Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
How to block or unblock someone on TikTok
TikTok has over one billion known and anonymous users worldwide, but that doesn’t mean you have to interact with everybody. If you’re receiving unwanted attention, you can block users. Once blocked, they can not view your videos or engage with you through direct messages, comments, follows, or likes. Here’s how to block someone on TikTok or unblock them if you change your mind.
Read more: How to block or unblock someone on iMessage
To block someone on TikTok, go to the profile of the person you want to block. Tap on the three dots in the screen's top right corner. Select Block User, and confirm the action. By blocking someone on TikTok, their account will no longer appear in your For You page or search results or be able to send you direct messages or interact with your content.
TO BLOCK OR UNBLOCK?
How to block someone on TikTok
For this example, we’ll be blocking a TikTok spam account. Anyone that promises ways to get rich quickly is a big red flag for a scam.
Firstly, find the profile page of the person you want to block. Then tap the 3-dot icon in the top right and select Block from the bottom options.
After that, tap Confirm to confirm your decision.
Often, these types of scam accounts will mass-follow many people to dup the less skeptical. Look at who follows you on TikTok, and be sure to block and report them if they seem suspicious. For example, the above account promises that those who reply to their videos will “get a sum of money to repay their debts.” If only it were that easy.
How to block people in bulk
Unfortunately, spam and scams aren’t limited to profiles that follow you but often infiltrate the comments section of your videos. Luckily, TikTok has a bulk block feature that lets you simultaneously block up to 100 accounts.
Tap and hold a comment to select it. You can then select multiple comments at once, up to 100. Then, tap More in the bottom right.
Lastly, confirm your decision to block the number of selected accounts.
How to unblock someone on TikTok
If you’ve blocked a friend by accident, don’t worry: you can unblock them in just two taps.
Find the person’s profile page and tap the three-dot icon in the top right. Then, tap Unblock from the bottom of the screen.
Read more: How to unblock someone on Instagram
When you block someone on TikTok, they will no longer follow you or be able to view, like, or comment on your videos or send you direct messages.
Yes, you can block specific hashtags from the parental control settings on TikTok.