Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
(Update: now on by default) Periscope now lets you save your broadcasts
Update, May 26: As of the latest update, the Periscope Android app saves your broadcasts automatically, meaning that you no longer need to add the #save hashtag. If you prefer the old behavior, you can set broadcasts to autodelete after 24 hours. Likes and comments are saved as well.
Original post, May 5: While Periscope remains one of the most popular live broadcasting apps on the planet, it’s not without rivals. One of the biggest of these is Facebook Live, which offers at least one advantage over Periscope: the ability to permanently save broadcasts. Hoping to bridge this gap, Periscope has announced it is adding similar functionality in the form of a new ‘beta’ feature.
Saving a broadcast for future use is as easy as including “#Save” in a broadcast’s title. Those without this hashtag will continue with the typical pattern of staying online for 24 hours before deletion. Of course you’ll still be able to manually delete these saved recording later, if you so choose.
While adding this saving feature is an important step forward, it’s only the beginning. According to it’s CEO Kayvon Beykpour they plan to eventually “build better native control for permanently displaying broadcasts, including the option to decide something should be permanent after your broadcast ends.” Bottom-line, we can expect it to further evolve in the not too distant future.
What do you think, see yourself utilizing Periscope more now that there’s an easy way to save recordings from right within the service?