Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete files and folders from Dropbox

Free up storage space.
By

Published onSeptember 4, 2022

Dropbox is one of the best cloud storage services you can use and provides a quick and easy way to access files across multiple devices. Unless you subscribe to a premium plan, the 2GB of free storage you get with Dropbox may not be enough, especially if you use it to back up photos. You might want to delete some files and folders to ensure you aren’t running out of space. Here’s how to delete files and folders from Dropbox.

Read more: What is Dropbox?

QUICK ANSWER

To delete files and folders from Dropbox, go to dropbox.com, select the files and folders you want to delete (click on the checkboxes next to the file names), and click the Delete button that appears at the top bar.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to delete files and folders on the Dropbox desktop app

dropbox delete file desktop
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

The Dropbox desktop app creates a system folder into which you can drag and drop files. You can delete a file or folder like any other file on your computer. Simply select the file and press the delete button on your keyboard.

How to delete files and folders on the Dropbox website

remove multiple files website
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

On the Dropbox website, click the checkboxes next to the files or folders you want to remove and click the Delete button that appears at the top bar.

delete file website on website
Ankit Banerjee / Android Authority

You can also delete individual files and folders by opening More options (three horizontal dots icon when you hover over a file name) and clicking Delete.

How to delete files and folders on the mobile app

On the mobile app, tap on the three vertical dots icon next to the file or folder name and tap Delete. You can select multiple files by long-pressing on one of the files and tapping the checkboxes next to the others. Then tap on the three vertical dots at the top right corner and tap Delete.


Read more: The best cloud storage apps for Android

FAQs

You might notice that you can’t delete shared folders from the mobile app. But you can delete the content of the folder. You can delete shared folders from the website or desktop app.

Yes, you can recover deleted files and folders within 30 days with the Basic, Plus, and Family plans and within 180 days with the Professional and Business plans. You can find deleted files within the time period on the delete files page on the website.