Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
Google clarifies the changes to Google+ Photos
You have probably had to download the new Photos application recently if you’ve fancied browsing through your backed up pictures, but it seems that the change over from the old Google+ Photos system has caused a little confusion. Anil Sabharwal, the head of Google Photos, has taken to Google+ to clear up any misconceptions.
Although Google will be shutting down Google+ Photos, the features that users are familiar with in Google+ will continue to function as before. Users will still be able to share, comment on, and +1 photos and video. Media already backed up with the service will also remain unaffected by the change, and can be found in the Photo’s tab on your Profile page.
“The private photo management component of Google+, which includes backup, editing, creations, private album management (album management for shared content is still available on Google+), and sharing to other apps, is being replaced by Google Photos”
Most of the changes are being made to the back end, in a move which is designed to consolidate photo backups into a single system on Google’s end, rather than having two features that perform virtually the same functions. Essentially, backups, editing, and album management will be replaced by Google Photos, but shared content will still be available through Google+.
This is good news for Google+ Photo users who want to continue to use the features that they are familiar with, but will allow Google to make the necessary changes to improve and maintain its photo backup system.