Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

Google One may soon fix its biggest multi-account headache

Code suggests Google is working on a "Connected accounts" feature to share storage and AI perks without a family group.
By
•

Oct 22, 2026 — 4:03 AM ET

•
•
google one storage manager on a smartphone screen
Megan Ellis / Android Authority
Add Android Authority on Google:
TL;DR
  • The latest Google One app update includes code for a “Connected accounts” feature that could allow plan managers to share plan benefits with secondary accounts without potentially using Google Family Group slots.
  • Connected accounts will likely be able to share pooled cloud storage and eligible Google AI features while maintaining full privacy for photos, files, and Gemini chats. However, perks like YouTube Premium and Home Premium could remain exclusive to the primary account.
  • Google hasn’t announced the Connected accounts feature yet.

As Google continues to expand its AI plans with premium perks, juggling separate perks and quotas across your own Google accounts without setting up a convoluted family group has become a persistent pain point. Google appears to be working on a new “Connected accounts” feature for Google One that could potentially let subscribers extend their storage pool and AI perks across multiple personal accounts.

You’re reading an Authority Insights story. Authority Insights brings you all the latest exclusive reports, app teardowns, leaks, and in-depth tech coverage from the Android Authority team that you won’t find anywhere else.

Currently, sharing benefits between accounts requires setting up a Google Family Group, which consumes precious slots that you’d want your family to use. This is hardly ideal if you just want to share storage with your work profile or with any burner accounts dedicated to a side project.

Code within the Google One app v1.331.1001988053 suggests Google is working on a “Connected accounts” feature in which a primary “plan manager” account could link to and grant plan access directly to secondary accounts, potentially without setting up a Google Family Group.

Code
<string name="connected_accounts_title">Connected accounts</string>
<string name="connected_accounts_manage_section_title">Manage your connected accounts</string>
<string name="connected_accounts_beneficiary_top_banner_text">Your plan manager, %1$s, is extending their %2$s plan to this account</string>

What benefits could the connected accounts get? Strings suggest these could be pooled cloud storage and “eligible” Google AI features included in the plan.

Code
<string name="connected_accounts_storage_benefit_description">Expanded storage up to %1$s that can be shared across your connected accounts</string>
<string name="connected_accounts_ai_benefit_description">Access to any eligible Google AI features included in the plan</string>

Just like Google One’s existing family sharing feature, privacy boundaries will likely remain intact across linked accounts. A dedicated privacy notice clarifies that each account’s photos, files, documents, and Gemini chats will stay completely private to that specific account.

Code
<string name="connected_accounts_privacy_benefit_description">Each connected account’s photos, files, documents, and Gemini chats will remain private</string>
<string name="connected_accounts_turn_on_plan_access_dialog_body">"Your connected accounts will have access to extra storage and other shareable benefits included in your plan. Your photos, files, documents, and chats will remain private in each account. You can manage your connected accounts at myaccount.google.com."</string>

However, not every perk will transfer over. The app strings explicitly state that add-on subscriptions bundled into select Google One packages, such as YouTube Premium and Home Premium, will remain exclusive to the primary plan manager.

Code
<string name="connected_accounts_learn_more_description">Some plan benefits (like Youtube Premium, and Home Premium) are reserved exclusively for the plan manager. You can learn more about sharing benefits.</string>

Users will likely be able to toggle plan access on or off directly from the Google One app or manage their linked accounts on the web via myaccount.google.com.

Toggling the feature off will immediately revoke benefits and display a standard warning that any linked account exceeding the standard 15GB free tier will lose the ability to receive emails, back up photos, or upload new Drive files.

Code
<string name="connected_accounts_turn_off_plan_access_dialog_title">Turn off %1$s access for your connected accounts?</string>
<string name="connected_accounts_turn_off_plan_access_dialog_body">"Your connected accounts will lose access to extra storage and other shareable benefits included in your plan. If any connected accounts are out of storage, they won’t be able to store new files, back up photos, or send and receive emails."</string>

We managed to activate the “Connect your accounts” option in the account switcher inside the Google One app. Tapping this option shows the Google account sheet, but tapping further on any account currently leads to an inactive URL.

Google has not officially announced Connected accounts functionality. We’ll keep you updated when we learn more.

⚠️ An APK teardown helps predict features that may arrive on a service in the future based on work-in-progress code. However, it is possible that such predicted features may not make it to a public release.

Thank you for being part of our community. Read our Comment Policy before posting.