Search results for

All search results
Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

Android Auto expands to 18 new countries, including Brazil, India and Russia

Android Auto is now available in 18 new countries, including Brazil, India, and Russia, as well as Puerto Rico.

Published onApril 5, 2016

ford android auto ces 2016 (4)

A number of vehicle manufacturers have been unveiling support for Android Auto this year, and Android developers have now announced that the software will be heading out to 18 new countries in various continents across the globe. Which is a rather large roll-out for the platform.

The new countries now with Android Auto support are: Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, India, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Russia, Switzerland, Uruguay, and Venezuela. As an added bonus, the territory of Puerto Rico has also been added to the list.

This latest roll-out includes some notably large markets, such as Brazil, India and Russia, as well as marking a major expansion into South America. Combined with availability already online in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Spain, the UK, and the US, Google’s automotive system is now available in a good portion of the world. This in turn should help to bring additional vehicle manufacturers and ranges on board.

Quick look at Android Auto in Ford cars at CES 2016

To get started you will, of course, need a vehicle that is compatible with Android Auto. Google has a master list up on its support page. You’ll also require a smartphone running Android 5.0 Lollipop or higher and a data connection. Will you be making use of Android Auto if it’s now available in your country?

You might like