Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to snooze or mute someone on Facebook

Are your notifications getting out of hand?
By

Published onOctober 12, 2023

As you start using Facebook and gain more friends, you may receive more notifications as they discover the poke feature. These can come from Messenger chats or new Facebook posts. You might get tired of hearing Facebook notifications often. So, one way to solve this problem is to find out where these notifications are coming from and stop them at the source. Let’s discuss how to snooze or mute somebody on Facebook.

QUICK ANSWER

To snooze another user on Facebook, locate one of their posts in your news feed. On that post, select three horizontal dots (ᐧᐧᐧ) button> Snooze [their name] for 30 days.

To mute a conversation, launch Facebook Messenger and open the conversation you want to mute. Tap the i button > Mute.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to snooze someone on Facebook (without them knowing, of course)

If you wish to snooze someone, you can only do it from one of their posts in your news feed. Attempting to snooze them using a post on their profile won’t work. If you don’t see their posts in your feed, there’s no need to snooze them – they’re already not dominating your timeline. Additionally, snoozing lasts only 30 days, after which you must snooze them again.

Unsnoozing someone is possible by going to Settings & privacy > News Feed > Snooze.

Snooze someone on desktop

  • In your news feed (on the homepage), find one of the posts of the person you want to snooze.
  • Click the three horizontal dots (ᐧᐧᐧ) button located in the upper right corner of the post.
  • Then, select Snooze [their name] for 30 days.
  • If you accidentally snooze someone, you can simply click on the Undo button at the right corner of their snoozed post to reverse the process.

Snooze someone on mobile

  • In your news feed (on the homepage), find a post of the person you want to snooze.
  • Tap on the three horizontal dots (ᐧᐧᐧ) button in the upper right corner of the post.
  • Then, select Snooze [their name] for 30 days.

How to unfollow someone on Facebook

Unfollowing someone completely removes that person from your feed from that point on. Any new activity from that user, be it a post or share, will not appear in your feed.

Unfollow someone on desktop

There are two main ways to unfollow someone on Facebook when using the platform on a computer. On the website, if you come across a post by the person you want to unfollow, you can do so from the same menu used for snoozing (three horizontal dots (ᐧᐧᐧ) button on their post > select Unfollow)

Alternatively, you can unfollow them directly from their profile.

  • Go to their Facebook profile by clicking on their name on a post or by searching for their name in the search bar.
  • Click the Friends button.
  • Select Unfollow.

Unfollow someone on mobile

  • In the Facebook app, go to the profile of the person you want to unfollow by tapping on their name on a post or by searching for their name in the search bar.
  • Tap on the Friends button underneath their profile picture.
  • Select Unfollow.

How to mute a conversation on Facebook Messenger

Muting a conversation doesn’t mean messages won’t be sent. However, you won’t be notified of any new messages sent in that conversation. As such, you are essentially muting notifications for a conversation rather than muting the ongoing conversation itself.

Mute a conversation on desktop

  • In your conversation on Facebook, click the other user’s name.
  • From the subsequent dropdown, select Mute notifications.

Mute a conversation on mobile

  • Launch the Facebook Messenger app on your device.
  • Open the conversation you want to mute.
  • Tap the small i button in the top right of the screen.
  • Tap the Mute button underneath their profile picture.
  • Articulate exactly what you want to mute: message notifications, call notifications, or both.

There’s no alert to show if you’ve been muted or not.

When you mute someone on Messenger, you’ll still get their messages, but your phone won’t send a notification.

Messenger offers you the option to mute a conversation for a specified duration, set by your preferences or until you decide to change it.

When you mute a conversation on Messenger, a barred bell icon appears next to it, and your notifications are turned off when someone sends a message. The conversation is unchanged, and you can undo it whenever you want.