Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to share a Google calendar — a step by step guide

It's quick, easy, and painless to sync up your calendar with friends.
By
October 21, 2022
Google Calendar stock photo 1
Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

There are many reasons why people want to share a Google calendar. Here at Android Authority, for example, we all use the same calendar to check upcoming events, see who is on vacation, etc. Families can share one calendar with all doctor appointments, trips, gatherings, and other events in one place.

You’ve come to the right place if you don’t know how to share a Google calendar. The process is so simple even your grandma could do it. It takes a few clicks and a couple of minutes of your time. Do you want to know how to share a Google calendar? You’ll find everything you need to know below.

Related: How to set up and use Google Calendar the right way

QUICK ANSWER

You can share a Google calendar by accessing the Google Calendar website, and hovering your mouse over the calendar you want to share, which is in the left column under My calendars. Now click on the three-dot menu button and select Settings and sharing. Go to the Access permissions for events section. Make sure to toggle on Make available to public and click on  Get shareable link, then click on Copy link. Share the link with whoever you want.

You'll also see a section right below, named Share with specific people. This option allows you to share with specific people. Select Add people and add the person's email. Define the user's permissions. Hit Send.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to Share a Google calendar by making it public

Google Calendar stock photo 5
Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

First things first: you can only share your Google calendar from a computer (or web browser in desktop mode). The Android and iOS apps still don’t support this feature. It’s a bit of an oversight and something that hopefully eventually changes. For now, there’s no real way around this.

To get started, visit the Google Calendar website and locate the My calendars section on the left side of the interface. Hover the mouse over the calendar you want to share, click the three-dot menu button, and select Settings and sharing.

First, you must allow anyone with a link to see your calendar. This likely isn’t the best option for most people, as the calendar can also pop up when people Google your name. If that doesn’t scare you off, you can enable this by checking the Make available to public box under the Access permissions for events section. Then select Get shareable link, hit Copy link, and send it to whoever you’d like.

Step-by-step instructions:

  1. Visit calendar.google.com.
  2. Locate the My calendars section on the left side of the interface and hover the mouse over the calendar you want to share.
  3. Click the three-dot menu button.
  4. Hit Settings and sharing.
  5. Go to the section that reads Access permissions for events.
  6. Checkmark the Make available to public option.
  7. Select Get shareable link.
  8. Hit Copy link, and send it to whoever you’d like.

How to Share a Google calendar with specific people

The second option is the one that makes the most sense to the majority of users. It lets you share your calendar with specific people. Go to the same Settings page. Under the Share with specific people section, click on Add people, type in the email addresses of the people you want to share your calendar with, and define their Permissions (see only, edit…). Hit Send. Google will then automatically add your calendar to their accounts, which they’ll be able to access from the Other calendars section.

Step-by-step instructions:

  1. Visit calendar.google.com.
  2. Locate the My calendars section on the left side of the interface and hover the mouse over the calendar you want to share.
  3. Click the three-dot menu button.
  4. Hit Settings and sharing.
  5. Go to the section that reads Share with specific people.
  6. Select Add people.
  7. Type the email address in.
  8. Define the user’s Permissions.
  9. Hit Send.

FAQs

You can always make your calendar private again by unsharing it. To do so, delete the email addresses under the Share with specific people or uncheck the Make available to public box.

Only if you shared the calendar using their email and gave them editing permissions. If you want to make sure a calendar isn’t disturbed or changed by others, you can add a new Google calendar either to share or for private use.

Yes. To unsubscribe from a Google calendar, hover your mouse over it, click on the X, and select Remove calendar.