It’s probably safe to say Google knows us better than our closest friends and relatives. Seriously, the search giant stores all the internet history that goes through any of their products or services. And that is saying a lot, considering Google is everywhere. Thankfully, they are also pretty transparent about your data and let you know about everything they have. You are also allowed to delete what they know about you, if you so choose. In this post we will show you exactly how that’s done. Without further ado, let’s walk you through deleting your google history.

More: How to encrypt your Android device


Should you delete Google browser history and search data?

Google

We understand a company knowing so much about you can be concerning. It can be assumed some of you would want to delete your Google history due to privacy concerns. Taking a quick look at my history, I can see they have my whole browsing, location, app, YouTube, and device information, among other things. But while clearing your Google history may help you sleep better at night, it will also aggravate your online experience during your waking hours. This is because Google uses all this data to make things more convenient for you.

Google can give you traffic notifications before heading out to work. Plane ticket information can be pulled from emails in Gmail. It’s easier to set up navigation when Google knows where you live and work. These or other similar features may suffer if you delete your Google history and data. Even simple things like search recommendations will become less accurate.

Also: The 10 best security apps for Android

That’s only the tip of the iceberg. All Google services work together to make your usage as seamless and convenient as possible. But the truth is they probably also use your data for things you won’t like so much. It’s up to you whether you want to sacrifice convenience for privacy.


How to look at your Google data

Google My Activity page

Taking a look at everything Google knows about you is pretty simple. All you have to do is go to Google’s activity page. If you are signed into your Google account, you will be presented with all your information. Click the button below to see it.

Click on the Filter by date & product button to get a more detailed view of everything. You can see your voice and audio details, app activity, searches, YouTube history, and much more. There’s actually pretty interesting stuff in there, but seeing all these details collected in a single hub is a bit scary.

Want to freak out a little? Click on the Other Google Activity tab on the left. Under Location History hit Manage activity. Google will show you where you have been. You can even pick a random date and see where you went that day, including times, locations, and form of transportation details.


How to disable your Google history

Google history activity controls

Maybe you don’t want to delete your Google history forever. You may just want it to stay inactive for a while, then reactivate it to keep enjoying everything Google has to offer. If this is the case, you can simply disable it and be on your way. You can also pick which information you want Google to store.

  1. Go to your Google Activity page from any browser.
  2. Click on Activity Controls.
  3. You can disable and manage Web & App Activity, Location History, or YouTube History.
  4. Check off/on the boxes you prefer.
  5. Click on/off the toggles to the right to control what Google stores.
  6. You can also click on Manage Activity in the sections you want to get more control of.

How to delete Google history

Delete Google History

Disabling your Google history, whether partially or fully, may not be enough. Just follow the steps below if you want it all gone.

  1. Go to your Google Activity page from any browser.
  2. Click on Delete activity by.
  3. You can select a set period of times you want to delete your history for. These include Last hour, Last day, All time, or Custom range.
  4. You can also select Set up automatic deletions if you want to make sure all your history is erased after a certain period of time.

It should also be noted that if you delete Google history from your machines, it still won’t make you completely invisible to Google. If you have a Google account to use services like Gmail, YouTube, or any others, you’re being tracked. For more information on how to delete your Google account completely, check out our guide below.

Here: How to delete your Gmail account

Want to learn how to better manage your Google account? Check these articles out.

Comments
Read comments