Best daily deals

Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

The Xiaomi 12 series is finally launching in global markets next week

The global launch comes almost three months after the Chinese reveal.
By
March 8, 2022
xiaomi 12 image 2
Xiaomi
TL;DR
  • Xiaomi has announced a March 15 launch event.
  • This will be the global launch for the Xiaomi 12 series.

It’s felt like ages since the Xiaomi 12 series Chinese launch, taking place in late December 2021. We’ve had to wait a while, but the Chinese manufacturer has finally revealed a global launch date for the series.

Xiaomi took to Twitter to announce a March 15 event, specifically noting that it’s a global launch for the Xiaomi 12 series. The event is scheduled to take place at 8 PM GMT+8 (7 AM ET, 5:30 PM IST). Check out the image posted by Xiaomi below.

Three Xiaomi 12 series phones were announced at the Chinese launch, namely the standard Xiaomi 12, the Xiaomi 12X, and the more premium Xiaomi 12 Pro. We’re not sure if the company plans to bring all three models to global markets.

The standard model brings a relatively compact design in line with the Galaxy S21, but still offers a Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 chipset, a 4,500mAh battery with 67W wired charging, and 50W wireless topups. Meanwhile, the Xiaomi 12X is a more affordable take on the standard model that uses the Snapdragon 870 processor instead. Finally, the Xiaomi 12 Pro brings a QHD+ display, 120W charging, and three 50MP rear cameras.

Xiaomi also announced the Mi 11 Ultra back in March 2021, so we’re due for a 12 Ultra reveal. But we’ll just have to wait for the launch event to find out if an Ultra device is on the way.