots of your pictures and videos without you knowing.
Unfortunately, Instagram currently does not notify you when someone takes a screenshot of a story. The same goes for most direct messages, posts, Reels, and everything else on the platform. This seems to be the case across Meta’s family of apps, as WhatsApp doesn’t notify you, either.
When does Instagram notify about a screenshot?
The only time Instagram will notify you that someone has taken a screenshot is in a direct message conversation. You can screenshot most direct messages without notification. However, you will be notified if you take a photo with the camera button within the chat and the other person takes a screenshot of it.
This is because those “fleeting” images are meant to be seen once or twice, and never again. Instagram notifies you when screenshots have been made.
How does it work?
Go to your chat with another Instagram user and press the blue camera button to the left of the Message… field at the bottom. Take a photo, then select either ALLOW REPLAY or VIEW ONCE from the options below.
When they take a screenshot, you will see a notification appear on your device.
Additionally, you will see a little spiral icon next to the photos that have been screenshotted. This icon looks sort of like a loading circle, and it is permanent.
This does not apply to images attached to your conversation from your gallery. If you add an image like this, it is treated like a normal message, and you will not be notified if they screenshot it.
If you’ve applied for a ‘verified’ badge on Instagram, you will receive a notification in your Activity section after your application has been reviewed.
No. If you’re using a screen recording application or function on your device, Instagram will not notify the other user if you’ve screen recorded their story.
You may have disabled or muted notifications on your device. Instagram can also be a little bit finicky after updates, and, in the app, your notifications may have been disabled after updating the app. Go to Settings, then change them from there.