Here come the new Galaxies!

After too many months of waiting, tech aficionados can finally see the Samsung Galaxy S8 and Galaxy S8 Plus fully unveiled. Sure, the two phones are an open secret at this point, with all the leaks and reports from the past weeks. But there’s still room left for surprises.

When will the Galaxy S8 and S8 Plus be unveiled?

Samsung will take the wraps of its new devices, including the Galaxy S8 and Galaxy S8 Plus, today, March 29, at 11AM EDT.

The main event will be held at New York’s Lincoln Center, with a satellite event for Europe happening in London at the same time.

The media embargo will likely be lifted at 11AM EDT.

Times of the event around the world:

  • San Francisco: 8AM
  • Chicago: 10AM
  • New York: 11AM
  • Rio de Janeiro: 12PM
  • London: 4PM
  • Berlin: 5PM
  • Moscow: 6PM
  • New Delhi: 8:30PM
  • Singapore: 11PM
  • Tokyo: 12AM (March 30)
  • Sydney 2AM (March 30)

Will there be a Galaxy S8 launch live stream?

Yes, Samsung will live stream the Galaxy S8 and Galaxy S8 launch event and you can watch it right here. You will also be able to watch the live stream on Samsung’s website, Samsung’s Facebook page, or via the Unpacked 2017 mobile app for Android and iOS.

What will be announced?

Okay, so you’ve been living under a rock! No worries. Here’s the skinny:

What content should you expect?

We’ll have a full Galaxy S8 and S8 rundown, a comprehensive hands-on, versus comparisons with the LG G6 and other top competitors, Feature Focus posts looking at Bixby and other key Galaxy S8 features, and much more. Stay tuned to Android Authority, our YouTube channel, and anywhere else you get your Android Authority content.

Who’s excited?

Bogdan Petrovan
Bogdan is the European Managing Editor of Android Authority. He loves tech, travel, and fantasy. He wishes he had more time for two of those things. Bogdan's phone is a Nexus 6P.
  • kenny dunning

    London is 4pm not 3pm

    • Michael Sørensen

      Which makes Berlin 5pm not 4pm

  • Zabih Cino

    if no home button or front fingerprint i will wait for iPhone 8 or Xiaomi Mi6

    • Phillip

      yes you should probably look else where

      • Zabih Cino

        that is what i said i will wait for Xiaomi Mi6 or iPhone 8

        • Phillip

          Ok but then you knew that already but you had to jump in and remind us why your not getting the s8 …..ok???

    • Brandon

      the iPhone 8 won’t have a home button either lol

      • Zabih Cino

        Apple is not dumb to get rid of home button since most of its users don’t know how to use their phone

        • Brandon

          there’s anyway heavy leaks to suggest it

          • Zabih Cino

            are you high? is iPhone 7 plus small for you?

        • mark

          They’ll also never switch to making big phones because they’re not possible to use one handed, and all apple users want small phones.

    • Filipe Fumaux

      It seems the Bixby will work like a home. It could be configurable.

  • Phillip

    I’ll have popcorn all ready to go been waiting all year for this

  • JON @segujer

    just can’t wait

  • Zabih Cino

    as long as i can wake the phone when i am driving either by home button or knock on i don’t mind it. i definitely prefer a front fingerprint because my phone is mostly on a cradle in my car or in a cover

  • Jan Plate

    I would rather spend the money on a Google Pixel for direct updates and a clean Android user experience.
    Camera is good, battery life is also alright, almost no preinstalled apps and runs on Android 7.1 with an direct update to Android O at the last quarter​ of the year.

    • Zabih Cino

      there are almost 15 preinstalled apps that people don’t use. Pixel 2 will not be much different from Pixel one. S8, users anticipation is high because​ of Note 7 problems and iPhone 7’s good performance

      • Jan Plate

        I think on the Pixel are just the standard Google/Android applications and runs as smooth as almost no other devices.

        I think it’s more about the software. One can’t disagree that it’s reassuring to know that you get the newest updates and securitypatches directly from Google (like iPhone with Apple).

        And what’s important for me is a consistent design language and animations of the UI of the device and if apps. It feels much more integrated.

        The G8 will still be one hell of a Android device, it was not meant offensive.

    • mark

      My Nexuses had plenty of pre installed apps from Google…

      Anyhow, pick what you like – I’ve never had a Galaxy S Phone, but it’s still good to have the choice within Android devices.

  • Vincent

    Berlin broadcast time will be 5PM… Summertime.

  • NinjaChicken735

    Chicago is 11 am not 10 am

  • mark

    I think London is 4pm (3pm GMT, but we’re one hour ahead now).

  • Abid Hassan

    Damn I’m excited. Its funny. Coz I’m not gonna buy it. Mayb I’ll go with Nokia or Oneplus

    P.S. Not being sarcastic here, juz wanna see wat new features they bring to the table

  • Filipe Fumaux

    How long normaly does it take the presentation?

  • disqus_xWPsKDvFvr

    So just skip right over us here in Mountain Time! Dang! MST = red headed step child = 9am.

  • Zabih Cino

    i am so happy the home button is still there but invisible