Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

WhatsApp adds a critical security feature to view once messages

You can also now leave a WhatsApp group without anyone noticing.
By

Published onAugust 10, 2022

Gmail stock photo from Dec 2021 7
TL;DR
  • WhatsApp is rolling out a trio of privacy improvements to the platform.
  • These include silent group exits, better presence management, and an important view once messages feature.

WhatsApp is pushing through three new privacy features that’ll go a long way to improving the experience on the platform. In a blog post published this week, WhatsApp notes that these additions bring “more layers of protection” and should give users “more control” over their content.

So, what are the changes? For starters, you can now silently leave annoying group chats without anyone noticing. Previously, every member would receive a notification when you left a group. Now, users have the option only to alert the group administrator.

WhatsApp also gives users more control over their presence, with granular controls for who can and can’t see when you’re online.

Big improvements to view once messages

whatsapp view once 1

Finally, WhatsApp is rolling out a long-awaited improvement to its view once feature. Previously, content sent with a view once tag could only be opened a single time by the recipient before it disappeared. However, recipients could still snag screengrab the message or image to store for further viewing. Now, WhatsApp is completely blocking screenshots for view once content making the feature a lot more secure.

WhatsApp notes that online presence management and leave groups silently will be rolled out to all users this month. View once screenshot blocking arrives “soon,” but the feature is currently undergoing testing.

Essential reading: Master WhatsApp with these essential tips and tricks