Best daily deals
Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete your Instagram account

Quit Instagram once and for all.
By
March 19, 2022

These days we share a lot of personal information on social networks. Maybe, just maybe, a bit too much. Even though deleting yourself from all social media can be extreme, we understand why people might consider it. If you’re in that boat, here’s how to start by deleting your Instagram account.

See also: How to tweak your Instagram privacy settings

Should you delete your Instagram account, or disable it?

It’s not too complicated to get rid of your Instagram profile, but there are some things worth noting. First, there are two options for making your Instagram account disappear: You can delete it temporarily or permanently. The main difference is that deleting your account will erase all photos and videos for good. Suspending it will make your data invisible, but all your content will be there when you decide to return.

For those taking this step, you might also want to check out our guide to deleting Facebook accounts. Ready? Let’s take you through the steps for each method.

How to temporarily disable your account:

  1. Use a browser to go to Instagram.com (you can’t do it from the application).
  2. Log in.
  3. Click on the profile button in the top-right corner.
  4. Select Profile.
  5. Next to your profile picture and user name, select Edit Profile.
  6. Scroll down and select the Temporarily disable my account link.
  7. Select a reason why you are disabling your account.
  8. Re-enter your password.
  9. Click on the button that says Temporarily Disable Account.
  10. To reactivate the account, log back into it.

See also: How to change or reset your Instagram password

How to delete your Instagram account permanently

  1. From a browser, go to Instagram’s dedicated page for deleting accounts.
  2. If you are not logged in, you will have to do so.
  3. Select your reason for deleting the account.
  4. Re-enter your password.
  5. Select the button stating: Delete [username].

People won’t be able to access your content once you’ve hit the Delete button, but keep in mind your account isn’t completely gone just yet. All data will stay in Instagram’s servers for 30 days, and you can possibly still retrieve it. The social network claims the deletion process can take as much as 90 days, and it informs us the data may stick around for longer in backups kept for emergencies. Additionally, Instagram might keep some information about you, such as legal issues, terms violations, etc.

See also: Here are some Instagram tips and tricks you should know

There you have it; your Instagram account is now either temporarily or permanently gone. If and when you come back, don’t forget to follow Android Authority!