Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete your LastPass account

Save your data before deleting your account.
By
November 2, 2022
LastPass Premium
Joe Hindy / Android Authority

LastPass is one of the best password managers and a great way to keep track of all your accounts and passwords. The free version of the app comes with plenty of features that are more than enough for most users. However, you are limited to using it on a single device if you don’t get a premium subscription. You might have also just found a better alternative and want to close your account. Whatever the reason, here’s how to delete your LastPass account.

Read more: 1Password vs LastPass: Which is better?

QUICK ANSWER

To delete your LastPass account, log in, go to Account settings > General, scroll down to Account information, and click My account. Select Delete or Reset account and choose Delete account on the next page. Enter your master password, pick a reason for deletion, and confirm to close your LastPass account.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

What to do before deleting your LastPass account

lastpass export data
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

Make sure you delete your LastPass account before doing so because it will permanently erase all the information you’ve stored in the vault.

If you’re sure you want to delete your account, you might want to download all the information from the vault. This will also make it easier to export the data to a new password manager. Log in to your account or open the vault using the browser extension. Click Advanced options in the left-hand menu and select Export. LastPass will create a downloadable CSV file will your account info. You can save this file and use it to set up another password manager by importing it or entering the data manually.

How to delete your LastPass account

lastpass delete account
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

Log in to your account or open the vault from the browser extension. Click Account settings in the left hand-menu and go to the General tab. Scroll down to the Account Information section and click My account. If you’re already logged in, you can go directly to the Account Reset and Deletion page.

lastpass delete account 2
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

Click Delete or reset account and then choose Delete account on the next page. Enter your master password, select a reason for deleting your account, and confirm your selection.

How to close your LastPass account without the master password

lastpass delete without master password 2
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

There are a few extra steps if you don’t remember your master password. Go to the Account deletion page and click Delete account. Choose No when asked if you know your master password, and enter your email address. LastPass will email you instructions on how to delete your account.

Can I reset my LastPass account?

lastpass reset account
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

You don’t have to close your account if you want to start over and delete all the information stored in your vault. Instead, go to the Account reset page, and choose Reset account. Log in to the account if you know your master password and reset it, or enter your email address to reset your password.


Read more: Dashlane vs LastPass: Which should I choose?

FAQs

Deleting your account does not end your subscription until the end of its duration. If you want to restore your premium subscription, set up a new LastPass account with the same email address.

LastPass will delete shared passwords and folders if you are the primary account. Shared information for others will remain if yours is a secondary account on a family or business plan.

Yes, you don’t have to delete your old account and create a new one if you want to change your email address. Go to Account Settings > General and under Login credentials, change the email address in the Account Email section.