Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

Does BeReal notify when you take a screenshot?

Be careful what you screenshot.
By
August 29, 2022

BeReal lets you take one photo daily and share it with your friends. While you can still see your photos in the Memories section of your profile, your friends’ pictures are deleted and are no longer available on your timeline the next day. Since there’s no easy way to save other BeReals, you might be tempted to take a screenshot to keep them. Does BeReal notify users when someone takes a screenshot?

Read more: What is BeReal and how to get started with it

QUICK ANSWER

Yes, BeReal will notify you when someone takes a screenshot. It's not a pop-up notification, but you can tell whether someone has taken a screenshot and who that person is when you check the app.

Does BeReal notify you when someone takes a screenshot?

BeReal will let you know if someone takes a screenshot of your photo. It’s not a pop-up notification, though. Instead, depending on your phone, you will see a different icon on your BeReal. On Android, you will see a camera shutter icon next to your BeReal, while on iOS, you’ll find a square with a number to show how many people have taken screenshots.

You can also see who has taken the screenshots. On Android, tap the camera shutter icon to see a list of friends who have taken a screenshot. iOS requires an extra step. After you tap the number icon, you will have to first share your BeReal to reveal who has taken a screenshot. Tap on Share to reveal and share your photo on other social media platforms or via email. You will then see a list of anyone who has taken a screenshot of your BeReal.


Read more: How to delete a BeReal

FAQs

You might not see the screenshot notification icon even when you know that someone has taken a screenshot. The app is a little buggy, so the screenshot notification doesn’t always work. BeReal also hides some features until you add more friends. The company doesn’t specify whether this feature is locked until you add a certain number of friends and how many you should add.