Best daily deals

Affiliate links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.

How to delete a story on Facebook

Hopefully no one has seen it yet.
By
November 8, 2023

Facebook stories are a fun way to promote events, tell people about a vacation as it’s happening, or create buzz about just about anything. They appear above a Facebook user’s feed, placed there to get noticed. You can quickly add text to a photo or video (as well as the latest fun filters) and have it in front of people in seconds. The flip side of a Facebook story’s visibility is its fleeting existence. Unlike a normal post, Facebook stories are only active for 24 hours — but if you’ve made a mistake in the text or uploaded the wrong photo, that’s still far too long. Fortunately, a story on Facebook, can be deleted as quickly and easily as a photo on a post. We’ll go over the procedures for the app and for the website below, so you can make sure you get your Facebook story straight.

QUICK ANSWER

To delete a story on Facebook, click on the story. Then click on the three-dot menu at the top right. From the menu that drops down, select the Delete photo option. Confirm the deletion when asked to where story will disappear immediately.

How to delete a story on Facebook app

Once you are logged in to your Facebook account, follow these steps:

  • Go to Your Story, which is located between Create story and stories from your friends.
  • Tap on the three-dot menu icon.
  • Select Delete photo to remove your story. Facebook will ask you to confirm the deletion. Tap on Delete to finish removing your story.

 

How to delete a story on website

The procedure for deleting a Facebook story on the website is very similar. On your home page, you will see a line of stories right above your timeline. To delete a story, you need to:

  • Click on Your story which you want to delete.
  • Select three-dot menu icon and then click on Delete photo.
  • To complete the deletion Facebook will ask you to confirm. Click on Delete to ensure that whatever was improper about your story is no longer a problem, because it is no longer on display.

FAQs

There is no hard limit on how many stories you can post or how often, but since a story only lasts for 24 hours, you should probably opt for quality and good timing (early afternoon is best) over sheer quantity to get your message out.

You can add a link to a personal story, but it will not be clickable by the viewer. However, a Facebook page can insert a clickable link into a story directly by selecting Create Story, then clicking on Links, entering the desired link, and adding it.

Go to your Facebook Settings menu and turn on your story archive. Then, as long as you do not delete the story before its 24 hours are up, it will be in your archive, which is accessible on your profile page.

Yes, Facebook story videos are limited to 20 seconds each.

No, Facebook only allows users to delete one photo on Your story at a time.

To delete a Facebook page, first log in to your account and navigate to Pages. Choose the specific page you wish to delete. Proceed to Settings> Facebook Page Information> Deactivation and Deletion. Click on Delete Page> Continue, and confirm your deletion. Enter your password and click Continue once more. Fill out the provided form and select Deactivate.

To delete a friend on Facebook, visit their profile page, click or tap on the Friends section, and then select Unfriend.