Best daily deals
Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

OnePlus One will be available without an invite every Tuesday

OnePlus is making its “no invite” events a regular occurrence, with the OnePlus One set to go on sale with no strings attached every Tuesday.
By
February 9, 2015
oneplus one aa (33 of 34)

OnePlus is making its “no invite” events a regular occurrence, with the OnePlus One set to go on sale with no strings attached every Tuesday.

Announced on the company blog today, the new system will see both the 16GB Silk White ($300) and the 64GB Sandstone Black ($350) versions go on sale without invitations. The events will open every Tuesday at 12AM Pacific/3AM Eastern/8AM British/4PM Hong Kong and will last for 24 hours.

OnePlus is not giving up on its invites any time soon. The “beloved” system will remain in place for the other six days in the week, and users buying the One during the open windows will still receive invitations to give away to friends.

The new open windows are for the global variant of the OnePlus One, so Indian and Indonesian customers won’t get to join in the fun. However, OnePlus will still hold occasional events for these markets – a “one-time” limited stock event will be held in India tomorrow, starting at 10AM IST.

OnePlus has received a ton of flak over its restrictive sales policies, but the invitation system has some clear benefits for the young company. OnePlus can keep manufacturing costs in check and minimize the amount of money it sinks into stocks, and the savings are passed to the customer. OnePlus has always claimed it makes very little money on each phone it sells, though exact figures are not public.